We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcome respite!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“welcome respite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We were put up for a night here by air New Zealand as the aircraft had issues. Staff were really welcoming and efficient which was nice after a long day of waiting and uncertainty at the airport. Room was large and comfortable if a bit chintzy for my liking. Breakfast is amazing! Chinese, Indian and Western food! Yum!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jarr_mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    312
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
321
505
122
726
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night, and it was excellent! While one of the more expensive properties in the city, it is also one of the very best. Plush rooms, wonderful amenities and a great staff contribute to a superb stay.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the dinner buffet at Cafe Too. For about USD$100 you get an all you can eat exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I enjoyed 10 days at this lovely hotel.
The staff are outstanding.
The Hotel is fabulous with all the amenities you could wish for.
The Restaurants are excellent and the Pool area fabulous.
You are close to Shops and all Entertainment.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious and spotless with daily cleaning. The Harbour View from the room was sensatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Robyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
307 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Shangri-La Hotel is surely one of the best in Hong Kong. It is a bit old fashioned regarding the interior ( not very modern) but the service is also old fashioned, meaning they make an effort to make you feel comfortable and welcome and not being arrogant and cold.
We come here often to eat in the NADAMAN (jap.) Restaurant or Summer Palace (chin.). Both are excellent. I love the surprising tasts at Nadaman. Last time we had a wonderful soup which I think had a tea base (?). Talking to Japanse people in HK they also say that this is one of the best in HK.
At the Summer Palace we had peking duck. It was very crispy and good. We also had several other dishes and XO sauce. Wow! I think it is the best in town and when I told this to the waiter, he gave me some to take home :-)
We have never been disappointed at any of the restaurants at the Shangri-La. But there is one point I must mention: we had a gin and tonic at the bar and that was terrible. They use bad tasting tonic. We told the bar tender and he said that he had mentioned this to the management before ( so he knew) and unless they have changed their tonic have something else to drink!!

Room Tip: the higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nota1timetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The location is brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for the ever attentive staff. Book a Horizon Club room for access to the luxurious Horizon Club which has truly amazing views. Food and Beverage operation is great and housekeeping is absolutely top notch. Great all round hotel and a fantastic offering from Shangri-la.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel for two nights in April 2014. The customer service is excellent, we booked the hotel car to collect us as we had never been to Hong Kong before. The driver was great, we were met inside the airport. At the hotel we were met at the door. The room was stunning with amazing views. We received a welcome card and another card on the second day with cookies. The chandelier in the room just added that touch of opulence. It is not a cheap hotel but if you can afford it, it is well worth it. By far the best customer service I have received in any hotel. I lost my camera and sunglasses travelling from Vietnam. They contacted the Hong Kong police and with in 12 hours had a report that we could give to our insurance company. go on spoil yourself, it is well worth it. Aslo if you go down in the elevator under the reception area, which would normally be a car park there is a shopping mall.

Room Tip: Go for the room with a view, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed two days at Island Shangri-La Hotel on Dec 2013 with my family. The hotel is in the lower part of the mountain, and we stay at the 55 floors which have a really great view of the magnificent commercial building in HK city and the busy harbor. The room is not big but well deco, the hotel provide LOCCITANE soap, lotion, shampoo, and Evian.

The breakfast is great, the breakfast restaurant for the 55 floor hotel guest are at the 56 floors. The restaurant offer buffet plus on-the-spot order for different type of breakfast, included Chinese, western style. You also can enjoy the nice sea view and city view with your breakfast.

The HK garden is just 30m distance from the hotel, this park is like the heart of the city, it surround by all the tall building. You can enjoy a morning walk in this wonderful garden, there some fountain, pool with carp, small fish, tortoise etc.

It take about 5 minute to walk to the Pacific Place shopping centre, and 10 minutes walk to the MRT station. In front of the hotel, the hotel staff provide a good service, it is not difficult to catch a taxi even during the peak hour. This is really convenience and good location.

It is worth to stay in this hotel even it is expensive!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cityangel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and Southall Travel so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing