We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a property!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow, what a property!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel during Chinese New Year. The hotel was exceptionally busy but they had lots of staff and the service was exceptional. So exceptional that we cancelled a 5 star nearby hotel to be able tostay here again on our return through Hong Kong.
I definitely recommend a Horizon Club Room. The added value is excellent with a stress free check in as you are whisked up to the 20th floor. Your luggage disappears to reappear in your room when you get up there. A pot of green tea is waiting your room along with excellent amenities. Top of the line shampoos and lotions with rain head showers. Also a nice size room for Asian standards.
The best part of Horizon club is the 21st floor private restaurant. Breakfast is served from 6 30 - 1030 in the morning with a small alacarte menu or a buffet brunch. The views are amazing but if you want a larger breakfast you can go to Cafe Kool which is also included in the price. Every evening from 6 - 8 30 pm they offer alcoholic beverages (everything you can imagine) and hors doeuvres. A very international mix of items from sushi to soup.
We had also asked for airport shuttle both directions and were greeted both directions by uniformed staff and whisked into waiting limousines, holding fresh towels and free use of their wireless ipads. The limo drivers were extremely knowledgeable about the city events and gave us great tips on watching the parade and fireworks.
We were sad to leave the hotel and the bell boys all stood and waved to us when we left. Just to clarify , we are not VIP's. They were treating everyone this way.
North American hotels can certainly take a page out of Shangri la's book as it was honestly an exceptional hotel. Trust me as I was a travel agent for 25 years.
Thanks again Shangri La - we'll see you next time!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank shelbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear shelbear, thank you for sharing this gracious feedback on Kowloon Shangri-La, we appreciate your compliments in regards to our Horizon Club room and Lounges. We were also glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our limousines service.

We were honoured and proud to learn that you had an exceptional time with us. It was truly an encouragement for us to go the extra mile in ensuring a great experience for each of our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,586
    695
    137
    38
    31
See reviews for
694
1,239
160
853
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was first visit back to Hong Kong after many years and I decided to stay in Kowloon this time rather than the island. I have stayed with Shangri-La Hotels before and picked this one for the great views (if you choose a Harbour Room) of the Harbour over looking Hong Kong Island. I was not disappointed and the staff in the hotel were very friendly. Great location for the Metro and the Star Ferry is just along the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotland007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear scotland007, thank you for staying with us. We were delighted to know that you had a fantastic time with us. Thank you for your nice comments regarding our harbour view, location and service. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Have stayed in several ShangriLa but must admit this one was a bit dissapointing although always at high standards. By all means, clean rooms, polite and efficient staff (my child was ill and I was taken to a nearby doctor very quickly) but somehow the quiet and homely atmosphere most other ShangriLas offer was simply not there... freezing cold restaurant (freezing also for Chinese standards) and loud crowded at all times entrance/hall are quite an impact probably disappoiting from start: SPA and pool (not much bigger than a tub) are not Shagri La standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear sgsara, thank you for sharing your comments and observations. I am most concerned to hear about your unpleasant experience in the restaurants and Health Club. You can rest assured that we have shared your feedback with our team. Your constructive criticism is very much appreciated as we strive for continuous improvement. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
1,397 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Shangri-la is one of the better luxury hotels that I stayed in recent times. My stay here was smooth and enjoyable. Spent three nights here in the Club floor that opened up access to multiple privileges like all day use of club lounge with free drinks and snacks, happy hours and canapés between 6-8 PM at the exclusive Horizon lounge etc. The rooms were spacious and luxurious and met my expectation in most departments. There were a few housekeeping issues, but nothing to change my overall perception of the Shangri-la as a lovely property to stay in. They change the carpet (announcing the day) in the Elevators every day – see picture. This place houses numerous restaurants, I tried the Tapas bar and kept trying the Michelin star Chang Palace everyday but could not find a table ! If you pick a room with an ocean view you will be richly rewarded, but it comes at a stiff price. Breakfast lacks imagination and its the same thing everyday. I was rather surprised by the lack of variety for a hotel of this standard. Special mention – Charlie of Concierge was warm and helpful in all the arrangements he made for me to make my stay pleasurable !

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms ofcourse ! If you are prepared to pay that extra bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SagarVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear SagarVS, thank you for your wonderful review. We were glad to hear that you were impressed with our Horizon Club Lounges and the guest room. Thanks for your interest in our Michelin-starred Shang Palace. We hope you could enjoy exquisite creations by Chef Mok next time and you are most welcome to reserve a table online through our hotel website or contact us prior to your visit for any assistance. In addition, we value your opinions regarding our breakfast and will definitely share them with our team for continuous improvement. Last but not least, thank you for your favourable comments on Charlie. Our colleagues are all well trained and your appreciation towards our services is a great encouragement to all of us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel is Central to all of Hong Kong with beautiful views of the harbor and Hong Kong Island. Everything is within walking distance to museums, galleries and wonderful shopping. Excellent restaurants within 10 minutes in every direction. Metro across the street to downtown Hong Kong or up Kowloon to the markets. Rooms are very efficient with space (like all of Hong Kong) so storage is a little lite for a weeks stay. Service is friendly and excellent. Only complaint is they need larger ice buckets.

Room Tip: The higher up and Harbor view the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear WCEverett, it was pleasing to read your praises about our friendly service, guest room and convenient location. Kindly let us know of your next visit, your room butler will be happy to provide extra ice cubes or ice bucket. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This should have been good, sadly it was average. We booked a horizon harbour view room to really enjoy our first visit to HK. After much research on TA, we booked this hotel from the hundreds on offer. Having flown in from LHR, we were tired and arrived at the hotel an hour after check-in opened to be told that our room was not ready as it was the "Chinese New Year". We knew that as we had paid extra on the room rate. We were tired & wanted to get into our room but we couldn't. They offered us chocolates....wine....! but not our room, so we waited. They did finally get us our room after a wait but it kind of set the tone for the stay. The room was fine and the Horizon club was good for breakfast & and evening drinks/canapés. The Horizon lounge was spoilt by guests eating the snacks like a main meal, consuming almost everything in sight and then some more. It got chaotic down in reception at times and we had a couple of average but pricey meals in the hotel restaurants. Yes, it is well placed but, in reality, it is nothing special. Just another chain hotel but charging premium rates. We should have stayed at the Hotel Icon just down the road. Most of the staff were friendly enough but you can't stay at a hotel just for that. The room was fine but the hotel was looking tired in places. One good thing, the view over the harbour to the island was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terryb0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear terryb0607, Thank you for staying at Kowloon Shangri-La and for your compliments on the hotel location, guest room and harbor views. I was very much concerned to hear about the areas where we fell short of your expectations and that your room was not immediately available upon your arrival. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Location is good. Service is good. staff are very nice and helpful, especially Sonia Pang and her team. She gave us flowers upon check in and escorted us to the room and suggested the places to go in Hong Kong. She is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Fak A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Fak A, thank you for your wonderful feedback on your “unforgettable stay” at Kowloon Shangri-La. We were delighted to hear that Sonia and her team had made a good impression on you in particular. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,627 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,285 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing