We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey and flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2012

It's the first time stayed in this hotel. I felt immediately like home.
The staffs were polite and helpful.
The room were specious with classic design. It had free wifi and a printer-fax machine in the room - a very useful feature for a business traveller.
Pillows, towels and linen were excellent.
The in-dining service was excellent with variety menu from asian to western style.
It had a corridor to the Pacific Place Mall and Conrad Hotel, very convenient.
It's a reachable location by MTR too (stop at Admiralty - Tsuen Wan Line; via Pacific Place Mall)

Room Tip: Try to have a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GNW325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,189 - 1,195 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights on 30th and 31st Oct.
Nice hotel and had a good room with a nice view.
However, had to wait for 2 hrs for an early checkin although had put in a request for the same at the time of booking. Nevertheless they made up by giving me a good room
Centrally located and most bank buildings in Central Area
Buffet breakfast is quite good
Would recommend

Room Tip: Try for a room at a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012 via mobile

A perfect stay in Hong kong. Friendly reception including some fresh green tea and a basket if fruit. Impeccable standards. Everything I needed had already been considered and was available at a drop of a hat. Delicious food, including my 3am jet lagged wanton noodle soup which arrived in 20 mins. I enjoyed the gym.

I guess most people would expect nothing less of this hotel, but it's reassuring to see that it lives up to its reputation.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jd-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Although it has been a while ago ( months not years), I have to say that of all my travels, the Island Shangri La Hotel is one of the best properties I have ever stay at. It is elegant, contemporary, classy, and the service is just unique.
The Club lounge is delighful, with amazing views and endless options of snacks and drinks.
The rooms are spacious and full of every complimentary need; from toiletries to bath robe and slippers, and a fruit selection.
The bed is just so soft.. and you can even choose your pillow from a menu!! How cool is that!
I can not quite recall the name of the restaurant we ate at within the hotel, but I do remeber that the food was delicious and the wine selection superb.
Location wise the hotel is ideally located in the business district, only minutes from the botanic garden, and not far from Victoria Peak.
I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can spend a little extra, go for the rooms with Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Island Shangri-la has been around since early 1990's when I lived in Hong Kong and it was the new kid on the block. Twenty years since and this property still holds it's own with many new competitors. Location is great, on the island close to Central, Wanchai and above a major MTR station. Service is top notch at this property. We do not frequent this hotel as often as we do other Shangri-la properties but the staff treats us as if we are there once a month. Club floor is best in the chain!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADrumAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Stayed here on a business trip with colleagues. We pre-arranged a hotel car to drive us from the airport to the hotel and upon clearing customs, we were greeted by people who treated us like royalty. They took our bags and took us right to a waitig car. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by name, whisked past the front desk right to our rooms, where somehow, our bags were already brought up. Rooms are very spacious, imaculately clean and the harbour views are awesome. There's no detail too small - from the complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit and candies that were restocked daily, fully stocked fridge and snack area with tea and coffee, to the bathroom where they had a complete set of toiletries just in case you forgot something. No need to call the desk, it was already there. The carpets in the elevators are changed daily with the day of the week on them. This is the level of effort and detail that was evident throughout our stay. The property itself is in a great location that's convenient to just about everything on the island. We found the lobby bar to be a great place to meet and relax and the service was fast and freindly. The concierge was very helpful in pointing out a few "local" attractions within walking distance of the hotel. I've stayed at several hotels in Hong Kong over the years and this is by far my favorite place to stay and I will definately be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C00lwh1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I had high expectations of this hotel and I am happy to report they were adequately met.

Location:

This was my first visit to HK and I didn't really know where anything was but found the location of the hotel to be very handy for shopping, public transport and was within walking distance of lots of good bars and restaurants.

Service:

Totally outstanding in every way. The staff at this hotel can't do enough for you. Standards of service are high in East Asia but this is as good as any hotel I have stayed in. When we arrived at the hotel, we were met at the door and the check in was done in the room. I did have cause to complain about one small issue but the hotel more than redeemed themselves, so ended up more than satisfied.

Room:

I went for a Horizon Club Room, so was put on a higher floor. The room commanded fantastic views of the harbour and was a really good size. Bed comfort was really good and I slept really well. The air-con efficiency was ok but not fantastic - it kept the room a bit above where I like it but that said, I do like a bedroom to be cold. The bathroom was really nice and was well stocked with nice products which my wife enjoys taking home with her. Of course, the housekeeping standard was excellent.

Bars / Restaurants:

We spent a lot of time in the Horizon Club lounge and the service in here was really good and there was always good quality food available and very nice drinks / snacks in the evening. We also ate at the poolside restaurant, which was good and it's quite a nice place to be for an evening drink too. The bar in the lobby was also quite pleasant. Breakfast was nice, with a good selection of hot food available to order and a good sized buffet available. We didn't try the buffet breakfast in the main hotel though but I heard it was good.

Overall:

If you can afford it, stay here. I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endofcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#15 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,784 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#20 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,334 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#11 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £260 - £487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing