We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excllent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Holon, Israel
1 review
“Excllent”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Rooms at executive level 52-55 are excellent.
Service in the lounge perfect.
Breakfast rich plentiful and very tasty
Hotel team very outgoing helpful kind and polite
Could not find fault shall be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Moshe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    321
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
328
518
126
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed on the club level. Amazing service, excellent gym (great machines, clean, good music). Eat a Petrus - food is unbelievable and the bay views from the 56th floor are excellent. The hotel is connected to Pacific Place mall and has access to the Metro so it is great for business to get around the city and avoid traffic. Great shopping in Pacific Place as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank IrmaInUptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After our two week Southeast asia cruise we decided to have a splurge and stay at the Island Shangri La hotel in Hong Kong. Our driver and car from the hotel picked us up promptly from the ship and whisked us to the hotel. We were greeted there by Natalie, who was most gracious and escorted us to our 44 Th floor harbor view room. There while she filled out the necessary forms, she poured us hot tea and made us feel truly welcome. Throughout our two night stay we were to find this level of service and hospitality the rule and not the exception. Note we did not have a suite or even a club level room, just a normal one.

We spent one wonderful day out at the luxurious pool and jacuzzi, and found that we could order food from a nearby restaurants menu. our pool men set up the service with napkins and tableware and cleared the dishes promptly afterward. Everyone in this hotel speaks English so communication for us was never a problem. We also enjoyed the lobby bar with its magnificent surroundings and live music. We also had memorable dinners at the Petrus Michelin starred restaurant and the Lobster bar restaurant. Petrus is 57 floors up and everything about that meal was as good as it gets, including the Victoria Harbor view.

Two quick examples of the service levels at this hotel1) when you order toast with your room service breakfast , the person who delivers it will set up a toaster in you room so you actually get fresh hot toast, and 2) When we left, after a waving goodbye from Natalie and the doormen, we were driven to the airport in the hotels S class Mercedes- but at the airport another uniformed bellman from our hotel appeared to help unload our 4 giant suitcases and take them for us to the airline check in counter. He then escorted us all the way to the security checkpoint so we would not get lost in this cavernous airport. That was much appreciated and is a service I have not seen any other hotel do.

I have stayed at 4 Seasons, Ritzes, Mandarin Orientals etc but this hotel is far and away the best I have ever experienced.

Room Tip: If at all possible get a harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webegone61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear webegone61,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. I trust that Natalie will be glad to see your compliments. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
226 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here for a week with my husband and family - we were very happy from beginning to end. Service is excellent, food is great, and location is superb. We went with harbor view rooms and the view is lovely. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Harbor view is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daje2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is not a cheap hotel, but as they say, you get what you pay for!
I have stayed in many hotels whilst travelling with work. This has to be the best yet!
The attention to detail, the friendliness of the staff and the standard of the whole hotel is outstanding.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a top end hotel on Hong Kong Island within walking distance to LKF and Wan Chai.

Room Tip: A bay view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrighouseJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked executive suite for business meetings just to be told room would not be ready at standard check-in time of 14:00 due to previous guest paying for late check out! So hotel only going for money instead of customer service. I have been coming to this hotel frequently but this will be my last visit, seems hotel focused as in the past.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacoCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear JacoCV,

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the disappointing experience you encountered at our hotel. I would like to make up for this shortcoming and would appreciate if you could contact me directly at franz.donhauser@shangri-la.com to give me the opportunity to provide true Shangri-La Hospitality on your future visits.

Kind regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Glitzy, busy, good location but soulless. Just stayed 5 nights (not consecutive) in a Hilton Hounours floor king, harbour view room. Decent room. Not too cramped even with a cot for our 11 yr old. All amenities you'd expect at a hotel like this and for the high price. The club floor lobby of the 56 th floor is very nice, even verging on charming and is a quiet oasis with a nice breakfast, tea service all day and scones, cream, cookies and drinks out for the rest of the day and evening. Could use a few extra savoury options during day and evening.
The gym is spacious, bright and has a pretty outlook into a big banyan tree in the park between our hotel and the Conrad. Friends at the Conrad say their gym is a dank hole in the basement. Here the gym and locker room spa pool area are all nicely done. Oddly the air con is set too warm in the gym area. I've never been so hot while I worked out. Seems like an easy fix.
Staff is polite and efficient. Our air con in our room,leaked...and I mean flood not trickle. They came right away (luckily we were in The room when it happened) and offered to move us to a different room. But once you've unpacked and settled in that is a huge hassle so we elected to,stay. They brought in the heavy duty industrial extractors etc and got the water up but the room stayed humid and musty. Our laundry (rinsed out exercise gear) wouldn't dry on the line overnight so the hotel dried it for us complimentary. We also,asked for a dehumidifier which they provided. They also,sent chocolates,etc. All very nice but we still should probably have suffered the hassle and moved.
So what are my complaints? Just so glitzy and overdone but without character. Nothing really to set it apart. The 56th floor would be my favourite part and the only part where you may actually feel like you are in colonial Hong Kong and not just another glitzy hotel anywhere in the world. But maybe that is just my complaint about HK in general now.

Room Tip: You can't beat watching the harbour anywhere in HK. Get a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s0j0urner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear s0j0urner,

Thank you for your review. I am concerned we gave you the feeling that the hotel is soulless. Our mission is "To delight our guests every time by creating engaging experiences straight from our hearts". I apologise for the disappointing experience you encountered in our guest room and I will ensure the necessary improvements are made. I was pleased to read your kind comments of our Horizon Club Lounge. Please contact me directly at franz.donhauser@shangri-la.com to give me the opportunity to make up for this disappointment and to provide true Shangri-La Hospitality on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Franz Donhauser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing