We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful way to forget our Lost Horizons at Shangri La”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a 2 night stay in this hotel on our Honeymoon in room 1619 , a beautiful room with beautiful views of the harbor although the weather in march tried to spoil this for us .
After an effortless check in , we literally had to warn off the amount of staff wanting to help us to our room with our luggage , but with new family members in tow we were used to opening our own doors to the wonderful experience of opening the door to our room .

Within a few moments we had complimentary jasmine tea delivered to our room , beautifully presented and enjoyed and wonderful dragon fruit was also in room enhancing the welcome.
We then planned our evening in the dimly lit Lobby lounge which had Tapas food on offer , the service was warm and friendly , the drinks list was exciting and the live singing group added the romantic flavor that we had so hoped to end our 10 day stay in Hong Kong . Alas after ordering a Tapas dish consisting of chorizo sausage and cherry tomato , things were to take a turn for the worst .
After only two drinks each and eating our fill we made our way back to our room , by 7am the next morning my wife was vomiting non stop , I had mild stomach pain not to that extent but my wife had eaten most of the chorizo as it is a favorite . By 10 am my wife's mother sister and brother in law had arrived as per a family yum cha we had planned , to find my wife spontaneously vomiting and diarrhea , they are all Cantonese speaking and wanted to take my wife to private hospital . By this time it was time for new husband to act as i really felt the hotel had a part to play in this . I rang reception twice as they could not locate the duty manager , within a few minutes however he called the room , i advised him the situation and offered him feedback that they may have some risky chorizo in the house , and was a doctor present in the hotel . There was not , but apparently next door there was a clinic , we went to the downstairs foyer where we asked a bellboy who was prompted to take us to the clinic . He came all the way with us to the clinic before returning which impressed , my wife was given gastrostop and buscopan and anti nausea tablets .Once back to our room , some complimentary chamomile tea arrived shortly followed by a call from the food and beverage manager Freddie Chung , he offered his concerns for my wife and would conduct an investigation into our food order .He was to call 2 other times later in the evening to offer a gentle congee for my wife , but she was asleep by then . He again called the following morning and advised he would see us on check out , indeed he did while i fixed the bill , my wife was still dry reaching in the toilet . so he did not get to see her firsthand until we came back to get our luggage . Freddie presented us with a box of high end chocolates as an offering and saw my wife for the first time , he also offered further contact once the results from the kitchen were in . At every point that there was an opportunity for the Hotel to offer help without presenting as liable they did so , Freddie was most impressive and deserves praise . However it has to be said that mild food poisoning was not what we had in mind for our stay at the Kowloon Shangri La , perhaps this is subjective as i ate in there cafe the following night and the food was fine . So my wife is better now and eating properly after 4 days back here in Australia , as for Shangri La we almost found it !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank founder67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear founder67, thank you for sharing your positive feedback on tripadvisor. I am however most concerned to learn that your wife had fallen sick during your stay here, and I hope she is doing a lot better now. Please rest assured that safety and well-being of our guests and colleagues are always amongst our top priorities. We are doing utmost to uphold our stringent hygiene standards that are monitored internally and externally through audits of ISO22000, HACCP and our very own Shangri-La Food Safety Management System. Please be assured that the investigation of this suspected food borne illness case has our undivided attention, and we are conducting lab tests to find out the root cause of the problem. We will definitely inform you of the test results as soon as they are available. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. We also appreciate your positive comments about how Freddy handled the case. We are glad that you were pleased with his follow-ups. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,815 - 1,821 of 3,707 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

this is a convenient hotel with great service and convenient location, personal and attentive service, great to walk the city, close to metro, good food in and around, signature shangri-la experience! I would stay here again and again I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carli2sway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear carli2sway, thank you for your compliments on our service and location. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to friends and family. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Amazing hotel and would give 6 stars if possible. We were on the 15th floor with a Harbor View and would recommend upgrading to a view. The rooms were well appointed and very large for Hong Kong standards. Loved the bathroom with tub and stand alone shower. We had fresh fruit every morning and liked that they had an electronic tea pot and tea for us. The staff was great, friendly and always greeted us with a smile. The turn down service was a nice touch too.
The breakfast buffet was great and will go as far to say it's is the best I have every had. The amount of choices they had was wonderful and loved trying plenty of different foods from around the globe. We also had 2 dinners at the hotel and were never disappointed. Spent a little time in the bar and enjoyed the drink selection and martinis.
The gym was aboveaverage. Small but had enough equipment to do what we needed to do. Some free weights and cardio equipment.
Location was great and steps from the MTR and the staff was always there helping you get a taxi if need be. They also give you a ticket when you get in the cab with the cab number/license plate in case anything gets left behind or happens along the ride. They were always looking out for us we felt like and felt very safe at the hotel and all of Hong Kong.
Overall, very highly recommended and will not look at another place when I return to HK.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a view, you will not be disappointed. It was wonderful waking up to the view and going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Jason G, thank you for your amazing review. We are thrilled that Kowloon Shangri-La is now the only place you will stay at when you visit Hong Kong. Thank you for your compliments in regard to our guest rooms, harbour view, gym, location and service. In addition, we are delighted to know that you rated our breakfast experience the best you have ever had and you enjoyed our restaurants and bar as well. Once again, thank you for your tremendous support. Your positive feedback is a great encouragement to us all. We look forward to welcoming you home. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

What can I say, a fantastic experience. We stayed here the night before we cruised and we were celebrating our second anniversary. They met me with a bouquet of flowers - how fab.
Staff couldn't do enough and service was world class. The breakfast was superb with a vast array of wonderful foods.
I hope I get the chance to visit this hotel again one day.
Thank You for a truly great experience, we couldn't have had a better start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view, its worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Marie L, thank you for your positive review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a fantastic anniversary celebration with us. Thank you also for your nice comments in regard to our service and breakfast experience. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to celebrating many more years of love and happy occasions. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week here and what an amazing hotel. They are super attentive, the room was fabulous and always super clean when returning from the days activities. All of the staff in the hotel from the bellboys to the restaurant staff went out of their way to make us feel overly welcome. Food was great with many in-hotel choices. The welcoming girls even had a bday cake waiting one evening on my wife's bday and I didn't even tell them. All in all I would strongly recommend this hotel to EVERYONE!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MasterShreddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear MasterShreddr, thank you for the wonderful review on Kowloon Shangri-La. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you were happy with the birthday surprise we prepared. Your compliments on our service are a great motivation to all of us, as we put a lot of focus on providing outstanding experience to our guests. Thank you also for your positive comments on our hotel room and gourmets. We hope to welcome you back to our world of hospitality soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Sometimes minor things have a big influence. This was the case when we stayed one night at Kowloon Shangri-La before continuing our trip in Asia.

The hotel was very crowded this time. Checking-in was quick and efficient though.

Our room itself was as good as last time but this time they did not provide either complimentary water or turndown service. That is a big minus in a hotel like that. I'm not willing to pay HKD 85 for a bottle of Evian water and tap water tastes very bad.

Next time we look for those missing things in another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear TravelManiaxxx, thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that you did not find your last stay as enjoyable as your previous ones. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in service you encountered. As a standard feature, complimentary drinking water is provided in every room, so it must be an oversight on our part if you didn’t find it in your room. We take serious note of this incident and will do everything possible to prevent recurrence. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and to provide you with the high level of service you deserved. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I was in Hong Kong on Business in October 2013 and booked myself and colleague into the Shangrila Hong kong
What a great stay and the service was absolutely outstanding, nothing was too much effort. The Hotel is situated along the sea and the views to the city are amazing - make sure you try the restaurant in the hotel food and drink awesome.
Great stay

Room Tip: Definitely Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Jason P, thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments regarding our service, views and restaurants. We are pleased that you had a great time and we all look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,129 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,647 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,146 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
842 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £189 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelbag, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing