We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Shangri-La is a really special place in Hong Kong. From the extensive breakfast buffet, to the extremely spacious and well appointed rooms to the total focus of the staff on making guest stays a wonderful experience, it ticks all the boxes.
The views over the harbour,busy during the day & very colourful at night, are a real Hong Kong experience.
The hotel is well located, with an MTR (underground) station minutes walk away. This makes getting around busy Hong Kong extremly easy. It also makes getting around more comfortable in the hotter weather

Room Tip: The extra cost for a harbour view room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sean086, we are delighted that you consider Kowloon Shangri-La a very special place in Hong Kong. Thank you for your compliments on our hotel location, harbour view, guest rooms, breakfast experience and colleagues. It gives us pleasure to welcome you back on your future visits. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,444
    671
    131
    35
    31
See reviews for
654
1,173
150
817
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What a hotel. We walked into the hotel and the amazing service started immediately. We were greeted at the door by a fantastic concierge who took us through the entire book in process all the while keeping my 3 excited kids involved. We went up to the room and were blown away. This is nothing short of Luxury. Everything was thought of. Jasmine Tea in the most beautiful of tea pots waiting for us. Bathrobes and slippers included for the kids made them feel extra special. Breakfast was everything you could want. If they didn't have it, they made it for you. Alexander, one of the wait staff was fantastic and was always making suggestions as to where to go. Even down to telling us where the best place to get 'Lego" was. (who knows that stuff :)). The pastry chef knew I loved the strawberries and blueberries and would bring me a freshly prepared bowl when I sat down. Nothing was a problem, I could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Premier Suite is the goods. Book at least one month in Advance to get a substancial discount. The Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Rod C, thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Kowloon Shangri-La. Your compliments on our colleagues, hotel service, breakfast experience and guest rooms are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our world of hospitality. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay as part of the Golden Circle package. We didn't really stay long in the hotel. We mainly used it as a room to sleep in and a place to keep our bags. Kind of a waste for Shangri-La since they have a lot of amenities we could've enjoyed.

However, as always, rooms are exceptional. The room and bathroom was clean, with complete amenities. When we arrived from our quick trip to Macau, there was hot tea served and ready in our room.

The location is perfect. The East Tsim Sha Tsui train station is right in front of the hotel. Lots of stores and restaurants around the hotel. The airport shuttle also passes along the Shangri-La entrance.

One thing I noticed is that some of the staff aren't as accomodating as the other Shangri-La hotels I've been to. Maybe because this was the first overseas Shangri-La hotel I've been to, and I've been used to the warm greetings of the local staff. However, the Kowloon staff was still nice and it was only slight difference. Some of the other staff at the hotel, particularly the bell boy who kept our bags before our departure (I wasn't able to get his name), was very nice to us. :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank alexispaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Aipee, thank you for your encouraging review. We are glad to hear your positive comments on our location, guest rooms and colleagues. However, we regret for our colleagues not being equally accommodating as colleagues of our sister hotels. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our world of hospitality, and hope you will have even more enjoyable stays with us. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Campo, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel was top notch, and location was perfect. Short walk to shopping on Nathan Street. Nightlife was fun and close by. Breakfast buffet was amazing. Bed was very comfortable. Had a rain shower in our bathroom. It was so amazing, I want to get one for my home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikej593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mike J, thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel location, breakfast experience and guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel location is the only thing good. For the price they ask you can find better near by. The main problems are. 1. Too many mainland tourists that do not know what manners are, shouting across the public areas, wasting food and allowing their children to finger touch everything at the breakfast buffet.
2. The air condition in the breakfast area is far too cold and can make you sick. 3. The room I stayed in had a faulty TV remote and a sink that was blocked. I also had to ask for soap and bath gel 3 times.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul293916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Paul293916, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your compliments on our hotel location, but we are more concerned to hear of your comments on the cold room temperature, the faulty facilities and the lapse in service which did not reflect our usual high standards at all. Could you please kindly email my Executive Assistant Manager Mr Terence Tan at terence.tan@shangri-la.com with your name and dates of your last stay with us so we can investigate into the problems? We ask for your indulgence and do hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future and to delight you with our high quality of service that you truly deserve. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enjoyed a short stay at this lovely hotel. Harbour view room is a must. The hotel is ideally situated for a wealth of sightseeing and shopping opportunities. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel generally is up to the usual Shangri-la standard. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a really good introduction to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAH810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear PAH810, thank you for choosing Kowloon Shangri-La and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our harbour view, hotel location, breakfast experience and colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you back to the world of hospitality. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked an Horizon Club room which costs a little more but is well worth it. We were on the 21st floor with magnificent views across Victoria Harbour and everything was within easy reach of the hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly, very professional and nothing was too much trouble for them. We ate a few times at the hotel buffet on the mezzanine floor and what a buffet it was! Great selection for all tastes. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room with a harbour view and ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Carole T, thank you for your nice review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Horizon Club guest room. Your compliments on the harbour View, hotel location, our colleagues and buffet at Café Kool are also very much appreciated. We look forward to your many return visits soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,354 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag and Destinology so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing