We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Amazing Service!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I recently stayed at the beautiful Island Shnagri-La. I can't say enough positive things about the service at this hotel. We were picked up by their limo service last Thursday evening and we were quickly brought from our car right up to our room to do check in. Our bags were brought right to our room, check in was a breeze, and the car service that they provide is completely flawless. I had forgotten my eye solution for my contacts and I alerted the man who assisted us with check in and within 5 minutes eye solution was brought to my room on a silver platter!

They helped us book a tour the next morning and we were always greeted by name from every service person in the hotel and on the phone. We had two amazing dinners at the hotel restaurants and again the service was totally flawless.

My only complaint is for the price you pay, the rooms are a bit dated. I travel often throughout Asia and I am much more used to modern rooms. While this is beautiful old world charm, the hotel could use a bit of a face-lift.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,579
    327
    62
    22
    25
See reviews for
341
530
128
755
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Luxury at it's best, and the staff to match. The location, attention to detail, professionalism, friendliness, gormet dining, and exquisite spa are just a few of the reasons not to miss the Island Shangri-La.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

It starts when you are picked up at the airport or cruise port.
They contact the staff who greet you in the parking drop off. Then you are wisked off to your room to check in on an ipad.
Then you have welcome tea, and towels, and fruits, and waters, and chocolates.
The room is large. the bed big enough for 6 people.
The breakfast room is on the 56th floor and incredible .
The guest relations calls to see if they can help with your plans.
You get personalized cards for your stay to give to friends or coworkers.
It is an experience.
If you book with Virtuosos agency , then you get free wifi and limo transfer to the airport, where you are greeted by a staff member who takes you to your check in counter.
AMazing

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irvinggetthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Overall service standards still very good, only thing is the dated room decor - time for a major overhaul. Nespresso machine in the room is a nice touch with capsules replenished everyday (I have came across hotels which restrict the number of capsules per stay!). Very comfortable bed.

Agree with the others that the location is super - easy access to everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovethebeach06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Island Shangi-La post-cruise for three nights before heading home. Our TA got us a number of perks thrown in, which made this hotel a clear winner when booking. We were not disappointed upon arrival!

We were greeted by very couteous and efficient desk staff, who whisked our bountiful luggage away, only to have it reappear minutes after we arrived in our room. We were also greeted with a welcome pot of tea nestled in a lovely quilt lined wicker basket to keep it warm. The room itself was beautiful and comfortable, and we loved the bathroom. We had a habour view, which when it was clear was stunning. Breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel afforded yet more stunning views, and the food and service were both outstanding. The concierge made excellent recommendations for dining, and confirmed all reservations by telephone, and also on the information channel on the TV.

We loved the location, right at Admiralty MTR, which is one stop away from the bustling hub of Central on HK Island, and one stop the other way to busy TST in Kowloon. There were also plentiful dining and shopping and dining options without even going outside (a bonus when it's teeming rain). The lobby bar in the hotel was excellent with lovely live entertainment, and we loved the "day of the week" carpets in the elevators. No joke, they change the carpets in the elevators every morning to reflect the day of the week; a boon to a tired couple who has been on vacation for 3+ weeks and literally does not know what day of the week it is!!

Upon departure, once again, the efficient desk staff had everything in order very quickly, and accompanied us to our airport transfer, which was a very comfortable Mercedes complete with bottled water and cold towels. When we arrived at the airport we were greeted by a gentleman in Shangri-La livery, whose job it was to take our luggage and see us through the check-in process; a very nice touch!

We would not hesitate to stay at this property again, and look forward to experiencing Shangri-La properties in other destinations!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_and_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Island Shangrila in Hong Kong has clearly seen better days : but is priced as though its in its prime. Rooms look dated, the automatic curtains dont work properly and get jammed : the whole place looks like it needs a major overhaul. Even the 39th floor atrium garden and the entire atmosphere of the atrium looks ready for a major renovation.

Sadly the rates dont reflect this at all : neither frankly does the attitude of most of the staff. Granted that living in this location, specially in Hong Kong, comes with a hefty premium. But the Conrad next door, at the same price, is frankly a better hotel. And the JW Marriott just across, is better priced and better as well, in my opinion.

Location of course is their star attraction. Bang above Pacific Place, with instant access to restaurants and shops, covered walkways virtually all the way to Central, easy access to the metro etc. But again, the hotel is angled facing away from the main bay and looking towards the inner side of the bay. Wheras the rooms at the Conrad face the open area of the bay and have a much better view of Central.

Had an excellent housekeeping staff on my floor, which was great. But in general, the next time I am in HK, I would probably look at other options.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NaderB0mbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear NaderB0mbay,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am disappointed to hear about your less than perfect experience with us. Would you please provide us with more details via email wolfgang.krueger@shangri-la.com so we may investigate internally and take necessary actions to improve. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again so that we can deliver hospitality that is above and beyond your expectations.

Best regards,
Wolfgang Krueger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Upgrade to floor 50 with foggy harbour view.
Courteous and knowledgable staff from check in to concierge.
Quality, clean gym and equipment.
Outdoor pool and restaurant were very good.
Buffet complimentary breakfast was unhurried with unlimited choices.
All restaurant staff seemed to practise hygenic handling of foodPacific Place with MTR Admiralty underneath hotel was an excellent alternative to getting around HK.
Chinese Michelin restaurant, although a little expensive was delicious.
Petrus Menu didn't appeal to us...too many black truffles.
Facial and massage in spa were professional with no hard sell for products.
We were offered club floor for a reduced rate. Most of these benefits were already included in our tariff, so we declined.
Classical quartet in lobby lounge with beautiful Italian bone china afternoon tea were much appreciated.
To top if all off we had a mercedes limo take us to the airport.
This was the end of a long trip for us...so perfect ending.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodtimes1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,737 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,907 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing