We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just come back from a 5 night stay at the fabulous Kowloon Shangri-La. The hotel is in a great location right on the harbour front a few minutes walk to the Star Ferry, MTR and Nathan road and its surrounding areas. The service from all staff is just fantastic. We were quickly checked in to our harbour view room (but not horizon club), the room is large and has all the amenities you could ask for I especially loved the electric sheers and curtains (must install them in my house!), we had a great view of the harbour towards HK Island even though we were only on the 7th floor.

As i say the service and hospitality really is top notch as soon as we arrived in the room we received complimentary Tea and fresh fruit, i also had a surprise birthday cake and card which was delicious! (the cake not the card!). When we first arrived in the room our basin wasn't working properly a quick call and within 5 minutes a plumber was sent up and it was fixed. During our stay I had some samples sent to me by my suppliers in China and each time the staff at the shangri-la promptly called me to tell me that a package had arrived for me and if i wanted it sent up to my room. Equally I had the opportunity to use the business centre as i needed to send some items to China, I left it with the receptionist at the business center to arrange for the courier to collect and went out for the rest of the day later that day when i returned to my room I found a note under the door letting me know that the courier had picked up the parcel. Equally we did some shopping in town and had the shop drop it off to the hotel as we carried on sight seeing for the rest of the day again when we returned we found that our shopping had already been delivered to our room.

We ate breakfast at Cafe / Deli Kool and have to say it is probably the best breakfast i have encountered of any four or five star hotels. There is excellent selection of Chinese Indian and English / American breakfast foods plus all the fruit juices you can think of (if they don´t have it ready just tell them what you want and they will squeeze it fresh for you). Needless to say we ate enough not to require lunch! We also ate dinner here a couple of night and that was good too.

We used the red Taxis to get from the airport and back but next time i will try the hotel limo service which i have heard is great. I do not really know what the difference is between the Horizon Club room and the normal harbour view room that we had but really we couldn't have asked for anymore and were quite happy with the room and service we received. We were sad to be leaving after 5 nights we could quite easily have stayed a little longer. The only negative with the whole experience was that sometimes the air con was a little too cold in the Cafe Kool. We look forward to returning to the Shangri-La the next time we are in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: If you can afford it definitely go for the harbour view room, that view is priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverstar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Silverstar68, thank you for your wonderful review. Happy birthday again and we are pleased that you enjoyed our birthday surprise. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel location, guest room, harbour view, Business Centre and service. It’s also encouraging to hear that you rated breakfast at Café Kool the best and that you also enjoyed dinners there. Your feedback regarding air conditioning at Café Kool is well noted and we have shared that with our restaurant manager and engineering department. ‘’A home away from home’’, our Horizon Club offers an elevated level of personalised service and exclusive benefits. Please visit our hotel website for details. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 3,709 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is truly a magnificent hotel. The location is right on the Harbor with excellent views of Hong Kong island.
We arrived at the hotel via the airport express to Kowloon which is excellent, however the subsequent ride in the shuttle bus from the station to the hotel was a nightmare with the bus driven in a most uncomfortable dangerous manner.( I must make clear that this shuttle bus was nothing to do with the hotel)
Our return to the airport was in one of the hotels limos. It cost 880 HKD and was well worth it. The Limo was beautifully clean, well driven by a most pleasant and polite gentleman who gave us some interesting information about various places we passed on the journey. We were also given drinks and a cool towel to make the journey more comfortable. In future we will use this service both ways and can certainly recommend it to others.
So upon arrival we entered the magnificent lobby and was met by a lady who took us up to the 20th floor where the Horizon Club check in is located.
We were quickly allocated and escorted to our Horizon Club Harbor View room on the 19th floor and all the benefits of the Horizon Club was explained. Our luggage arrived a couple of minutes later.
The room was very large for Hong Kong. The view from the room was fantastic although you do not get a full view of the light show as some buildings along the road cause a partial obstruction. However the view is still stunning.
Comfortable King bed. Nice bathroom, good furnishings and generally very very nice.
The Horizon Lounge is excellent. A very good breakfast is included with a wide choice of hot or cold dishes. The hot breakfast in the lounge is cooked freshly to your requirements.
Snacks and drinks are available all day, All the staff addressed you by name and were extremely polite and efficient. All the staff we met throughout the hotel were fantastic.
We only ate dinner in the hotel once. In the Shang Palace. The surroundings were very nice and the staff extremely helpful. Sadly we were not to impressed with the food which was a real shame.
The location of the hotel was perfect with only a short stroll to the Avenue of the Stars and the Star Ferry terminal. There are lots of shops and places to eat nearby and your not far from Nathan Road.
Have been to Kowloon Several times but this was the first stay in this high quality hotel. We will make this our first choice in the future and can thoroughly recommend it to others.



TIP. Do not take American Express USD Travellers cheques to Hong Kong as NO ONE ANYWHERE will cash them.

Room Tip: Harbor view room is a must. Preferably a Horizon Club Harbor View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyingDutchman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear FlyingDutchman83, thank you for your positive review, your recommendation and compliments on our hotel location, limousine service, guest room, Horizon Club Lounge and our service in general. We are thrilled that you consider us to be your first choice in the future, and we are also happy to hear that you were impressed with the service and surroundings of Shang Palace. We hope you will find our array of Chinese delicacies at Shang Palace delightful on your next visit, and we all look forward to your many happy returns soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Shangri-la Kowloon in Hong Kong is a superior 5-star hotel with a wonderful view of the waterway. The rooms are spacious and very beautiful. I would recommend this hotel for your next stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stugoll2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear stugoll2014, thank you for your recommendation and your compliments on our guest room and harbour view. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years Eve. Loved the lounge. A bit small or cramped but I still loved it. Good food and nice view of the Harbour. The rooms are average though. Our first prize was a room with a Harbour View. Unfortunately, the rooms were taken. So we managed to get a partial view. Kind of disappointing. You pay a premium for it but you get a bigger view of buildings across rather than the Harbour. So my advice is - either a room with a full Harbour view or just a basic room. The hotel is close to shopping centres like K11. I like the Kowloon side. More vibrant and better night life. Nice Starbucks right across the road. MRT is located a few hundred meters underneath but budget about 10 to 15 mins of walking because it's quite big and it's a long stretch. To get to watch the Symphony of Lights you need to walk for about 10 mins too. Difficult to get that view from the hotel. If you love cofffes, teas and pastries, then go to the ground floor. Lovely variety. I liked the tapas by the bar.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear kkn889, thank you for choosing Kowloon Shangri-La and for your positive comments on our Horizon Club Lounge, hotel location, Tapas Bar and Lobby Lounge. Our guest rooms of different room categories afford different views but all are aptly appointed with facilities and amenities to meet various guest needs. We appreciate that you prefer our harbour view room category for your future visits, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very helpful staff. Wonderful stay lovely views over the harbour well worth the upgrade of room for the views. Hong Kong was well worth a visit and has surprising sights on both the Hong Kong island as this is linked to a beach resort ie Stanley and Kowloon with its many markets. Taxies and public transport is very cheap and everything is in English as well as Chinese. I was surprised as to how reasonably priced eating in restaurants and street food was

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Gill G, thank you for your nice comments on our colleagues and the harbour view. We all look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for several nights in April, 2014. It is located in Tsim Sha Tsui East section of Kowloon which is fairly handy for visiting the surrounding districts. We took a taxi ride from the airport to the hotel which cost us HK$260. We needed to change some money for Hong Kong dollars at the airport but there was only one company exchanging money and at almost 10% below the going rate. Avoid changing money at the airport, instead, when in Kowloon, go to the end of Mody Road to Nathan Street and to Chungking Mansion next to the Holiday Inn Hotel. There are many money changers there and the rates are far better.
Our double air-conditioned bed room was large with safe, slippers, writing desk, iron and ironing board, alarm clock, tea and coffee making facility, free WiFi together with complimentary bottles of water and for the first night only a jug of green tea and some fruits. The room was clean and comfortable with nothing lacking.
The bathroom was very spacious and clean with makeup mirror and hairdryer, although the quality of the amenities, these days, is not was it used to be.
The pool and jacuzzi area were small and tended to become crowded with a fairly small number of people using them. These facilities were closed after 10 pm. The gym was larger and open to guests 24 hours a day.
We found the buffet breakfast to be pricy, very good but not excellent. Buffet dinners were expensive particularly for someone not keen on sea food as the rest of stuff were ordinary. Hong Kong food and restaurants seemed fairly expensive.
Hotel staff are polite, helpful and professional. We would use this hotel again without hesitation.

Room Tip: They should all be very good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahvazi028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear ahvazi028, thank you for your compliments regarding our hotel location, guest room and service. We also appreciate your comments on our bathroom amenities, swimming pool, jacuzzi as well as buffet breakfast and dinner as we continue to strive for improvements and service excellence in all areas. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Only stayed for 3 nights, but would have loved to have stayed longer! All the staff we spoke to were friendly, courteous and genuinely willing to be helpful. Wonderful mixture of comfort, quality and service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank GeeBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear GeeBum, thank you for your nice comments regarding our colleagues. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,131 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,648 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,147 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
846 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £190 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing