We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best - simple as that” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“The best - simple as that”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Readers of my reviews will know that I have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world. I also know that there are millions of hotels that I have not stayed in but I can safely say this is the best hotel I know, at least as far as an executive floor (Horizon Club) stay is concerned. I am not going to go into detail like I usually do but this recent 2 day stay with my wife was exceptional. We could not find one single fault with the hotel - absolutely nothing - everything a discerning guest could ask for was provided and anticipated or if it wasn't, it was responded to instantly.

It is quite expensive by world standards but all Hong Kong is expensive so that is not a criticism. No - I have been racking my brain to find a fault but couldn't. Well done SL - we were very impressed - keep up the good work and try to pass on some of your standards to other hotels in the Group that are perhaps not quite up to your standards.

Room Tip: Stay in the Horizon Club - its an experience above most Exec Club floors. Try to get a harbour view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    312
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
322
505
123
727
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Island Shangri-La was home for a week. Perfectly located in the heart of Hong Kong, the Island Shangri-La served up sophisticated comfort, in an elegant setting, to perfection. My stay at the Shangri-La was characterized by how anticipated all my individual needs were. Wonderful personable staff exceeded my expectations in all regards. The architectural flourishes aspire to envelop you in the welcoming smiles of the Island Shangri-La,
Randy Brown
Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed a couple of times at this hotel. But I did not realize that their services are great until now.
I dropped my cardigan inside hotel and they could not find my item at the Lost and Found section while I was there. However I got an email that they found that they found my item fortunately.
Then they sent my item by overseas courier, so that I got my item back within 2days!!
I've never have the efficient services like that. I am sure that I will come back to the hotel in the future again. Also their housekeeping staff are so friendly and kind !! I love this hotel.

Room Tip: You can find good deals on Expedia and Hotel.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rackiesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and i decided to splurge a little bit for our last two nights in Hong Kong, so we chosen this hotel. The hotel is located in a great location in central. Good shopping and restaurants around. Hotel staff was extremely helpful. The room looks elegant and spacious. The chinese tea upon arrival in the room was lovely touch. Highly recommended hotel for your next trip to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy_Me79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hong Kong is fascinating, the weather is hot and humide and the best refuge we found was the Shangri-la where you are A guest not a customer.The welcome start at the lobby with excellent attention and soft 4 instrument orchestra.

Room Tip: all the equipment and amenities of top quality and in excellent working order. The house keeping ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tayeb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband, daughter and i spent 2 nights in april at the hotel before boarding a cruise to China.
we were on a club floor which enabled us to use the Club Lounge. the service and choice of food throughout the day and evening was superb. the view from our room was excellent and we could even see our cruise ship docked on the kowloon side of the harbour. the gym and spa area was wonderful and my daughter enjoyed her swim in the pool even though april is not that warm in hong kong. the breakfast was spectacular with a wonderful choice of asian and western delights.

Room Tip: the harbour facing view rooms on a club level is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Shangri-La group hotels are always a good choice in terms of amenities and service. We particularly enjoy the pool area. The location of the hotel is excellent - it is close to a beautiful park and adjacent to the Pacific Place mall as well as being an easy walk to Central.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Dreaming57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,368 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Destinology so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing