We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our first trip to Hong Kong and we didnt know what to expect of the place and the people, one way of making sure the nights and mornings will be good is to book ShangriLa so I did.
I booked a deluxe room with Bay view, and didn't regret it for a second. The view from the room was spectacular during day and night.
At first i got a room with very noisy aircon, but after a couple of days we were moved to a similar room with a similar view, with a less ecstatic aircon unit.

The front desk is very helpful, and I dont think there was anything they couldn't help us with.

We loved the Tapas bar and the staff there, we had excellent food and drinks and chilled outside for a few drinks too. Talking about chill, they could probably have turned up the heat a bit inside the bar as it was a bit too cold inside to wear shirt, most people sat there in jackets anyway so you won't stick out as a sore thumb wearing your windbreaker.

The lobby was very welcoming and so nicely decorated for christmas, it smelled and looked fresh anytime we came 'home'.
The hotel is perfectly situated right next to a MTR station so you can easily navigate through HK. It is also right in the middle of Kowloon (I believe) with shopping, restaurants and pubs a short walk away.

The gym in the hotel is big with a small pool. The equipment is up to date and you get your towel and water when you get in. Probably one of the better hotel gyms I've used.

I will definitely stay here again when I get back to Hong Kong.
I will give it a average on sleep quality because of the first few nights with the noisy aircon

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe room with bay view for a unforgettable view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,609)
There are newer reviews for Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 3,609 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

For Club room, I expected a lot more service than what was given. The room is old and lack the lustre that it once used to have. It did not catch up with the times. I was in 2 different hotels in 2 nights and they are just across the street from each other. The Club room does not even have a bathtub! For the price paid, the amenities in the room were poor and with distaste. If not for Shang Palace in the hotel, I am not sure what was worth it in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank LuxBeachSuckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear LuxBeachSuckers, thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay and we will be getting in touch to get more details so we may address your concerns. A few years ago we have removed baths in a number of rooms to make way for a larger shower stall. This has proved to be very popular with many of our guests, however we do have more than half our rooms that have baths for those who prefer. We will make note of this preference for your future stays. Thank you once again for your constructive comments, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

from being a golden circle member to getting special treatment for fast check in... to an absolute heaven buffet breakfast... Shang is always amazing.... they did our visas to Beijing for the great wall trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Visited this hotel for business. It is really one of Hong Kong's finest and it lives up to the luxury that is attached to the Shangri La brand.

Everything was quick and easy from the booking process to check in/check out. The room is huge and very we'll appointed with comfortable beds. Service was highly efficient with requests to housekeeping attended to in a matter of 5 minutes. Staff were all friendly and extremely hospitable.

The hotel is also well located with lots of shops and supermarkets nearby. Nathan Road is also a 5 minute walk away, this street is lovely for shopping.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehotelhopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here for four days in early December. Hotel was perfectly located on Hong Kong harbor with a great view of the city across the water from the waterfront promenade. Very close to shopping and hundreds of restaurants. The hotel had a very good International breakfast buffet. Staff at all levels were friendly and very helpful. we especially liked the in-room check-in process on arrival from a late night flight.

Room Tip: select a harbor View room, worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capg610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My family stayed here for three nights during Christmas. We truly enjoyed all the great services provided by the hotel. As we were travelling with young kids, the hotel provided all the facilities and most importantly sufficient amount of complimentary drinking water throughout our stay. We had the harbour view room which had a spectacular view especially at night during the Christmas season. The location is great and easily accessible to the MTR station (across the road) and plenty of shopping and eating places around the area. We will definitely consider coming back to this hotel for our next visit

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank JuneSYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

I can not speak highly enough of our 3 night stay over Xmas. The staff are fantastic, nothing to much trouble, and go the extra mile. For example we were advised to take a bus to another resort called Stanley (beautifully), all info for which bus etc all written down for us on map, and all correct with no stress, and spent little money on transport! We stayed in Horizon harbour view room, great breakfast, with great service, worth paying extra money for better room. Our favorite spot in the hotel is the Tapas bar, you can sit out side with lots of heaters in the evening and watch the world go by, the staff at this bar are so friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Hong Kong.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Flymebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,951 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,033 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 721 in Hong Kong
544 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £176 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing