We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£178
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No prepayment needed
Booking.com
Shangri-La.com
Exclusive Member Rate Guarantee
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller19842012
Kansas City, Missouri

The staff makes the difference

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2012
Stayed 3 nights at this 5 Star Hotel. Hotel & Staff did not fail in their mission. Extremely customer friendly property. Rooms are spacious, bathrooms excellent, and some of the views quite picture worthy. Breakfast meals in the cafe are world cuisine level. Assistant Chefs are everywhere to assist you, Sous Chefs preparing your fresh egg requests, and very attentive table service. Every breakfast brought me fresh ideas for touring, updated Cantonese dialect lessons, and an appreciation for 5 Star service by the staff. Front Desk does everything you might need to better your visit not only to the hotel, but also to Hong Kong. If you need any help while moving about the hotel, you are never more than a few steps from a courteous, helpful, and professional staff member. Thank You Kowloon Shangri-La for making my visit super.
Date of stay: October 2012
Room Tip: Try for a room with a harbor view, or a partial view at least. The nightly 8 pm laser light show...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Atrium
Tripadvisor
£84
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Restaurant
Room service
Tripadvisor
£64
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£91
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
 Exterior
Tripadvisor
£51
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.0 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior
Tripadvisor
£37
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
£44
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
8.0 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Booking.com
0.4 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • Priceline
6.4 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £84
  • Hotels.com
5.7 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Free Wifi
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • travelup.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £106
  • Algotels
15.6 miles from Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hong Kong
Reviews (6,237)
Filter reviews
6,237 results
Traveller rating
4,846
1,036
208
65
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,846
1,036
208
65
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club cafe kool tapas bar shang palace harbour view guest relations victoria harbour lobby lounge fantastic hotel birthday cake chinese restaurant buffet breakfast vivienne kowloon ksl hong amber
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3,995 - 4,000 of 6,237 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The Kowloon Shangri-La is a very nice and elegant hotel located one block off the harbor in Kowloon. The service is very good and the rooms are roomy and well appointed. The welcome tea basket in my room was a nice touch. I spent two nights there, but not on consecutive nights, so I experienced check in twice. While it took a little longer than I expected the staff was very courteous and helpful. The first night on was on a Horizon floor which gave me a very very spacious room and access to the Horizon club which has a nice breakfast buffet in the morning. The second night I stayed on a regular floor and still had a very spacious room. Many of the corporate "buyers" stay at this hotel, so around dinner time there is a lot of activity in the lobby. I used their car service to and from the Airport. The pick up was excellent. They used a very nice Mercedes and gave us cold towels and an iPad to use with Wifi for our ride to the hotel. On the way back to the airport they had an older Mercedes that was not completely clean.
All in all a nice hotel and one I would recommend.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JZPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Now we don't normally stay in 5-star luxury hotels like the Shangri-La but it has to be one of the best hotel experiences we have had in a long time.

My wife and I stayed in the Kowloon Shangri-La for 4 nights in October 2012. We were on our return trip home from Japan and wanted some added luxury so chose a well reviewed place in Kowloon.

Check-in was first class with multiple helpers. There was a bit of a problem with our booking though. It was made through a travel agent who booked us in for a twin room. Now we were travelling as a couple so this was unacceptable to us. Of course the hotel was all but full so there was little they could do other than offer us the twin room or an upgrade to a suite. It wasn't a free upgrade as the mistake was by our now fired travel agent and not the hotel. However, we negotiated a discounted price for the suite which was acceptable to us. And it was worth every extra cent!

The suite had a harbour view and was on the 17th floor. The bedroom and the living room had floor to ceiling windows offering a beautiful view of Hong Kong harbour with its busy traffic. There was also a massive bathroom with separate shower and bath. Terrific. The room was impeccably clean and tidy. Included in the room was wi-fi and complimentary water and membership of the Horizon Club. This membership allowed access to the top 2 floors where there was business centre, concierge services, seated views over the harbour, and a breakfast buffet. They also put on a 6-8pm cocktail hour with complimentary wine, beer etc and nibbles. Brilliant.

Our experience with the staff was first class all the way. After check-in they called to make sure the room was ok for us - it was on a smoking floor and we prefer not to stay in smoking rooms - but as it was newly renovated it was fine. They also sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne and box of chocolates which made us fell special and we of course devoured all with glee. At breakfast and during cocktail hour the staff at the Horizon Club were all smiles and ever attentive, particularly in that they all spoke good English as our Cantonese/Mandarin was terrible.

Also after we checked-out we noticed that we had left an item behind in the room. The Shangri-La staff at their Hong Kong Airport service desk were advised and they arranged for the item to be sent out to us on the next hotel limousine run. It arrived in time for us to clear immigration and make our flight. Brilliant again.

The hotel is located in a great spot too. Kowloon is very interesting and vibrant. The hotel is located in a convenient spot close to the Star Ferry Terminal and all the shopping districts too. This was my second trip to Hong Kong and staying close to transport services, shopping and restaurants is a big plus.

We can't speak highly enough about the Shangri-La Kowloon. Staff are terrific, the service was smooth, friendly and efficient, and the room was just what we needed even though it came at a bit of an extra cost. We would definitely stay there again - if we can afford it again - and recommend others stay there too.

Room tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can bear the cost. If not go for any harbour view room.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyssa242
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I have just returned from an 8 night stay in Hong Kong and chose to stay at the Kowloon Shangri La. Located near the harbour in East Tsim Sha Tsui several minutes walk from Nathan Road, the harbour view rooms in this hotel have an unsurpassed view of Victoria Harbour which is a constant delight and source of interest. The rooms are well appointed as are the public areas. Having been there before I made a point of having high tea at the Peninsula but on reflection prefer the public and reception areas of the Shangri La. The meal options looked superb too although I did not try them. The public areas are simply put very stylish and opulent without being over the top. Best of all the staff at Shangri La are excellent. Unfailingly helpful and friendly they could always be relied upon to go out of their way to assist and were always ready with a genuine smile and word of welcome when ever they met a client. Top marks Shangri La.

Room tip: Choose a harbour view room. They are more expensive but worth it.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Simply one of the very best hotels that I have had the pleasure to stay at. Having style and grace is one thing, but add to this the very best staff from senior to junior alike. This is a hotel that understands and cares about detail, even when many of the guests may not notice. This is, of course, when it really matters.

The rooms are a very good size and the house keeping is immaculate.

The Hotel restaurants are amongst the very best in Hong Kong, the Shang Palace having two Michelin stars.

Not for those on a budget, but then we did that when we were younger.

Room tip: If you like a cocktail, stay in the Horizon Club.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Close to Star Ferry, museums, Nathan Rd. shopping, and other top hotels, this modern hotel offers harbor views and good service from staff. It is a good location to access taxis and other transit. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast covers all the bases. Be sure to face the harbor, not the street.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leisurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews