We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June Business in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“June Business in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall excellent experience at ISL Hotel. I have stayed here several times before and continue to be amazed. Only downside is the wait time for elevators. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Gym is better than most. Horizon Club is a great escape every morning and evening for breakfast and then cocktails with friends. Restaurants are top notch, every meal is excellent. Finally, the staff was there for me whenever I needed something.

Room Tip: Overlooking Victoria Harbor. It's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    312
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
321
505
122
726
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
210 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was my first stay at the Island Shangri-La as I normally stay at the Conrad just opposite, which is my benchmark hotel for Hong Kong. Overall the Shangri-La is a lovely hotel with a nice ambience and good amenities. Service was particularly good - prompt, efficient and friendly. It is directly above the upmarket Pacific Place shopping mall, although it may take a little while to discover the slightly circuitous route down to the mall.
My only reason for not giving the Shangri-La five blobs is the bathroom. The building is curved so each room is narrower at the corridor end than the window end. This means that the bathroom has been somewhat squeezed. It was small and had a shower in the tub (reminiscent of hotels in New York) rather than the separate walk-in shower you might expect in an Asian 5 star hotel.
Overall though a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixNineOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was outstanding. The service was amazing. The rooms were luxurious and had everything needed for a comfortable stay. On the night I arrived a pot of tea was waiting in a tea cozy as a sign of hospitality. Fresh fruit was provided in the room each day which was a great treat. Bottles of water were also abundant - and were free of charge. This was a big plus considering the heat and humidity in Hong Kong. The hotel breakfast was amazing. Be sure to check it out. I can't say enough about how fabulous this hotel is. It's one of the best hotels I've been in in quite some time - and I travel a lot for work. Highly recommended!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaRicaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Finally.... stayed in Island Shangri-la Hotel Hong Kong for 2 nites.
As I have heard so much good things about this hotel, I of course have such a high expectation.
But I am delighted to confirm that my family and I have enjoyed our short stay in this hotel.
We had two rooms at the same floor even though the hotel was running full on that day.
One room has magnificent view of the sea, while the other one is just oke. But that is not a big deal as the room cleanliness and amenities have cheered us up.
We had breakfast at Cafe Too and it was just sufficient.
Swimming pool is not as big as I expected but the Health Club facilities are sufficient and well maintained.
The stars are Front Office Team.
Allow me to express my and my family appreciation to the following team members for their warm and consistent great services from their heart :Christy (Concierge), Izzac and Ida (Front Desk), Edmond (Bell), Kent (Cafe Too) and Heidy & Anna (Airport Rep).
Congratulations to all of you who have convinced me that I have made the right decision to stay in your hotel. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Any room face the sea are grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cacay1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Cacay1973,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. I trust that Christy, Izzac, Ida, Edmond, Kent, Heidy and Anna will be glad to see your compliments. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

If it were only for the hospitality and friendliness of the staff, it would be more than enough to rate this hotel the highest there is. Brilliant service from the doormen, through the concierge, taxi stand, on-call reservations all the way up to the check in/out staff. They made lots of reservations for us, perfect recommendations, and made the trip much easier.

Add to that, decent location - short ride to lots of attractions, good views and brilliant facilities and food. This hotel was the prime of our vacation to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FahadDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Have stayed at a few Shangri-las before, although first time here and the flawless service I'd come to expect was equally evident here. Some hotels have trouble ensuring consistency across the brand but I have never found this to be a problem with this chain.

We stayed in a twin peak view room (the cheapest category) on the 48th floor. While the harbour view would have been stunning, I actually found the peak view fascinating. The room was a good size and the only negative was the lack of a shower still separate from the bath. As negatives go, that is not a big one. The beds were comfortable.

We had breakfast included in the rate. The buffet in Cafe a Too on the 7th floor was enormous and some elements changed on a daily basis. Eggs could be ordered. The service was first rate although dome elements of the buffet could be a little bold if you were unlucky.

We are on the first night in the Thai place by the pool and food the food mediocre, over-priced and the service (in starting contrast to the rest of the hotel) to be slow and unenthusiastic.

The hotel location us great.....handy for the Peak and a morning walk through Hong Kong Park while beside a shopping mall and a MTR station.

Would I recommend this hotel - definetly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjh2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear sjh2311,

Thank you for your review of our property. I apologise for the disappointing experience you had at Waterside Terrace. I have shared your feedback with the team and will ensure that necessary improvements are made. We look forward to welcoming you back for an opportunity to make up for this disappointment.

Best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have stayed at numerous 5 star hotels world wide, however, by far the Island Shangri-La is the best. What makes the difference is the personal friendly staff. The views of the harbour are unbelievable. The rooms are large and clean. The restaurant for breakfast was expensive, very big selection. The whole experience was fantastic.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a harbour view. Well worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing