We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2010

I would been thinking if this hotel suit me due to its a pretty old building in Hong Kong. But, i was delighted with the stay and pleased with their service!
Room wasnt ready upon arrival and I went out for quick bites. Tsim Sha Tsui is a great place to have local cuisine too. When came back to the hotel, room key was presented immediately. Room was clean and spacious. I had a partial view of the harbour.
Breakfast & lunch spreads were great too as I wished to spent time to dine in the hotel.
Spa was good, the only thing is the jacuzzi is meant for unisex.
The meeting held at the ballroom/function room was good too. Great coffee breaks with personal barista on standby to serve each guest.
Departure was smooth and no hassle. There were one bellman named :EDWARD, really pleasant and bid farewell.
In general, i had a great stay and would be back again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,713 - 2,719 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

My partner and I stayed in the Shangri La Kowloon for 8 nights from the 19th March 2010 and loved it apart from two minor issues which I will discuss later.

We loved the hotel. We had a city view room on the 18th floor and it was fantastic. Even though we didnt have a harbour view it didnt matter, the view was still great. The pollution would have blocked most of the view across the water anyway. The room was spacious and the bed and pillows were extremelly comfortable and huge! The bathroom was also very big, complete with shower and bath. The room was attended to every day while we were out and we always came back to a spotless room with fresh towels and made bed. The cleaner was exceptional. But one minor point, the TV was very old, I would have expected an LCD or Plasma TV not an old tube type, but I didnt come here to watch TV so it wasnt a huge issue.

The location is fantastic, right next door is a place called Sticky Fingers which did a fantastic and huge breakfast for about $50 HKD each or there is a Deli France nearby which does a very nice and cheap breakfast also. There is a bar on the water front very close by called McLovins which was also great for a drink at night watching the world go by viewing the city lights, complete with live music!

The gym downstairs was awesome and had absolutely everything you might need to do a complete workout. Lots of free weights and modern machines to cater for everyone. The pool was very refreshing and the spa very warm and soothing, perfect for winding down after a long day or night seeing the sights. Often we would have the gym and pool area to ourselves.

Now for the bad points, I hate to do this and sound like a whinger but some things need to be said so the hotel can make some minor adjustments and make the stay more enjoyable as a couple of things really put a bit of a dampener on our stay. Our room etc.. was perfect, it was the common areas which need some attention.

Firstly, and I dont want to sound like a snob or anything but this is an expensive 5 star hotel afterall, but more often than not you have to open the main doors to the hotel yourself, even if there is a doorman standing right there. It's not through lack of doormen as there are adequate numbers, but they are certainly not on the ball with opening the door for its guests. I thought this a little odd for such a classy hotel and something that really needs to be addressed.

Secondly, while we were there the hotel hosted a rather large seminar or something similar for about 4 days. Everyone attending the seminar would congregate for most of the day and night in the main lobby blocking access tho the main doors and lft areas. They would also all gather outside the main doors blocking the entrance and chain smoking. I consider this a bit of a slap in the face from the hotel to its other guests who had to walk through a haze of cigarette and cigar smoke and a maze of people just to access the hotel to get to their room. Without exagerating there would have been at least two hundred people congregating in the lobby and outside the hotel doors at all hours of the day and night. Surely the hotel would have arranged a seperate area for these people to conduct their business instead of the front entrance or alternatively provided the other guests who were not a part of the business seminar with some sort of compensation for this pretty major inconvienance. A free dinner or drinks voucher would have made up for this. Because of this, we did not dine ot any of the hotel restaurants and therefore can not comment on them due to all the people blocking the restaurant entrances.

I love the Shangri La Hotel chain and have stayed in their hotels in Singapore and Malaysia and could not fault them. I hope the Shangri La Kowloon can take these comments on board and make some adjustments as it is a real shame what we were subjected to everytime we entered/exited the lobby which is where the hotel should really have its act together as people not staying here will judge it on this.

The good certainly out shone the bad and I would definately stay here again, I just hope the hotel reads this and makes some adjustments.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Great service from staff during our stay. Spacious room and in a good location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malaichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

This hotel was excellent. Because it is on the Kowloon side of Hong Kong, it is less expensive than the Island-side hotel. On the other hand, because it is on the Kowloon side there are fantastic views of Victoria Harbor.

The lobby is lovely and a nice place to enjoy afternoon tea.

The fitness center is pretty modern with TVs etc. but nothing to write home about.

We had snacks and wine at the Tapas Restaurant. Good. Great views.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrickHongKong_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in December with several friends for a quick stopover to R&R after our business trip.

Service was great from the moment we arrived. Coming in a small group with dozens of luggage pieces, we were treated like royalty! The genuine welcome and smiles we received was a great start to our little getaway after a very taxing conference.

We were assigned two rooms on the same floor, and it was very spacious and comfortable. Internet Wifi is free! And the bathroom is huge!

Although you can feel how busy the hotel is (based on the fast movements of the staff and also the non-stop traffic flow of other guests walking in and out the lobby area) they always had time to spare for us and listen to our needs.

Special mention to Mr Ringo the Chef Concierge and his team for giving good suggestions and recommendations on where to go and see in such a short visit to this vibrant city.

Location wise, Kowloon Shangri-la is very convenient. Only minutes walking distance away from the scenic Avenue of Stars.. and very accessible to the underground....we practically walked every where! Even down to tsim Tsa Tsui shopping district!

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boo_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Rooms are spacious and very nice. Hotel staff is very helpful. Ask for a harbour view.

Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
Thank aaman1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

By far and away the most amazing hotel i've ever had the pleasure of staying in

Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
1  Thank JohnR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,241 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,718 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,037 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £169 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing