We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant stay with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful. The staff are polite and helpful. The tapas bar is definitely worth visiting. I had a delicious dinner with cheese platter to follow. The only thing I didn't like is that the location is not central to the big shopping areas but they are easily reached by train or taxi. The view from the Harbour rooms is incredible. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1987K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear K1987K, it’s great to receive your nice compliments. We are glad that you find the hotel great and you had a good time at our Tapas Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visits. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,702 - 1,708 of 3,763 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

As a travel agent, I only want the best hotel and I know that the shangri-la was fantastic but it was the customer service that made it superior. Right from when I got off the plane at kowloon station and went straight to the shangri-la counter, i was given a bottle of water and i was shown to the counter where the man helped me to purchase my train ticket, carry my bags and suitcase right onto the train where he advised me in great detail how to get to my hotel. When I got to the hotel, there were chocolates on the bed, and the suitcase got to my room before i managed to get there myself with the concierge waiting at the door for me to get in! They helped me to get to where i wanted to be by speaking to the taxi drivers and they even give you a ticket of the taxi number plate before you hop in just in case you left anything in there, you could contact them. The room was large and we had 3 people in the room. the bathroom was massive with a bath and shower. It was so clean, comfortable and even with all the noise downstairs, the room was really nice and quiet. The train station is right next to this hotel for easy access everywhere and I always walked to the local shops which were about 2 minutes away with restaurants, shops and cafes nearby. The food around here was great too. my two night stay at the shangri was amazing and they have amazing people working there be who i thinks should be rewarded more as they are so passionate about helping you to make your holiday an amazing experience. I would recommend everyone to stay here.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter if you dont have the most amazing view. if you want a great view, there is a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joanduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Joanduckie, thanks for your amazing comments. We put great focus on service and all our colleagues strive to provide the best experience possible for each of our guests. Compliments like yours certainly serve as a big motivation to us. Thank you again for your kind support and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was an excellent hotel. The room was spacious, very clean, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. They delivered hot tea and a plate of fruit upon arrival to our room. Didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank travelor58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear travelor58, thanks for rating us excellent. It’s our pleasure to take good care of you and we can’t wait to welcome you back soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Beautiful hotel, spacious comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast in comfortable restaurant. Enjoyed visiting the gym and spa/sauna. Very convenient location, close to shops and restaurants, really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Harbour view obviously have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Declan M, it’s great to hear that you had a great stay with us. We appreciate your amazing compliments on our hotel location, guest rooms and facilities. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I first stayed at this hotel not long after it opened. Much has changed in Homg Kong and this area in particular has become very built up.
We often stay in Shangri la hotels and they never disappoint.
I am delighted to say that the Kowloon hotel is still wonderful.
Service is amazingly pre-emptive and the systems are fail safe.
Paying more for a harbour De Luxe room was well worth the extra.Why come to Hong Kong to look at buildings.
The Kool cafe was so good that we mostly ate there rather than face the HK crowds in the street.
This hotel is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Treat yourself and pay more for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Roger M, thank you for your stupendous support. We are thrilled to read all your compliments and they are certainly a great motivation to us while we continually strive for service excellence. We look forward to welcoming you back to our world of hospitality next time you are in town. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed this hotel almost 7 days this trip, I was attending a workshop in hotel and the function rooms were nice with the great Hong Kong Island view. The meeting room set up and meal arrangement I have to say that the hotel must paid a lot of attention. My rooms was on 14 floor, the size of room was pretty big comparing with other hotel in Hong Kong. Good accommodation for family travel together as well. The hotel is close to the MRT station, even in the raining day we can walk to the MRT by the underground. The BAR on G floor almost every day very busy.... Next time my personal trip I should have some drinks there..

Room Tip: pick the room is close the elevator , no need to walk to far to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pano2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good news...upgraded to Horizon Club room but next to an elevator shaft...or other device of some sort...so that sleep is not likely. Went to the Shang Palace Restaurant (**) and ordered duck...waiter came back and I was told that they were sold out of that dish. She suggested pork belly as an alternative...I said fine. Another waiter then returned to say that her suggestion was sold out, as well. I gave up and settled for the soup I had ordered as a starter. I had also ordered a bottle of water and glass of wine. Received the bill with an apology but no credit considered, apparently (even for the small water...which at Shang is extreamely expensive). I stay at Shangra La frequently and have a reservation at this address on my return through Hong Kong next week...we'll see...

Room Tip: Do not choose 2026...excellent harbor view but noise from the utilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstrav056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear businesstrav056, I am most concerned to hear your disappointment in the room assignment, and share your feeling. Please kindly write to my Executive Assistant Manager, Terence Tan, at Terence.tan@shangri-la.com, with your name so we can make record of your preference for your future stays. Thank you for your support of Shang Palace and regretted that the dishes you wanted to order were all sold out. Please let us know in advance so we can reserve your desired orders. We look forward to welcoming you back this week. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,238 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,712 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,033 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £169 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing