We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I enjoyed a five-night stay at the Island Shangri-La over the New Year's period (late December 2012-early January 2013). The property is as beautiful as one would expect of the Shangri-La, but what really set the Island Shangri-La apart was its outstanding service - by far the best and most personalised I've experienced in a large hotel. I felt welcomed and looked after from the moment I was greeted at the airport, to the moment I was chauffeured back to the airport and escorted to the airline check-in desk at the conclusion of my stay.

Two stand outs for me were the Horizon Club (after just my first visit the staff remembered my name and preferred tea) and the housekeeping team (returning to my room in the evenings was a pleasure - the attention to detail of the room attendants was superb). Despite the hotel being fully booked for the New Year's festivities, nothing was too much trouble.

For me, the hotel is a central part of my destination, and I like spending time experiencing all that it has to offer. The Island Shangri-La was the perfect choice for this, my first trip to Hong Kong. My experience has inspired me to return, and to discover more Shangri-La properties in my future travels.

Room Tip: The Horizon Club is highly worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,202 - 1,208 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

I stayed here on business for two nights in a harbour view room. The room itself was beautiful and the service impeccable. A lovely fruit bowl, welcome tea and pineapple cake on the first night made me feel very welcomed. The bath and shower were both large and luxurious, and the bed was firm and very comfortable. Ate once at the Chinese restaurant Summer Palace - excellent, and a few drinks at the Lobster Bar outside - great cocktails and service. The only thing I didn't like was that the door was a bit chaotic in the evenings, and the concierges were not very helpful when my airport limo was late coming to pick me up. According to my limo driver, the doormen did not let him park in the front of the hotel to pick me up so he went round the building several times.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
Thank Tripper099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Excellent service and convenient location - linked to Pacific Place mall with good restaurants and designers stores. Well equipped gym and Housekeeping do an immaculate job at keeping the rooms in good order. Fifteen to twenty minute walk to IFC and it's easy to catch a taxi to Kowloon etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I used this hotel for a recent business trip to Hong Kong. The office is in Pacific Place and this is very convenient. I have previously stayed in the Conrad when in Hong Kong, but, this was far better.

Club rooms are fantastic, the views from the 52nd floor upward are superb (if you get the weather) and the club lounge is more than adequate.

I arrived having lost my baggage at the airport, in only my suit rom the day at work, the reception managed to find me a pair of shorts and a t-shirt for me to wear in the room. Excellent service from the off!

When I arrived in the room, I was greated with a pot of tea in a hamper, a box of choclates and a pineapple biscuit in a small "dim-sum steamer" style box, the room was spacious and well maintained.

When my bags arrived, the bell hops brought them to my room (firstly sending a note to say they arrived), excellent service.

Only one complaint, due to the amount of floors, there is a fairly long wait for the lifts, at one point I waited for over 5 minutes, which seemed crazy.

Room Tip: Set off early if you are needing to take a lift from a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_In_Singap0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

At least, certainly the best I've stayed in. Someone with a great eye for detail has thought through the experience of a guest. Accommodation is excellent, breakfast has amazing variety, the views (in any direction)are fantastic, but what makes it really outstanding is the service — there's always someone ready to help, without it being in any way oppressive. A great place to be!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank too_much_travelling9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

I stay here at every opportunity when visiting HK. The hotel is ideally located an supremely well maintained. Neighbouring Conrad and JW Marriott hotels are both good second options but do not stack up to the Shang. Stunning pool with IM Pei's Bank of China masterpiece in the distance. The restaurants are all top class. Stunning harbour views from the lounge at the top of the hotel. Hot tea is waiting in your room when you first check in. Very good gym facility. In short, the ideal place for business travel and for visiting tourists.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Stayed in a high floor room with a sweeping view of Hong Kong harbor. Excellent amenties and technology. Service was awesome, the bell hop zipped me over to my destination in a hotel car when I was running late and the taxi line was a mile long. Good buffet breakfast. The bar kept me hydrated!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flightlevel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,597 reviews
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#21 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £255 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing