We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star luxury. 5 star price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“5 star luxury. 5 star price.”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Very impressive hotel, with very high standards. Had a club room on about floor 200 or something - lost count after floor 50. On a serious note, if you have any reservations about heights, this hotel, like most in Hong Kong, is not for you. Came here at the last second as we were stranded in Thailand due to the volcanic ash and it was the only direction to aim for whist chaos broke out! Club floor is very nice, just like all the others in this class, with champagne flowing and lovely snacks etc. The hotel is in a perfect location to explore Hong Kong. This was a very expensive hotel, but then again, so was almost everything in Hong Kong. The hotel sits on a very upmarket shopping mall which seemed to be open all the time, similar to Singapore. I can see why people would return to the hotel, but am still struggling to see what all the fuss is about regards Hong Kong itself!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    321
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
328
518
126
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SINGAPORE
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

my 1st time staying at the Shangri-la hotel in Hong Kong. The room size is big though the furnishing style is more traditional. Very attentive service from the entire team including doorman, receptionist, servers at the restaurants and housekeeping make your stay extremely comfortable. The nice l'occitane toiletries and daily fresh fruits are added bonus. The location is also very central, next to a mall, and near the MTR station. No problem in getting a taxi from the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPAFAN711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was my second stay (and my second review of this property) and will most likely be my last one. Unfortunately, this time I found the service in the Horizon Club to be far below any reasonable expectations. I was checking-out on the club’s floor and it took half an hour because staff could not confirm the conditions of my booking with reservation officer. They resolved the issue and accepted their mistake, but I don’t think that single obligatory “sorry” is sufficient enough in such misconduct. This is the longest check-out I EVER had! To make thing worst, the limo (paid by me to rush to airport) had no working Wi-Fi and I did not have any time to reorganize any of my planed activities before leaving HK.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Nice view of the harbour. Great location, just a stone throw away from Hong Kong Park. Hotel is connected to a high end shopping complex. Room is huge, certainly a rarity in HK. Will not hesitate to recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

So impressed with this hotel. Visually stunning inside with great views of the harbour at night. Horizon Club is a must if you can spare the extra, trust me you wont regret it.

I tossed up over which Shangri-La hotel to stay at, on the island or Kowloon, I chose the island because it was closer and more convenient for business meetings but getting around Hong Kong is a breeze and it really wouldn't have mattered if I had stayed at Kowloon. Considering the great shopping around the Shang in Kowloon I think I'll stay there next time.

Room was excellent, very comfortable bed, fantastic view, big bathroom, free internet, good size work desk, very clean and well appointed. The staff, well I can't praise them enough, amazing each and every one.

Not cheap staying at the Shang in HK but all things considered, a great room, horizon club access, free internet, fantastic views, outstanding service ... this hotel has it all and worth the money.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is a must and get a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWGT1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
275 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed here for three nights during a business trip. First stay at this hotel. The view of the harbor from my room was fantastic. The amenities were first class. The butler button was a nice feature as well as the hot tea on the evening of check in. I always had fresh fruit available and it was replenished often. The location was perfect for my itinerary. The hotel definitely pays extreme attention to detail. I highly recommend this hotel for those who enjoy quite, elegant accomodations and a staff that is well trained to care for the comfort and needs of their guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed at the Island Shangri-La on our way back from Boracay for a two day shopping stop. The hotel is located in an excellent area for shopping as you are basically on top of a shopping centre and very central. The hotel is beautiful, a grand lobby, we stayed on the Horizon level which was beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms are very luxurious. We had breakfast upstairs in the Michelin star restaurant overlooking Honk Kong and a major highlight is the lobster and steak bar in the hotel. The food here is exceptional and surprisingly they had an amazing female singer on that night.
The staff aim to please, and would definitely stay here again if doing a lay over in HK.

Room Tip: Go for the Horizon Level - you get great benefits like express check in, access to great services an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing