We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

fantastic service, excellent ambiance, superbe view. Perfect location on the upper side of Hong Kong. Good restaurant all around if you want to escape from the hotel. As usual Shangri la welcome is not a legend,


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Gael45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 2,099 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good business stay. Rooms are very comfortable and sizable for HK standard. breakfast spread is amazing and continue to be one of the best of the 5 star hotels. Service is excellent and to par of what is expected of the Shangrila

Overall a great stay and looking forward to stay again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank nwk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for the first time and it was a treat! First no hassle about early check-in as we had early arrivals. Then Cynthia Yang, guest relations was very friendly and wanted to make sure we were comfortable. The check-in and check-out was seamless and airport service exceptional. I think they are matching some of the top levels now in HK which is very competitive. Concierge very informative and happy to help and overall might replace my home away from home the Mandarin Oriental HK as my preferred stay as it is substantially cheaper than MO for almost the same feel.

Room Tip: views are nice from the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DineAboutWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear DineAboutWorld,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. I trust that Cynthia will be glad to see your compliments. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel on the Tuesday after the Hong Kong sevens. We had booked harbour view rooms on the club floor but as they had been very busy, our rooms were not ready. They gave us a room to relax in but after 20 hours travelling I just wanted to unpack in my own room and have a shower.

One of the rooms became available about 3:30pm but I was still waiting at 4:30pm. I went back to the Club floor fully intending to make my anger and disappointment clear to the management. I was met at the door by Leon Li the manager of the Horizon club to be informed that he was very sorry for the inconvenience and that they had upgraded me to a Harbour View Suite. Nice recovery.

With that behind us we were able to enjoy the many treats of the hotel. The Club floor is excellent and I would urge anyone staying to pay a bit more and use the club. Excellent service and lots of good free food and drink, including Champagne, make it worthwhile. The views are also stunning and very hard to beat.

The Lobster Bar and Grill is a great place for live music, a busy bar and great cocktails. Again the service was great. We dinned in The Summer Palace. Food and service first class although you may not want to see your prawns soaked in alcohol and then boiled alive at your table - or maybe you do!

The location is great too. A top class mall just in front of the hotel and a fairly short walk to the shops and bars in Central. It's a bit further in the other direction to Wan Chai but doable.

All in all a great hotel that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and go for the club floor for great service, free food and drinks and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainm638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked a horizon club room with a harbour view. Magnificent sight watching the hustle and bustle on the water and reclamation of the sea. At night a great vista of the hotels and office blocks light up in different colour and of course the 20:00 laser light show.

The service was second to none - one of the best we have had across the world.

Your check in is actually in your room and the you have a Service Leader from the Horizon Club looking after you during your stay, ours was Eddy Liu, incredibly helpful and polite. Between 18:00 and 20:00 they serve wonderful snacks and complimentary drinks - both of a very high standard.

Room Tip: Definitely a horizon harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM-Mebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear MeBear-Jm,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. I trust that Eddy will be glad to see your compliments. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a lovely time at this hotel. We booked a club room and used the Horizon Club a lot. Great place for snacks and cocktails in the evening. The food and service are amazing. The staff are actively polite and caring. The room was probably the best equipped of any 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in. Really there isn't a single thing to fault. Hong Kong itself is a lot of fun. Horizon Club staff gave us lots of good recommendations on places to eat. We also attended an organic farm visit to the New Territories organized by the hotel for Earth Day. The staff went to a huge effort to create an amazing "picnic" and the farmer spent a long time with us explaining the farm and letting us taste test straight from the fields. Everyone at this hotel deserves a big ten out of ten. If you are heading for Hong Kong stay here. It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank thecriticnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

By far the most elegant and luxurious hotel one could consider staying in. From to notch airport transfers (once you clear customs and claim your bags) you won't need to bother with them as they will be delivered to your room. Same on the way out. Red jacket staff at airport takes care of your every need. The house car is an S class Mercedes but if you would like the phantom is available. Upon arrival at the hotel the warm welcome and fragrant entrance sets the tone for your stay. Every detail is provided for you, often before you ask. The horizon club is amazing and worth the extra $$. Breakfast / snacks / evening cocktails with elegant munchies all on the 56th floor for the most breathtaking views of Hong Kong and don't miss the light show. Certainly our home away from home and would be tough to come close.

Room Tip: Horizon club floor with standing shower does it for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Luvgr8fud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,597 reviews
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#21 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £255 - £519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing