We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT OASIS IN HECTIC HK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“PLEASANT OASIS IN HECTIC HK”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I spent 11 nights here at the end of March and beginning of April 2014. The first week was business and, in the second, I was joined by wife and 13 year old daughter. The whole experience from check-in to departure was positive in every respect. The room was a delux harbour view on the 15th floor and was beautifully appointed with a large airy bathroom, super size business desk, very comfy bed and of course breathtaking views across Victoria Harbour to HK Island. The breakfast at Cafe Kool was superb offering a huge array of oriental and Western options. Likewise, the buffet dinner there was very good albeit fairly pricey. As is typical of the Shangri-La group, the service is exemplary. Response times for every request (eg more hangers in room, laundry collection, additional towels etc) were super quick and the service was always delivered with a smile. I usually stay on HK island for convenience purposes as that is where I tend to have most of my business meetings. However, as other reviewers have noted, the MTR is right outside the hotel and you can be at Admiralty in 10 mins and Central in 15. I and my family found the travel easy and no inconvenience at all. Moreover, coming back to the Kowloon Shangri-La which, with the Tsim Tsa Tsui promenade adjacent to it, makes for a very pleasant oasis in a hectic and vibrant city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Davsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Davsam, thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that your experience with us is all positive and we appreciate your nice comments on our guest room, harbour view, Café Kool and hotel location. It’s also very encouraging to hear your compliments on our colleagues as we put a lot of focus in providing excellent service to every guest. We all look forward to welcoming you back to your pleasant oasis next time. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,590
    695
    137
    38
    31
See reviews for
694
1,242
160
854
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Brilliant service from check in to the beautiful room and toliet. This hotel is real diamond in a city bustling with great hotels. Its service is polite and always spot on, people actually smile ! The rooms are like brand new, and i have stayed here for a quite a few years. Love the days of the week in the elevator. Great hotel and brilliant team !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Ashvin M, thank you for your kind support. We appreciate your compliments on our service and guest rooms and we certainly look forward to your many happy return visits soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a great stay at the Shangri-la. Every think was perfect. The walkway bridge to the promenade is very convenient. Only downside is Cafe Kool, a bit like a canteen.the Chinese restaurant was excellent, great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank SunflowerTaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear SunflowerTaiwan, thank you for staying with us and we are thrilled that you rated Shang Palace excellent and everything perfect. Thank you for your comments regarding Café Kool. With six open kitchens and a relatively larger seating capacity than our other restaurants, Café Kool can be seen as a hive of activities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is absolutely a 5 star experience at a decent price. The location cant be beat. The rooms are spacious, the bedding and mattress are wonderful and the view is superb. They great you with a welocme basket of tea and fruit and cant be more gracious. Gorgoeus experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank sjoantwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Sjoantwe, thank you for your positive review and we are glad that you had a great time at Kowloon Shangri-La. We appreciate your nice comments on our hotel location, guest rooms and view. We hope to welcome you back to our world of hospitality soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Shangri-La is a place I have stay several times over my 20 years for visiting Hong Kong and I have never been disappointed. From the moment you check-in you feel like a king, top level of service, a place they remember your name whether you stay for a day or a week. I recommend it for both pleasure and business, centrally located in the Kowloon center you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrynoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Barrynoah, thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. It is indeed a great encouragement to know that you rated our service top level over the years, as we always strive to provide excellent service to our guests every time. Thank you also for your positive comments on our hotel location. It is always a pleasure taking care of you and we look forward to your many happy return visits soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I usually stay in the Renaissance on Hong Kong island but because it was fully booked I decided to try the Shangri-La. I was very impressed with my entire experience and I would recommend for both business and pleasure. From a business perspective the hotel offered everything that you might need. A fine big desk in the the room as well as a great business centre. Although not on HK island it is still a very good location and with the Star Ferry within a short stroll getting to the island could not be easier. The rooms are very well appointed, the hotel restaurants are great, the breakfast buffet is top notch and the tapas bar is a great place to unwind and watch the world go by. Definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smccor_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear smccor_2007, thank you for your positive comments and recommendation. We are pleased that you were impressed with your entire experience at Kowloon Shangri-La. We appreciate your compliments on our guest room, business centre, hotel location, our restaurants and Tapas Bar. We look forward to your many happy return visits in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I have been a regular guest and visitor to Shangri-la for almost a year now. I have all my meeting, lunch and dinner appointments on a daily basis at Shangri-La.

The one main reason for me, my associates and friends love to be at Shangri-la on a daily basis is due to the extraordinary courtesy and services provided by the staff of the Lobby lounge.
Especially Ms. Allen Leung, Ms. Moon, Ms. Phobe are amazingly warm, attentive and make everything seem so perfect for everyone. It would be a great disappointment and an unwelcome move if anyone of them is shifted or moved to other departments or assignments, not only to me but to all my friends and associates who visit Shangri-la on a daily basis and to my many friends who have been recommended by me to stay in Shangri-la.
I sincerely hope that the management heeds to my request and let them be in the current assignments where they are at their best.
We as faithful patrons of Shangri-la Kowloon will be pleased to be associated with your hotel for many years to come if you will honor our request.
Regards,
Ebby Newman
Executive Director
Eastern Eagle Ltd.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ebbynewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Newman, it is with great appreciation to thank you for your continued support and friendship over the past year. We are delighted to learn that all of our colleagues have gained your loyalty and appreciation through the many engaging encounters and services. May I offer you to contact us directly at (852) 27212111, if we can be of any further assistance with reference to your additional comment. Best regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,641 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,570 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,307 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing