We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with amazing view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel with amazing view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The staff was so polite I didn't know what to reply. The rooms were great (I love staying in a skyscraper) there is an outdoors pool which was awesome and the spa was very good! I got a smoking room which was great as I can almost never get one anywhere! Convenient location for work and fun (close to the bars). Only bad thing was a lady that offered me "services" in the elevator which kinda surprised me. Was not cheap also which makes perfect for a business trip.

Room Tip: Top floors have amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Work F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    312
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
322
505
123
727
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel is a wonderful - the staff are helpful, the rooms are comfy and the views amazing. There is fresh fruit in the room to have a snack and a free bottle of water every day. They have all the things in the room you may want or need - inlcuding razors and shaving cream. The rooms are quiet. I ate at the breakfast buffet and also at the restruant in the lobby - both were very good. Only thing is the buffet is very expensive if you just want a light breakfast - there is a breakfast place in the mall attached to the hotel in the bottom level as part of the good eats grocery store which is cheaper if you want a light breakfast. The hotel is also attached to a mall so you can go shopping easily. It is also about a 15 minute walk to the Peak which is very handy. It was $500 Cdn to stay here a night.

Room Tip: Try to get on the Harbour side of the hotel - a better view than the Peak side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Western70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wagga
Level Contributor
247 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

all the comforts you appreciate and expect in a genuine 5 star. lovely room and view- so we knew when we could go up to the peak. perfect service, comfortable beds. do not miss the buffets at cafe too. the best breakfast spread I have ever come across. convenient to admiralty MTR- go through the pacific place mall and you are indoors all the way. lovely park on the doorstep- walk through this to the peak tram lower terminus. thanks for the extra water at turndown time. expensive if you are paying yourself

Room Tip: don't think that you have missed out if you get the "peak view" it is also fantastic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Island Shangri-La while on business and I couldn't have had a better experience. The hotel is beautiful and has lots of thoughtful touches -- live music in the lobby lounge, chairs placed in strategic locations so you can sit and wait for friends, beautiful artwork...

The service is incredible. In addition to having friendly registration staff and bellhops, the rooms are also serviced at least twice a day: once for general housekeeping and again in the evening for a turn-down service. My room was always stocked with fresh fruit and complimentary bottled water and there were slippers and a bathrobe as well. They even had really nice toiletries. ;o)

The amenities are wonderful. Try the pool (gorgeous view, pleasant temperature), one of the restaurants (the breakfast at Cafe TOO is fantastic), or even the business center. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebriar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Island Shangri-La for the second time this year on business. I was there for a week and had an incredibly comfortable stay. The service is some of the best I've ever had anywhere in the world - the staff cannot do enough for you. From Jasper who helped me with my bags to Eric on the Concierge Desk to Zoe in the Cafe Too Restaurant - they couldn't do enough for me and even helped my husband decide which sights to see whilst I was at work, bringing him maps and advice.
The room was spacious and very comfortable. I had a harbour view deluxe room which exceeded our expectations and enabled us to see the harbour and much of Hong Kong Island and Kowloon which was even more remarkable at night. The bathroom had both a bath and a separate shower, twin sinks and plenty of luxurious L'Occitane products. The hotel also provide two types of bathrobes and numerous added extras such as bottled water every day and fresh jasmine tea and fruit upon arrival.
There was a small issue with our flush in our toilet and the hotel immediately sent somebody and the following day a letter from the manager and a small box of chocolates awaited us to apologise for any inconvenience - a huge surprise and totally unnecessary gesture but much appreciated nonetheless.
The breakfasts were exceptional every morning with a huge amount of choice from fresh tropical fruits to continental cheeses and meats, a vast array of pastries and breads to English Breakfasts, Dim Sum, noodles, Japanese delights and Indian curries and snacks.
I would highly recommend this hotel for business and leisure (my husband and I enjoyed the luxury together over the weekend) and will be returning later on in the year.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a Harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissTravel_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Excellent check in staff

Lovely lovely rooms, with a nice warm tea pot and chocolates waiting in our room

Brilliant Gym...one of the better hotel gyms i have used.

Pool is awesome and lovely at night time.

You must stay here at least once!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkv1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

After three weeks of traveling around China, we were absolutely delighted to spend our final nights at this 5 star + hotel. The guest experience is absolutely MAGNIFICENT, full of luxurious surroundings and impeccable, friendly service. There were five people in our group. As our bus arrived at the hotel, 3 uniformed employees and the Director of Sales greeted us. My wife and I were escorted to our room by Carmen from South Africa where we checked-in in the privacy of our hotel room. Carmen made this the best check-in experience we've had anywhere in the world. Our room has a breathtaking view of the harbor and is decorated tastefully, elegantly, and with every amenity you could ask for. The bed is extremely comfortable and the spaciousness of the room gives it the appearance of a suite. Throughout our stay all personnel were fantastic and the level of service never fell below 5 star+. The food venues are outstanding and the Lobster Bar especially is not to be missed. Talk about decadent, I enjoyed Lobster Thermidor for lunch! Their gourmet restaurant on the top floor is unforgettable. They prepared the best Crepes Suzette I've ever had....even better than what I've experienced in Paris!

The Chief Concierge, Mary Ann Aboo, is an incredible professional who assisted us greatly in our touring of the area.

This hotel has got to be the jewel in the top of the Shangri-La hotel chain crown. I certainly hope to experience it again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay in a room with a harbor view. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce4730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,367 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing