We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a good central HK hotel. The club lounge is chaotic but it does work despite overcrowding. rooms are very comfortable indeed. Worth a visit. I'd suggest getting ShangriLa Golden Circle membership to ensure your treated like a VIP.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalutiPrego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    312
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
321
505
122
726
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Island Shangri-la is a very good choice, equally suited for business travelers with meetings in Central or Admiralty in town as well as leisure travelers with plans for shopping or sightseeing. I have been visiting this hotel for business travel to Hong Kong since 2002 and most recently for a five day / four night trip in July 2014. While there are definitely newer properties available, the Shangri-la is a very solid five star offering that more than holds its own by combining a near perfect central location with extensive dining, fitness, and business facilities at a reasonable price and topping it all off with a well trained staff, whose warm service and thoughtful attention to detail is world class and really distinguishes the hotel.

In many ways, this hotel sets the standard for a five star property. The location is excellent – one of several prime hotels in Pacific Place, with direct access to the adjacent shopping mall and MTR station as well as convenient walking access to many nearby offices. The setting offers many other options for further exploration, from the calm of nearby Hong Kong Park to dining and shopping venues along and across the harbor and easy access to transport links that will take you anywhere. The hotel also features a number of solid dining options, and the in-room dining service is also of a very high quality. The fitness area and especially the pool are good size for a Hong Kong hotel. For me, the most distinguishing element of the hotel is the very warm and welcoming staff. While the lobby and room décor may be beginning to show its age in comparison to some of the newer offerings in the market, the Shangri-la remains in very good shape thanks to quality construction, intelligent choice of materials, good maintenance, and use of classic design.

On my most recent stay, I was greeted on arrival at the drive up approach and taken straight to my room for check-in procedures. My room had been upgraded to a larger harbor-view, which was very thoughtful, and the service rep thoroughly explained hours of the fitness center, dining options in and near the hotel as well as shopping venues. Guest room size on the harbor side is excellent, with plentiful storage and a large bathroom suite (hint: ask for harbor side if possible—the rooms on the Peak side are slightly smaller). The desk and entertainment center are large and more than adequate, and there are numerous thoughtful appointments, including integrated lighting controls, powered curtains, and a local printer. I didn’t use the TV much, but it worked as expected and included diverse programming in many languages. Wifi was included in the rate; it was fast and worked seamlessly throughout my stay.

If you’re a frequent traveler, you’ll note that the designs of some of the newer competitors are beginning to surpass the thoughtful layout of the Island Shangri-la guest rooms, nonetheless the hotel continues to provide a very high and enjoyable standard of comfort. A number of amenities are provided in line with expectations for a five star property, including the usual toiletries and grooming accessories, shoeshine pad and buff, slippers, complementary mineral water, a selection of fruit that is refreshed twice daily (a very nice touch), coffee/tea (and hot water kettle for beverages / baby formula), as well as the usual stationery, maps, and reading material. Finish and workmanship is of a high quality. Likewise, linens were high end, clean and plentiful. The heating and cooling controls worked perfectly, and although the AC made some noise, it was not intrusive. Guest rooms can be completely darkened for sleeping and have excellent lighting as required. I noticed that the lifts can be a little slow at busy times … but this is also the case at other luxury hotels located in Hong Kong skyscrapers.

Except for a couple of very late night in-room dinners, most of my meals on this trip were away from the hotel. The in-room menu is a collection of traditional stuff, prepared and presented professionally and available with any condiment or sauce you can imagine. The kitchen staff are polite and very accommodating, and I found both the food and service quite good. One note – the buffet in Café Too features a good selection but comes at a hefty price, so unless you need the full meal or it is included in your rate, you might consider lighter/other options away from the hotel. There are numerous nearby dining options, but the hotel venues are convenient if it is late or you do not want to venture out.

Without taking anything away from the property, I believe it is the staff who really make the experience for guests at the Shangri-la in what is a very competitive market for upscale lodging. You may be able to do better in terms of more luxurious accommodations, yes (and you’ll pay more to do so), but it would be very difficult to exceed the service here. In my experience, over the years management has worked diligently to continue to raise standards … and it shows. Everyone I encountered was friendly and attentive to my needs without being intrusive or obsequious. They have gotten this balance perfectly right. From reception and the concierge to bell staff to cleaners to drivers, everyone I met was professional without being stuffy, polite and thoughtful, and made me feel genuinely welcome. Beyond that, every staff member I met spoke at least two languages, and all were knowledgeable – able to provide precise recommendations for shops, restaurants, directions to business meetings, and the like. The small details were all right on – even things like preferences for laundry and dry cleaning (the service is fast and results are excellent, btw), directions to a specific shoe shop, and estimates for travel times. Whatever brings you here in the first place, it is the flawless service that will keep you coming back. Service like this is rare—unknown in some parts of the developed world, unfortunately—and does not happen by accident. Well done to the staff … and to the management team.

There is very little to fault here. The way it all comes together at the Island Shangri-la – location, quality of décor and furnishings, amenities, and especially the staff service – brings unexpected delight and value for their guests.

Highly recommended.

Hope this helps…!

Room Tip: If you have a choice, take the harbor side - rooms are typically larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm_jpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear mm_jpn,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality and exceptional dining options. I trust that our colleagues will be glad to see all your compliments. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent service. During our stay my son got strong fever. They arranged for us visits to the hospital and to see a specialist. They also, gave us a car with a driver to take us to all our appointments with a person to assist us and translate for us. For a family of visitors that doesn't know where to go, it was a great help.
We are still overwhelmed by their caring and attention.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
5 Thank 530Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear 530Sophia,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We treat our guests as family and it was our pleasure to take care of you and your son. We hope he is feeling much better now. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great hotel with excellent service and convenient location make this hotel one of my favourites in HK. The Hotel has been around for more than 20 years yet the property is very well maintained with the hardwares maintain at top notch condition. Great service is a given in any 5 star hotels in HK but Shang has that extra personal touch. All the restaurants at the Shang are excellent and my personal favourites are Lobster Bar that serves excellent Boston lobster in a relaxing setting and the poolside cafe that serves authentic southeastern dishes. A great place for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaoK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear LaoK66,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality and exceptional dining options. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
255 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

In my opinion, the best hotel in Hong Kong (I normally check about 40 luxury hotel per year, all around the world).
Location is extremely convenient, just above Pacific Place.
Room are spacious and with extremely good amenities.
Service is more than excellent: if you have the chance to meet and be servef by Mrs. Bernadette Zuniga, you will realize how high is the level of their management.

Wonderful!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FSGTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear MFGT,

Thank you for sharing your experience and your kind compliments about our hotel. We are delighted that Bernadette has made your stay more pleasurable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant four nights staying at this hotel on July. Check-in was smooth and friendly, thank you Mr. Frank Lau. We had a wonderful peak view room and could not be happier about it. Both room and bed were large and comfortable. Bath tube was long and bath salt and all bathroom amenities were good. Room service was excellent. Pool area and swim quards as well as gym personnel were all amazingly friendly and discreet. We had breakfast every morning at cafe too and it was best breakfast ever.

Could not wait to stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MindyTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear MindyTampere,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and had time to use our facilities including the health club and the pool. I trust that Frank and our health club colleagues will be glad to see your compliments. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

First class hotel, great central postion, nice rooms, nice staff and a great place to stay. I was on business and having a direct connection to the MTR was a real benefit when I had to attend meetings downtown and it is 30 degrees in the shade! You cannot fault the hotel. It does everything it says. Will stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear David R,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and that our location made it more convenient for you to attend your business meetings. It is indeed our pleasure to take care of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards,
Franz Donhauser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing