We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hong Kong Oasis”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hong Kong Oasis”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a lot and was not disappointed. Service was excellent; the room was perfection, from the modern iPad type controls that regulate everything in the room to the comfort of the bed. Cozy bar on second floor was a nice stop before dinner or after dinner. The gym was very nice and the pool was an oasis. This property exudes class in every respect.

Stayed May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    180
    46
    16
    14
See reviews for
327
604
84
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had heard about this property for a lifetime of travel ,so when Hong Kong finally made my itinerary there was no other choice. I was so not disappointed. Service well beyond another 5 star i've ever visited. Staff Recognized us by name everywhere .Loved the fabulous choices at sumptuous breakfast w/super attentive staff . Rooms were redone a year ago and are impressively decorated and digitalized, Free wifi in rooms. Prominent location at bayfront near museums and Star Ferry. Shopping plaza in hotel was beyond first class and uncrowded, Tea service was great also.When an error was made by transport staff, Hotel management stepped up. took complete responsibility and more than atoned for slight mistake. WELL DONE.. Be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is the grand dame of Hongkong. Its heritage reflects the service it gives to its customers. Staying in a suite is an experience in itself. You will know if its a good hotel by the good service the staff gives you, well disciplined and good mannered. All the items needed by the guests are gracefully served without hesitation. Its a bit old fashioned but for me, it gives you a new experience unlike the new hotels with bling decorations. This is the signature hotel of hongkong for the years to come.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing hongkong side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We travelled with our two children and had connecting rooms. A slight glitch on the first night of the hotel putting us in two adjoining, but not interconnecting rooms was soon sorted.

Rooms themselves are outstanding - tons of though has gone into the media elements and the tablets that control the room are great fun. Extras such as the nail dryer really show the depth of service there. I particularly liked the TV in the bathroom!

We had breakfast in the lobby which was very good, though you're surrounded by hotel visitors having their breakfast here (after a while you really do view it as 'your' hotel). The buffet breakfast upstairs was excellent. Not a huge array of different foods, but enough and all great quality.

The swimming pool and associated plunge pools and sauna in the changing rooms are worth trying out. We ate by the pool one evening and a fabulous view over the city skyline make it even more special.

Goes without saying that we'd stay there again. We've had decent holidays for the money we spent there, but nothing will be quite so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

As one of the most remarkable hotel in the world, Then Peninsula Hong Kong is living up to its reputation. Got a chance to stay at this incredible place during early March 2014. In term of services, it's 5 stars. The room is spacious despite the fact that it's in the Tsim sha tsui's area. The bed is very comfy that I could just lied in the bed all day. I just love everything in the room.

Also, I would recommend you to go to swimming pool, which is very luxurious. Only let down is that the smell of chlorine is very strong. Since I got a late flight, the hotel offer me to relax in its health club after check-out time.

The breakfast is very good and offer varieties of both chinese and western breakfast item. However, the chinese item (i.e. congee and dimsum) were not as good comparing to outside restaurant. But overall, the food is nice and made from high quality ingredient.

I also got a chance to have afternoon tea there. One advantage of being hotel's guest is that you don't need to queue up. The reservation can be made via reception directly. But personally, I don't think the afternoon tea at the Peninsula was that good, and it always crowded. That's the only flaw in this hotel.

If I have a chance, I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We arrived at The Peninsula gone midnight, and so we appreciated the efficient check-in of the night staff, the swift delivery of our luggage to our room, the pot of Chinese tea to welcome us, and a sumptuous room fit for the most discerning patron. Our 5 night stay was for pleasure but the amenities of the room, including a desk with stationery and a printer tucked away in a drawer, would have suited just as well for a business stopover. We had room service dinner on several occasions and it was always brought promptly, and the presentation top notch. The buffet breakfasts were excellent with an overwhelming choice. We really couldn’t fault the hotel on any aspect of our stay. We certainly intend paying another visit should we find ourselves in Hong Kong in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel has completed some room/suite refurbishments and it's been done perfectly. The tradition of excellence in linens, technology,comfort and decor are all upheld but with a slightly more modern twist. Superior suite was absolutely huge and spacious with the latest in modern technology but you don't need to have a degree in engineering to be able to sort out how to turn the taps or lights on and off. All room functions are operated by an ipad and were self-explanatory and easy to use. The quality is something we enjoy about this hotel whether it's the food, courtesy of the staff, furnishings, bedding, fantastic buffet in the breakfast room, gorgeous views from Felix restaurant, the bar (which has great ambience, old school style) the quietness and sense of tranquility or the traditional decor of the foyer and public areas. Hotel transfers are excellent, we arranged ours through the hotel. We were truly grateful the hotel was able to give us an early check-in as our flight from Europe arrived at 5 a.m., Thank you The Peninsula staff. We were escorted to our room where check-in took place and on the table was a tray with coffee, croissants, fruit etc. It's a great location with an easy five minute walk to Star Ferries, Harbour City shopping mall or venturing into some of the laneways for great discounted shopping e.g., spectacles, sunglasses, sport wear, golf stuff etc. This is an iconic hotel, truly beautiful and I can't wait to return later this year.

Room Tip: We've stayed here many times so having a high view wasn't an issue but having a suite was. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,904 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,625 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing