We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Shangri-la. Every think was perfect. The walkway bridge to the promenade is very convenient. Only downside is Cafe Kool, a bit like a canteen.the Chinese restaurant was excellent, great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank SunflowerTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear SunflowerTaiwan, thank you for staying with us and we are thrilled that you rated Shang Palace excellent and everything perfect. Thank you for your comments regarding Café Kool. With six open kitchens and a relatively larger seating capacity than our other restaurants, Café Kool can be seen as a hive of activities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,805 - 1,811 of 3,762 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is absolutely a 5 star experience at a decent price. The location cant be beat. The rooms are spacious, the bedding and mattress are wonderful and the view is superb. They great you with a welocme basket of tea and fruit and cant be more gracious. Gorgoeus experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank sjoantwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Sjoantwe, thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you had a great time at Kowloon Shangri-La. We appreciate your nice comments on our hotel location, guest rooms and view. We hope to welcome you back to our world of hospitality soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Shangri-La is a place I have stay several times over my 20 years for visiting Hong Kong and I have never been disappointed. From the moment you check-in you feel like a king, top level of service, a place they remember your name whether you stay for a day or a week. I recommend it for both pleasure and business, centrally located in the Kowloon center you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrynoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Barrynoah, thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. It is indeed a great encouragement to know that you rated our service top level over the years, as we always strive to provide excellent service to our guests every time. Thank you also for your positive comments on our hotel location. It is always a pleasure taking care of you and we look forward to your many happy return visits soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I usually stay in the Renaissance on Hong Kong island but because it was fully booked I decided to try the Shangri-La. I was very impressed with my entire experience and I would recommend for both business and pleasure. From a business perspective the hotel offered everything that you might need. A fine big desk in the the room as well as a great business centre. Although not on HK island it is still a very good location and with the Star Ferry within a short stroll getting to the island could not be easier. The rooms are very well appointed, the hotel restaurants are great, the breakfast buffet is top notch and the tapas bar is a great place to unwind and watch the world go by. Definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smccor_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear smccor_2007, thank you for your positive comments and recommendation. We are pleased that you were impressed with your entire experience at Kowloon Shangri-La. We appreciate your compliments on our guest room, business centre, hotel location, our restaurants and Tapas Bar. We look forward to your many happy return visits in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I have been a regular guest and visitor to Shangri-la for almost a year now. I have all my meeting, lunch and dinner appointments on a daily basis at Shangri-La.

The one main reason for me, my associates and friends love to be at Shangri-la on a daily basis is due to the extraordinary courtesy and services provided by the staff of the Lobby lounge.
Especially Ms. Allen Leung, Ms. Moon, Ms. Phobe are amazingly warm, attentive and make everything seem so perfect for everyone. It would be a great disappointment and an unwelcome move if anyone of them is shifted or moved to other departments or assignments, not only to me but to all my friends and associates who visit Shangri-la on a daily basis and to my many friends who have been recommended by me to stay in Shangri-la.
I sincerely hope that the management heeds to my request and let them be in the current assignments where they are at their best.
We as faithful patrons of Shangri-la Kowloon will be pleased to be associated with your hotel for many years to come if you will honor our request.
Regards,
Ebby Newman
Executive Director
Eastern Eagle Ltd.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank ebbynewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Mr. Newman, it is with great appreciation to thank you for your continued support and friendship over the past year. We are delighted to learn that all of our colleagues have gained your loyalty and appreciation through the many engaging encounters and services. May I offer you to contact us directly at (852) 27212111, if we can be of any further assistance with reference to your additional comment. Best regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I don't want to duplicate any of the accolades from previous posters and I do agree with all of the positives mentioned in those reviews.

We stayed for two nights February 20 to February 22, 2014 prior to our Oceania cruise and found everything about this hotel to be as near perfect as humanly possible.

One of the nicest touches after a 16 hour plane ride was finding a tea basket in our lovely room. The basket had a colorful tea pot and matching cups inside the insulated liner and the tea in the pot was warm and ready to drink prior to retiring. (And the fruit basket was nice as well.)

We are not avid tea drinkers, but we drank as much tea as they brought for us and enjoyed every drop. Does anyone know either the brand, flavor, or type of tea that they bring to the nightstand in the room? I would like to try to get some for our enjoyment here at home even if we have to have it imported. I have tried to contact the hotel directly via email, but the email does not seem to go through for 'stay experience' and I didn't think it would be appropriate to contact 'reservations' with my question.

If we are back in Hong Kong again, we will be staying at this hotel for sure and I will not neglect to get the name of the tea next time.

Room Tip: We did not have a water view, but the city view was lovely at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear bmc1965, thank you for your wonderful review. We serve Jasmine tea in every guest room as a gesture of welcome. We are glad that you enjoyed the tea so much that you would like to get some home. You may contact THE SHOP at KSLshop@shangri-la.com to place order and make delivery arrangement. Thanks again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We spend a week at the Shangri-La in Kowloon two weeks ago and we'd go back in a heartbeat. We booked two Horizon Club rooms and were picked up from- and dropped off at the airport. Check-in was a little hectic because it was a busy day and we weren't aware that we could check in on the 20th floor so we waited to check in at the reception downstairs for a while until a helpful employee highlighted that we could check in on the 20th floor and kindly led the way. Breakfast and lunch in Cafe Kool was great with a large selection of food. The hotel is right next to the Tsim Ssa Tsui Promenade and, more importantly, the MTR station, which provided easy access to other parts of HK. The Horizon Club was nice but can be improved, the best thing about it was the ambiance and the view in the evening. Our rooms, located on the 21st floor, were comfortable and spacious. The laundry service offered was fast and efficient. Overall we had a great stay at the Kowloon Shangri-La.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chark1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Chark1024, thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had a great stay and we appreciate your positive comments on Café Kool, hotel location, Horizon Club, guest rooms and laundry service. We will continue to strive for improvement and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,235 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,707 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,032 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £169 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing