We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views and Luxurious Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Views and Luxurious Experience”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Love the whole luxurious feel that surrounds the Hotel. This hotel overlooks the Harbor and offers excellent views. Located just a 5 minutes walk from the tram that takes you to the Peak, the Hotel is ideally located for any tourist, as the MTR and shopping mall is just located downstairs.

Rooms are Big and Comfortable, making the whole stay luxurious. Breakfast comes with the a wonderful spread, and it makes a great start to any day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdUnloaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,579
    327
    62
    22
    25
See reviews for
341
530
128
755
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The best ever experience I had for a while in Hong Kong. Service is absolutely remarkable and staff pay great attention to details which make a big difference. One thing really impressed me: on day of departure, the guest manager perfectly recalled the details of our discussions when she welcomed me 2 days before and she followed-up with a customised message when I returned home. Really disctinctive and impressive. Regardless of the size of this hotel, they do their utmost to make you feel you are unique.

Rooms are large with high ceilings, good views and very comfortable.

Finally, location is perfect for a business trip in Central as you can reach by taxi IFC area within minutes.

I would also advise anyone to test the charity car which gives you opportunity to be driven anywhere in town with Shangri-la electric car in exchange of a donation. Another distinctive initiative which makes this hotel so unique.

I shall certainly come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
Thank TheGoodLife75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we were met at the airport by ShangriLa staff and for the entire stay, every single member of the Shangri-La team represented the hotel in exemplary fashion. We were so very impressed by the attention to details - saying all our names, the efficiency of checkin, the luggage transfer, the housekeeping, and the best concierge service experienced yet. And on top of all this, the overriding friendliness of EVERY the staff at all times.
We ate at Too cafe for diner and also breakfast, Thai Waterside for diner (brilliant Thai food we thought) and Petrus for breakfast. We also enjoyed the CNY fireworks in the Horizon Lounge. All the hospitality and catering standards were first rate. Claude from your concierge team also organised tickets to the street party on CNY, which was a great success for all the family. Again all communications prior were of the most efficient standard. A good friend (who has stayed a few times, and is very particular about where he stays) recommended this hotel.
We can see why. It is the staff / service that makes the hotel so special. Wonderful.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is one of the best hotels in the world for me.

You can see tea pot when you into room, you can drink hot tea with good view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wawach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The benefits to this hotel include the quality customer service, location in the business district and size and feel of the standard guest rooms. The cons are that the rooms are showing a bit of age and value is hit and miss.

The hotel evaluates itself based partially on the warm welcome and send-off. If you stay at Shangri-La hotels, you may receive a survey which actually includes these items. So yes, you'll be greeted hello and sent off nicely.

The location is on Hong Kong Island. It is near Central, although is closer to the Admiralty MTR. It is a great location for the Lippo Centre and other similarly situated office buildings. How business-oriented is it? The mall that it is above is Hong Kong's Pacific Place: www.pacificplace.com.hk. You must be making money to shop there!

The guest rooms are nice. They're comfortable enough that you'll feel at home on the road. They don't have a separate sitting room, but the desk has enough space around it that there's plenty of room to just exist. The room has daily fresh fruit. The bathrooms have L'Occitane amenities, which is nice.

As a con, these same rooms are starting to show their age a bit. My most recent room had some mold in the stand-up shower. This was not a housekeeping issue: it was in the grout.

I have twice been put in a room on the 44th floor, I suppose on the premise that I look like I would not care if given an inauspicious room number.

A word of caution, many things in HK are not affordable and this hotel is not an exception. A glass of wine in the lobby lounge will likely cost you $10-15CAD.

As to the "Shangri-La" smell, I've stayed here 3 times. The first time I hated it, the second I lived with it and the third I bought the room spray.

"Jade" or better Shangri-La Golden Circle Members will like the buffet, which is free for them. The same people should pass on the fresh fruit as a welcome amenity since you get it with the room anyway.

Hot tip: You must have the cheesecake from the Waterside Terrace - the restaurant hidden by the hotel pool. You could probably get it by the pool, which would be okay in the evening or a cooler day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What to say about this amazing hotel? If the perfect hotel exist, it is certainly called Shangri-La. The staff is very friendly at all level. Once you enter the hotel, you discover the perfume (I am still looking for it, it smells so good), then you discover the room. You are warmly welcomed with a nice Jasmine tea and relaxing music. Shangri-La offers those rooms that make you feel so good and where you wanna stay forever. The bed is massive and very comfortable. The bathroom is big and nicely decorated. The view from the room is impressive, even when the weather is not great. Don't forget to go downstair and have a drink at their lobster bar downstair while listening to nice music. Highly recommended for business and couples in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaslovesbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staymonth=12
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent service from Arrival to Check-In to Event and check out. This is one warm and friendly hotel that I would love to come back again. Excellent service and great location. Nonetheless, was there for business and they really made it like it was a for a holiday for me, the bed was so comfortable. The Summer Palace restaurant is indeed one place you need to try out for their dim sum. Superb!



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ervin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,907 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing