We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Decorated for the new year celebrations this hotel was beautiful. From the moment we arrived at the airport counter to the moment we left we were exceptionally well looked after. I have stayed in some lovely large hotels over the years but the service here outshone all of them. Staff were smiley, polite and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was beautiful, view amazing and attention to detail outstanding. We ate in the summer palace restaurant and enjoyed delicious food & great service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BristolPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir-of-Rooms, Director of Rooms at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2010

Dear Bristol

On behalf of the Island Shangri-La, I would like to express our heartfelt appreciation for your kind words in regards to your recent stay experience at our hotel. We are most delighted to know that you enjoyed our services throughout your stay with us. Through your valuable comments, we will be pleased to commend the team for their exemplary performance. We appreciate receiving your feedback as it is one of the best means we have to reward and motivate our staff to maintain and continually improve our standards.

Thank you so much once again. We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Island Shangri-La in the near future, and do please contact us if we can be of any further assistance whatsoever.

Best regards
Ms. N. Cockayne
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,050)
There are newer reviews for Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

Island Shangri la is located in the heart of Hong Kong Island right above the pacific place mall!..there is a direct elevator which takes you to the mall! we used to live in Hong Kong and are very familiar with the city so when we were travelling with a six months old we decided to stay in a location which is very convenient! Shangri la has a 24 hour butler service and they took care of everything...literally everything! when we arrived at the hotel we were surpirised to see a baby cot in the room already put for us!!! they also had a baby bath tub in the bathroom!!!! they even made baby food everyday just the way i wanted them to!!
the service was mind blowing! the staff was very friendly and cleanliness excellent! i would definitely stay there again!!!!could not have asked for more pampering than this for sure!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peeyaindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir-of-Rooms, Director of Rooms at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Dear Peeyaindia

On behalf of Island Shangri-La Hotel, I would like to express our heartfelt appreciation for your recent stay and for sharing your positive experiences and kind words with the other TripAdvisor visitors. I am very pleased you enjoyed our services, facilities and the convenient location of our Hotel. We also greatly appreciate your feedback as it is one of the best means we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to recognize our guests and participate their needs so as to truly make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you and your family have a comfortable and relaxing stay.

We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Island Shangri-La in the near future, and do please contact us if we can be of any further assistance whatsoever.

Best regards

Best regards
Ms. N. Cockayne
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We are expats living in HK and have been here for 6 years. We try all the hotels on a regular basis for special occasions such as wedding anniversaries and our birthdays. We believe the service at the Island Shangri-La is the best in Hong Kong. And that is saying something. You could want for nothing here. You are treated so well and with genuine smiles.

The food at the Summer Palace is fantastic. Our sevice was fast and friendly. The food was delivered quickly.

I like the fact that I could use everything in the suite. By this I mean there aren't a million knobs and buttons for this and that to drive you mad like in some of the newer, more trendy hotels. Everything that I needed was already in the room. For once I didn't have to call up to pester house keeping. We ordered room service twice. Once for a snack and the other for breakfast. The food was excellent. It arrived right on time. It was piping hot. It was presented beautifully and there was nothing missing. Who could ask for more?

It was truly a hassle free stay. They had thought of everything. Not once did I think "oh, I really could do with *this* ..........."

That is what makes a stay easy and relaxing.

Come and stay at Island Shangri-La in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBug79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir-of-Rooms, Director of Rooms at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Dear TravelBug79

Greetings from Island Shangri-La Hotel. Thank you very much for providing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel with other Tripadvisor visitors. I am most delighted you enjoyed our services and facilities during your stay, and it is especially nice to hear from a Hong Kong resident as we truly aim to delight those that live close by as much as those that visit us from abroad. Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to welcome and take care of our guests and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have a comfortable and relaxing stay.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to Island Shangri-La in the near future, and do please contact us if we can be of any further assistance whatsoever.

Best regards

Ms. N. Cockayne
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

I have stayed at a few 5 & 6 Star hotels over the years and to date they had all not lived up to their rating. Then I had the pleasure of staying at Island Shangri-La; a true 5 star hotel and the only one so far I could not find fault with. The Rooms were immaculate, the Service was just superb and the breakfast menu fantastic. I hope to get back there again soon and will not stay anywhere else in Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_T_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir-of-Rooms, Director of Rooms at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Dear David_T_Melbourne

Thank you so much for your very kind posting on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities during your stay with us at Island Shangri-La. We truly strive to offer the best service we can at every opportunity and feedback such as this helps us to really motivate the team. Having a guest say they could 'not find fault' with anything in the hotel is music to our ears, and we can only try to make sure every guest leaves us as happy as you did that day.

We would also like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt appreciation for your continued support to our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me via the Hotel should you need any assistance with future reservations. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Island Shangri-La.

Best regards

Ms. N. Cockayne
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

Although rated as a Michelin star restaurant, we had dreadfully slow service. The food, when it arrived was the worst we ate. We ordered the tasting menu, which seemed to baffle the staff. It took at least a half hour for the first course to appear.

The Lobster House was better. The breakfast was the best.

The hotel location was fine, a ferry ride to the more touristed side was fun. There are wonderful garden in Hong Kong, which are worth seeing, too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beadyNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir-of-Rooms, Director of Rooms at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Dear BeadyNy

Greetings from Island Shangri-La Hotel, Hong Kong. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very concerned to learn of your unpleasant experience with Summer Palace; please accept our sincerest apologies for the poor quality food and disappointment you must have experienced. Kindly be assured that our Director of Food and Beverage and Executive Chef have taken your feedback seriously and are currently implementing that necessary changes and improvements. However, I am delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay, and thank you for your compliments about the Lobert Bar & Grill and Cafe Too. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us learn where we still need to improve in order to make you, our guest, as happy as possible.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me via the Hotel should you need any assistance. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Island Shangri-La.

Best regards
Ms. N. Cockayne
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

First the location is excellent. The Pacific Place mall is right below the hotel. It's about a 22HKD cab ride to the airport express station or to the ferries or LKF and bank buildings.
the rooms are top notch, personal fax machines, Different types of international power outlets, 2 ethernet ports, wireless, automated lights, curtains, etc. (Don't get why it's metallic keys though)
The service is pretty good, but is sometimes too much. Some days it felt like my room was visited 4 or 5 times for servicing. New ice. New fruit. Evening turn down service. Welcome Tea. etc.
The bell hops ask you where you want to go and write it down, although most cab drivers speak English.
At check-in someone greets you at the door to take you to the front desk, feels unnecessary.
Very good hotel, not sure if I would pay almost $500/night to stay there though.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir-of-Rooms, Director of Rooms at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2010

Dear Sir

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and positive experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay with us at Island Shangri-La Hotel, Hong Kong. I am particularly delighted that you thought our staff were friendly and helpful. We believe that the quality of our people is of the utmost importance in helping us to make your stay as memorable as possible. We also greatly appreciate your feedback as it is one of the best means we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards.

Please contact us whenever we can be of any assistance. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Island Shangri-La soon.

Best regards
Ms. N. Cockayne
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2010

well to start you have to splurge for the rolls royce phantom airport pick up because at $150 its cheaper than taxi rides i have had in europe.
Location is superb, having a mall with plenty of shops, restaurants and banks underneath is a huge plus. Rooms weren't my taste but looked very new, fresh, clean and big.

The service, actually service... best service i have had anywhere in the world hands down. Wonderful staff really. From the desk, to the doormen, concierge, driver, housekeeping, even maintenance.

Couldnt get into any of the 2 michelin rated restaurants in the hotel because they are so busy but the lobster bar food was great.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YVR_DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dir-of-Rooms, Director of Rooms at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2010

Dear YVR_DXB

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments and positive experiences with other Tripadvisor visitors about your recent stay at our hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed our services and facilities during your stay with us. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback as it is one of the best means we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards.

In the meantime, please contact us whenever we can be of any assistance. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Island Shangri-La soon.

Best regards
Ms. N. Cockayne
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,742 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,250 reviews
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,292 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £256 - £499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing