We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hong Kong hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stunning view of the harbor from our room. Large room, free and fast wifi.
Excellent food in all restaurants
Delicious tea in Shang palace
Very comfortable bed. Gracious service, pretty lobby.
Good location, lots of security in hotel was nice.
Cons: the room was a little musty and the lobby smelled like room deodorizer when you walk in. Probably just because it is on the waterfront.
Cafe kool is very busy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Bonnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,118 - 2,124 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 fabulous nights to celebrate my daughters 21 st and mothers 82nd birthdays. Highly recommend. All the staff were so professional, happy and helpful. Thank you, you made our stay so enjoyable. We arrived early morning and whilst we were unable to book in to our room we were provided access to the Health Club to shower and freshen up after our 9 hr flight. Rooms were good size for the 3 of us. The foyer was amazing.

Room Tip: MTR is very close by which makes it easy to get to anywhere. Room was big enough with roll away be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Dear Kerry M, thank you for celebrating your daughters and mother birthdays with us. I am pleased you had a comfortable visit and many thanks for your review, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Terrific water front location is what you must have in Hong Kong if you really want to experience the best that HK has to offer in hotel accommodation.. Large rooms and large bathroom. Harbour View room is well worth the additional cost.


Room Tip: Must book a harbour view room.. Horizon Club is a worthwhile extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Kowloon Shangri-La in Hong Kong was a traveler's fantasy. The rooms are meticulously maintained, and the food was offered in a ball room of delicacies that only rain down in a foodie's dream. I relished the mounds of smoked salmon and cod, customized order grill, and fresh mangosteen I had only tasted in juice form in the US. The vibrant colors of the food were highlighted by the chandeliers and open space from which you could look down on the main foyer. The only feature that could be tweaked is the lack of the huge soak tub that came with the room in the Beijing Ritz Carlton. The spectacular view from the Kowloon, however, over the busy street of bicyclists, motorcyclists, and people soaked streets compensated for this one little miss. Their live entertainment of a band specializing in American classics and R &B was definitely a plus.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room on the upper levels, so that you don't miss the view and can enjoy greate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

After several weeks in mainland China, the Shangri-la was wonderful. The room was spacious and modern. The amenities were excellent. The shower was awesome. The breakfast buffet was very good each morning. Everyone was friendly and helpful!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Chouette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I am a heavy traveller and usually not easily impressed by hotels - mainly because I am not looking to be impressed. Yet this hotel (and this is by far not my first hotel in HK and by far not my first Shangri-La) completely blew me away by the way staff is conducting their jobs. I assume the training program must have been intense - from the arrival of the limousine from the airport (personal greeting, skipping the check-in desk and going straight to the room and doing check-in there), through the concierge, that actually knows the town, not just some popular touristy spots (for a frequent traveller to Hong Kong this is a blessing), to the check-out and of course the entire stay, every single aspect of staff's effort was absolutely perfect.

The hotel itself may be not the most recent build, but the rooms are good size and are fully equipped. There are no bathtubs (thankfully), but the shower is amazing - large sized shower cabin with the rain shower with a pump. As the result you get a nice lush stream of water and enough room to move about.

There is no proper bar, but a restaurant Tapas serves it's purpose. They have a nice wine selection and lots of spirits (also, they have a nice bottle of 30 years old sherry)

Lobby (or The Lobby Bar), while looks comfy, is very open, thus bunch of random people come in and destroy the atmosphere. I'll recommend to skip that one.

The main restaurant in the hotel - Lang Palace - is a 2 Michelin star Cantonese cuisine restaurant, and I must say, these are very well deserved two stars. Excellent food, great service.

The breakfast in Kool Cafe is very nice too. Huge choice of food from all over the word, prepared fresh.

All in all my search for accommodation for when I need to be in Kowloon area is over - I have found the place where I feel well and I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are staying the simplest room, consider upgrading one level up to Side Bay room, or whatever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dera kgro, thank you for your detailed review and recommendations. I am very pleased that you were impressed by the service from my colleagues and that you enjoyed the many dining options in the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

very clean and nice hotel!! the best service there is! only small problem is the should leave an option to open a small window! i was having big problem to have frash air in the room!! apart of this small problem it was great! spa is nice. food is good!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadbind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,241 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,718 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,037 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £169 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing