We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I just spent 5 nights at the Kowloon Shangri-La and it is a fantastic hotel. Service, amenities and location are all excellent. It is steps away from the Tsim Sha Tsui - East MTR station which gets you anywhere in Hong Kong very quickly. Also near the Star Ferry and the major shopping district.

The hotel itself is quite excellent. The room was huge by HK standards and service was extremely attentive. The Shang Palace restaurant was terrific but the concierge and doormen gave me several outside restaurant tips that worked out great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for your review - great to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found the location convenient. Shang Palace, our newly-renovated Chinese restaurant, has a wide selection of traditional and contemporary Cantonese specialities and the changes we have made have been well received. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal. Regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,606)
There are newer reviews for Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,225 - 2,231 of 3,607 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

My family and I travelled to Hong Kong for 5 days in early September. Having stayed at the Shangri La, Kowloon 3 times, we knew we couldn’t go wrong by choosing to stay there for a 4th time. We received nothing but 5 star quality service from the Shangri La staff.

Both leaving, and entering the hotel, we were greeted with friendly staff, opening doors for us and assisting us with bags and any other belongings we were carrying. The staff were always helpful, giving us tips on transport, site seeing and places to eat.

Our room was big and spacious and we had an incredible view of the Hong Kong harbour. Bathrooms were also very big. The entire hotel always smelt amazing.

The buffet breakfast was great and has a large range of food to choose from. We were happy with the service the breakfast staff provided us.

The Shangri La is in a great location, in walking distance of many bars, restaurants and café’s along the water front and close to many good shopping areas. Overall, we had a great stay at the Shangri La Kowloon and would be happy to stay there on our next visit to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed Kowloon Shangri-La. Regards Timothy wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Shangri-La has excellent, detail oriented staff - from suggesting things to do, giving directions, managing luggage, working an event, anything. They were nice, accommodating, and anticipated my needs. The horizon club at the top is a very nice place to relax. My hotel room was huge, and the view was beautiful. The gym was pretty good. Free wifi throughout. Convenient location to Nathan road, star ferry, and red line. There's a free shuttle to the express train to the airport. Stay here if you can afford it!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank NCDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for your positive comments, much appreciated, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Was only here for one night. It's got very good food and the staff was super nice. We had a pretty massive room which was good. The MTR station was only a few minute walk from the hotel so that's good. There's lots of great shopping areas and restaurants nearby. When getting a taxi, the staff would have a slip of paper of their licence plate for if there would be a problem, you'd already have the information there. The hotel is just very comfortable and it's great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilsonLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Great to learn you found the Kowloon Shangri-La comfortable and well located. Thanks for your feedback, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our last stop on our world trip before returning to Sydney. We have stayed here previously on our way down to Australia.

As always a stay at the Shangri-La chain is a welcome event and Kowloon did not disappoint. We had a Horizon Harbour View Room and the money was well worth it - the view was amazing. Add to that the fact there was an included club room with evening snacks and drinks and we were super chilled.

The Hotel now is right by the MTR - so easy access to anywhere in HK. We used it to do a one day trip to Disneyland.

The food was a consistently high quality - the Buffet is well worth going to - it will not disappoint.

The staff as always are very friendly and approachable. They were wonderful with my two boys.

Room Tip: Again, it pays to book with them direct - try to see if you can get into the Horizon club floor if y...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manicdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

I was pleased to learn we looked after you and your family and you enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel. Thank you for your review, Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

As big fans of Shangri La hotels, we were extremely pleased to stay on Kowloon Bay in Hong Kong - our room had an incredible view of the skyline, though at a pretty steep cost.

The breakfast buffet was high quality - I recommend you buy ahead of time through their website if you can, it was a good discount. They also had tasty afternoon treats at very moderate prices.

If Trip Advisor did 1/2 stars, I'd give this 4 1/2 due to expense of the room, and one issue we had - our friends at check-in had to wait more than 20 minutes after being told their room wasn't ready. Meanwhile, everyone else in line, including us, were able to get right into our room. However, they fixed this after complaint by upgrading our friends to a suite - well worth the 20 minutes, I think. Service otherwise was very high quality, and friendly.

Room Tip: Be sure to pick a harbour view room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boskk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Appreciate your constructive comments and pleased you enjoyed the hotel. I am sorry to learn your friends room was not ready immediately - sometime this is because we have identified something that needs to be fixed. I am pleased our staff extended some flexibility to ensure they were not kept waiting too long. Regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We 3 had a triple sharing room for a shopping weekend. If you plan on only sleeping in the hotel you will do fine by being in any room. However if you would like to chill in the room, you need to insist on a room with a view of either the harbour or street. Unfortunately our room #730 only had sliver of a view of the harbour and the rest, a concrete building right in front of us. Disappointing. You can expect traditional Shangri-la Group 5 star friendly service, however the hotel is cramped with people dining at Cafe Cool and the lobby lounge at weekend. The Tapas bar is slightly less packed but no drinks served unless you have their buffet for sunday lunch. Seem such a waste of opportunity to me! The other pain point is the musty odor of carpets in the corridor of the rooms. Plus points include, great location, great concierge and check out services, friendly employees all round, plentiful taxis and a convenient well connected subway line Tsim Sha Tsui East station right in front of hotel.

Room Tip: Floor 7 has a musty odor through the corridor. Unfortunately our room #730 only had sliver of a view...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetiemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,937 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,030 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
536 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £177 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing