We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #10 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Shangri la Island hotel location is, in my estimation, the best in Hong Kong. Again the hotel is a first class experience. Service is excellent, attentive personal and fast. Food excellent with five first class restaurants. Rooms very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Good pool. Would not dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Always try to stay in the Horizon Club. Best value for money and the opportunity of using the Club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,546
    321
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
329
518
126
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Pumper service and start treatment. Hotel has an olympic size pool surrounded by highrise buildings. Located on Hong Kong Island close to new convention center any shopping center and ferry. Hotel has 5 world cuisine restaurants with 5 start food and service. Best hospitality you could only immegine. Must have breakfast at Petrus french or Caffe Two for any country taste.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank SlavaSlavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I usually stay at the Grand Hyatt Hong Kong, but due to renovations at that property and limited availability, I chose Island Shangr-La this time. I was pleasantly surprised at the impeccable personal attention and general quality of my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELGIQUE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Excellent service.Magnificent room with superb view.Cafe too was particularly appreciated.All persons of the staff were very kind and always available for helping us (addresses,flight confirmation ,...)



  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank montand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Family vacation to Hong Kong for a long weekend and staying at the Island Shangri-La. Perfect experience from start to finish. Service levels really excellent with all staff so attentive and professional. All this and a location connected to the upmarket Pacific Plaza mall and adjacent to Hong Kong park. This is our second leisure visit to Hong Kong after a 10 year break. Can't understand why we have left it so long. Very sad to leave when you have been looked after so well. Would have stayed longer, but with 2 harbour view rooms, my bank manager would have had a heart attack.

Room Tip: If you can do so, get a harbour view room. Breath taking views day and (especially) night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlunP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I took my Canadian friends to the Cafe 2 for lunch buffet last Tuesday. I have tried it before but at least couple years ago, didn't think the quality and service was that terrible or else I wouldn't bring my friends to there. The service wasn't professional enough if the hotel is rated as 5 stars. I asked for tea with lemons, came with a pot of tea with tea bag already in (without asking my choice of favor) and no lemons. I asked the waitress to switch and her attitude was: SO WHAT KIND OF TEA??? I got my choice with a new cup, fresh pot, lemons but no tea spoon. Could she not check everything was there before she serviced? I don't think I can ask much (again 5 stars hotel).
For the food, I arrived at 12:15 pm, the lunch was just opened for 15 minutes, some of their food was not hot enough, could be sitting there for a few hours. Tempura vegetables were the worst, cold, not crispy and chewy. BBQ suckling pig skins weren't not crispy and crunchy as I expected. Not much choices of sushi, and the desserts were terrible sweet (Sugar on sale)!!!!
I don't think I will go back to the restaurant since there are so many other choices in that area. If I'm willing to pay for this price, I'm pretty sure there must be some other restaurants that will provide better service with quality food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brandygirl838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, Director of Communications at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear brandygirl838,

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. I am disappointed to hear that you had a less than perfect dining experience with us. Would you please provide us with more details via email at bonnie.kwok@shangri-la.com so we may investigate internally and take necessary actions to improve. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Bonnie Kwok
Director of Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My family and I went to Hong Kong for 4 days and 3 nights and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The Shangri-La has never disappointed me. Our room was spacious, clean and had a great view. Food and dining in this hotel is always excellent. I loved the food. The staff was very helpful and was always there to help me and my kids. Will be surely staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,550 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing