We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

One of the best hotels in Hong Kong. Had a room on the horizon club floor, bay view, panoramic view on Hong Kong island. The service is perfecr, they look after you very well and remember your name. The limousine service from the airport is very good, wifi in the car. A good choice of restaurants and fitness centre is very good as well with pool and jacuzzi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralph6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear ralph6429, thank you for your wonderful review. We were overjoyed to receive your compliments and were honoured that you consider us as one of the best in town. It’s our pleasure to welcoming you again on your next visit. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,548
    690
    136
    36
    31
See reviews for
685
1,219
158
842
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Looking for a hotel to take my wife back to visit Hong Kong and local friends (for a special Birthday) after many years I picked this Hotel after advice from Kanoo Travel in Manchester.

From the moment we arrived until we left we felt very special The service and rooms were top class, public areas superb and even their lifts told you what day it was - changed every night at midnight - great for long distance travelers.

The bar on the upper floor was filled with great staff, had amazing views and I would stay there again anytime. 5 star in all departments, wonderful staff - even sent up herbal tea when I was unwell!

Room Tip: Book or get upgraded to the Horizon Club - really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 49ersSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear 49ersSteve, thank you for your great review. I have passed on your amazing feedback regarding our service and facilities to our colleagues and I believe this will be a great encouragement to all of us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Truly an excellent hotel, well located in the Kowloon district of Hong Kong. We received an upgrade to a suite, so we cannot comment on standard rooms. However, judging from the suite, we would surmise that standard rooms also are spacious and well appointed. The breakfast buffet is very good. Beautiful lobby. Very helpful staff. We did not use the limousine service offered by the hotel. We stayed only one night.

Room Tip: Choose harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Brendan G, thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is great that you had a fantastic stay with us. We were glad to hear that you were pleased with your suite how you were treated by our colleagues. We hope to see you again at Kowloon Shangri-La in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Exellent, friendly, and very hospitable service. Rooms are very large for Hong Kong with lots of storage for clothes. This is an especially good hotel for longer term stays. Bed was amazing and very quiet rooms made for good nights' sleep. Food and drinks very good and hotel is near many other restuarants. Easy access to harborfront for running, too. love this place and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have electronic window coverings, but either style room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Dar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Dar B, thank you for your recent stay at Kowloon Shangri-La, we were pleased that you had a wonderful time here and that you enjoyed our guest room and culinary services. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kowloon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

WOW...This was our reaction as soon as we walked through the doors. Just an incredible hotel, from the time we were collected from the airport it was pure luxury. We had booked three harbour view rooms all of which were of very high standard and worth every penny. The restaurant is beautiful and food fantastic. The location is perfect with the train station right outside (grab an Octopus card to use for the trains, they work great!). The Staff were incredible and very happy and helpful . We also booked our day tours through reception, which was very easy to do. This was our first time to HK and if we ever visit again, we would not hesitate booking the Shangri-La. Thank-you

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear travellers207, it was wonderful to hear that you had a nice first visit to Hong Kong. Thank you for your compliments regarding the guest rooms, hotel location and service. We were proud to hear that we will be your first choice for your next visit to Hong Kong, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Hotel is huge, well maintained, well serviced and the staff were found to be extermely helpful.

We upgraded on arrival to the horizon club and let me reassure readers, this is well worth the money!!!!!

We stayed in a harbour view luxury room and had no complaints whatsoever, the views are fabulous (tip; try and get allocated the higher floors to afford better views of the harbour).

Breakfast is excellent and provided a great start to the day. The nearest underground station is literally across the road from the hotel and the hotel is ideally situated for shopping. (its on th door step)

We visited victoria peak (well worth the wait for the train) and we had great weather which afforded us great views of HK itself.

Nothing else to say really except this is a really exceptional hotel with high standards, if we do return to HK I would definitely return to this hotel.

If this is your first trip to HK make sure you bring comfortable walking shoes.............I have never done so much walking in my life, but we enjoyed the experience

If anyone has any questions etc pse feel free to ask

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view luxury room on a high level if possible, the views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kass_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Kass_1, thank you very much for your amazing comments. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful first time, visiting Hong Kong and that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your positive comments are truly a great encouragement as we strive to provide the best experience for each of our guests. We would love to welcome you back to our world of hospitality on your next Hong Kong visit. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spousey and I stayed here for 4 nights en-route to Aus in Nov 13. It was our first time in HK and had booked this hotel for its waterfront setting and close proximity to the must-see sights of HK and Kowloon. We were not disappointed.

Just before I review the hotel, let me just say for 1st time visitors to HK - don't bother making any transport arrangements in advance from the airport to any major hotel as there is an extremely efficient train and shuttle transfer available for a reasonable price (much cheaper than a taxi). Directly from the airport, we boarded a fast, clean and spacious train to Kowloon (25 min transfer). At the Kowloon terminal, you can then just jump on a small, free shuttle bus which drops off at the major hotels (there are a number of routes running so you're only going to have a max of about 8 drop-offs - I assume the same applies on HK island).

So, to the hotel. It is indeed right on the waterfront, there's a busy road in front but it has pedestrian bridges every few hundred metres to get to the harbour walkway. The view from the waterside of the hotel is stunning - straight across the harbour to HK island and the lights.

As we had booked into a Horizon Club room, our check-in was on the 20th floor. We were taken directly to our room and then invited to the Club room for cocktails and aperitifs. Our room had a side-harbour view and as we were on the 21st floor, we could see the lights across the harbour but another building (approx 17 floors) obscured the full view. To be fair, we hadn't paid for a full harbour view Club room. However, the view from the Club room where you can have your complimentary drinks and canapés, has an uninterrupted view across the harbour. Beautiful. There are soft drinks and snacks available all day, and the breakfast is served in there too; the complimentary wine and cocktails are from about 6pm to 8pm. Good quality and not stingy with the drinks!

Our room was lovely, although my one slight disappointment was that the bathroom had a shower only and no bathtub. After a long flight from the UK, I was looking forward to a long soak - hey ho! Another little niggle (commonplace in many international hotels, I'm afraid) is that there was no electric plug anywhere near a mirror for drying your hair... Bedrooms designed by men, for men? There's always a shaver point in front of the bathroom mirror, isn't there? Electric plugs are 3-pin UK style by the way. There's also a printer in a drawer which was useful for on-going boarding passes.

The hotel is very convenient for a 10-min stroll down the waterfront to the Star ferries for going over to HK island, and although you can't see the nightly light show from the hotel because of a curve in the waterfront, it is only a 5-min walk to a spot where you have a good view (in front of the Intercontinental).

We didn't eat in the hotel but there are a number of little bars/restaurants on the waterside of the hotel and obviously, hundreds more on the city side.

Why didn't I give this hotel 5 stars? One thing I mentioned - no bathtub, and the other was no outside space. What I mean is, when you've had a hard day slogging round the sights but it's still a lovely afternoon, there is nowhere to sit outside, on a lounger maybe. There is only the hotel's ground floor cocktail bar, next to the busy road. There is a pool but it's a tiny one indoors and none of the rooms or the Club room have outdoor balconies.

Other than these very small gripes, I would definitely recommend the Shangri-La.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMandyinLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear MissMandyinLeeds, thank you for choosing the Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel for your recent visit and for your positive comments regarding your experience in our Horizon Club Lounge. We do offer a choice of either a bathtub or a shower room in our guest rooms and our Harbour View rooms do have both. Please let us know your preference when you next visit us. In addition, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us regarding in-room facilities and will certainly take that into consideration when we refresh the hotel. Please rest assured that we will always do our utmost in providing you the best experience. We welcome your constructive comments and we will continue to strive for excellence. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,171 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing