We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

A great hotel for business travel to hong kong.
I had an unfortunate incident with some dry cleaning but the Laundry services Manager, Phillip, personally took charge and ensured that everything was resolved with minimum fuss and minimum disruption to my business trip. Great service deserves loyalty. They'll see me again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    316
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
328
513
123
734
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

An exceptional hotel in so many aspects... Professional & friendly front desk staff, discreet & efficient housekeeping & bell staff, beautiful decor, excellent location adjoining the upscale Pacific Place shopping mall and access to MTR Admiralty subway station to get you everywhere in minutes. We booked last minute to stay for a couple nights and were upgraded to a luxurious room on top floors with harbour view. Simply splendid! A little on the pricey side but this is truly one of the elite hotels on the island. Will book ahead for our next visit to HK.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globe2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF bay area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and 2 boys stayed in a 2-twin room in July. This was our4th time in 10 years staying in the hotel, and the quality has remained top-notched!

Room - large room, over 450 sq ft. We had 2 twin beds that slid together that measured wider than the king bed, and accommodated my husband, me and my 7-year-old son with lots of space. My older son had a rollaway, which was the nicest rollaway we've ever had - firm mattress. It was a nice bonus that we were not charged for it! The furniture and fixtures have remained the same but don't feel outdated. Love the bidet in the bathroom, all the marble flooring and walls. Emmaculate, really kept up well.

I'm a light sleeper and this is the quietest room I have ever slept in. The floors and walls are solid. We had a connecting room, and the doors were solid core through and through.

Service - excellent. We witnessed 2 maids turning down the room, very fast, efficient. Nice touch also to have a bowl of fruit which we used as breakfast, as well as plates, spoons, forks and a cutting knife.

Gym/pool - nice gym with free weights, several treadmills/lifecycles, and extensive locker with spa, showers, etc. The pool is large, more than decent size for lap swimming as well as recreational swimming. We were there everyday.

Food - The buffet is expensive but well worth it if you can eat a decent amount. Lots of variety, and very nice setting.

Location - Best - it's in the Pacific Place mall, so you can walk out of the hotel right into the indoor mall with a pharmacy, subway station, food court, market.

Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bay_Area_native85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hubby and I stayed at the Island Shangri La during the mid-week of July 2012, we got upgraded to a wonderful Harbour view suite, situated on the 49th floor. The room was beautiful, with the Chinese themed wall painting, an artistically decorated living room and every luxury available, starting from Bvlgari toiletries to even a hair band (perfect for me). The bed was comfy, the room was spacious. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. The chinese restaurant 'Summer Palace' served excellent authentic chinese food.The Lobster Bar & Grill had some good steaks and great place for drinks, and unusual desserts. Great location, outstanding service, delicious food and a remarkable decor.

Room Tip: Rooms with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiffatNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was our first time and it was an awesome stay, from the Hotel car driver Tony (who drivers a mercedes which has 007 on the plates) to all the bell staff, specially Omar, the front desk and all the house keeping crew whole made our stay a confirmable one.

The service was excellent, the breakfast was great, Mr. Samsudeen with the F & B made our stay a little more memorable by having organized a special meal for us, thanks you and your team for the special break fast we had, we all enjoyed it.

Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: ask for a victoria harbor view, this is a great view and upgrade to a premier room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Having previously stayed at the Shangri La Kowloon, my husband and I thought we would try Island Shangri La and we were so happy we did.

The service at this hotel is outstanding. We arranged the hotel to pick us up at the airport and the wonderful service started right away. They carried our bags, had cold towels and water waiting for us and our driver was very knowledgable and gave us some great facts about Hong Kong on the drive in.

We were greeted upon arrival and taken directly to our room for check in. We had a harbour view room and the view is beautiful. The rooms are spacious, luxurious and the bed is so comfortable.

The pool is great with very attentive staff. The restaurants and bars are excellent. The Lobster Bar and Grill is a highlight for drinks and Petrus is a first class French dining experience.

The location of the hotel is fabulous, right next door to the beautiful Hong Kong park and a short taxi right to the Star Ferry terminal. It is also only about a 5 minute taxi ride to Soho and the wonderful bars and restaurants.

Having previously always stayed on Kowloon side, we now prefer Central thanks to the Shangri La. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting a great location, outstanding service, and a hotel that is full of class and personality. I was there for 4 nights and from the moment we were greeted to the airport, we had a wonderful experience right through to the Hotel Staff assisting us with checkin at the airport (we chose to have limousine transfers which was well worth the extra amount of money). I particularly was impressed by the staff in the restaurant Cafe TOO who remembered us and the food was superb. They advised us on things to do, provided us with maps and many good travel tips. As for the location is it rightabove Pacific Place and well connected to the MTR, Island Trams, Peak and Buses. The room had a spectacular harbour view and was well serviced and appointed. I normally stay on Kowloon but never again. HK Island is now the place!!
Choose Island Shangri La and you wont be disappointed.

Mark from Diamond Beach NSW Australia

Room Tip: Choose the Horizon Club Rooms with a Harbour View. Many extras are included in these rooms and the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrg28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,459 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing