We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically Shangri La”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typically Shangri La”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Very nice place. Great rooms, great service from helpful staff. A fine and typical breakfast selection. What you would expect from this brand hotel. About 40 mins from HK airport by taxi. Close enough to be able to see the laser shows and get the ferry across to the island and thus up to the peak.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,548
    690
    136
    36
    31
See reviews for
685
1,219
158
842
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My colleagues and I had lunch at the Angelini Restaurant. The restaurant manager was at the door (he said he is an Australian Italian). Although he was the only guy at the door, it took him 7 minutes to take us to our table (We're not too sure whether he was day dreaming at the time). He brought us the menu, but he made a lot of nonsense comments. I recalled that the restaurant used to have a good Italian manager, but he left. This Australian Italian manager is really a nightmare. He really spoiled our lunch. No doubt Angelini is getting less and less customers these days. My colleagues and I will never go back to this restauant again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ma_kamsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Everything superb. If you stay here definately pay the upgrade to the Club room approx. £70 night well worth it as the canapes and free drinks in the club lounge will match any top restaurant. FANTASTIC. Great views over the Bund. We Stayed in 7 x 5* hotels on our far east trip and this was easily the best.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We arrived very late so arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport. Someone greeted us at the arrivals gate and escorted us to the waiting Mercedes (turns out they have a fleet). The driver welcomed us with a cold moist towel and cold bottled water. I'm glad we chose this route as I saw very few taxis at that time of night.

The staff was waiting for us at the hotel with everything in order. All we had to do was give them our credit card for incidentals, go to the room and hit the hay on the very comfortable bed. But first we had to get over the sight that greeted us-full picture windows with a view of Victoria Harbour!

The room was very clean, they delivered our in-room breakfast on time (we went with this option as we didn't want to have to get dressed so early in the morning to go down to breakfast). Room service was impeccable and the food was hot and delicious! Not that we could pay much attention to it as the view was mesmerizing!

As my husband needed to do some shopping he wanted to find a tailor to get a couple of suits custom made. The concierge was very helpful and directed us to an excellent tailor across the street (who made them in 3 days!). They also recommended restaurants and called ahead to fix reservations when needed.

The location was Kowloon, across from Hong Kong central. But the hotel was extremely close to the ferry landing as well as next to a huge shopping complex (Harbour City), the National Museum of Art, the Space Museum and the Cultural Center. And as it turns out we found enough shopping, culture, etc. on the Kowloon side that we only went across once to Hong Kong central.

All in all we have no complaints about this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeters5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Not the very best location, not the newest and brightest, not the biggest rooms, BUT sensational service and hospitality! Shangri-la how you'd expect it.
Actually, my best hotel experience ever, and I travel a lot...!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hzottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Our stay here was second to none! my husband and i stayed here for a week as the first stage of our honeymoon. This hotel is breathtaking! the building is not one of the biggest, but it is pure luxury and class. we paid a little extra to be upgraded which meant we got a more personal experience for our breakfast and we had access to high speed internet and an almost private lounge with complimentary drinks and snacks, with butler service directly to our room. the room was phenomenal, the quality, cleanliness and modern facilities could not be faulted, and the en suite was perfect! We had a panoramic view of the harbour. The restaurants within the hotel were a little pricey for evening meals, but to be honest we were busy enjoying the rest of hong kong most nights. We visited the hotel's spa which also had one of the most high-tech, comprehensive gym's i've ever seen, the pool and jacuzzi were excellent, as were the treatments my husband and i had. The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and they all seemed to live and breathe customer service.

hong kong its self is amazing and i would recommend for anyone to go there once in their lifetime. It has everything you could possibly want all within arms reach. there is the bustling city life with shopping centres and restaurants open nearly all day and night, there are mountains and glorious open countryside less than half an hour on a bus away, there are beaches and watersports just outside the city and the harbour itself with mesmerising industry that never interferes with your stay, of course there is also the tourist trips and such which are a must just to get your head around hong kong and everything it has to offer. This is one of the cleanest cities i've ever been to and i felt far safer than i usually do in my own capital city. personally, i found the cultural heritage and diverse surroundings very compelling, i recommend a half day or whole day tour, and a trip to see the fishing villages, monastry's and Buddha.

The only negative thing i could say is that its was very hot and humid whilst we were there, as it was just turning to rainy season, although we never had any rain, just a wall of heat as soon as you left the comfort of air con.

I truly love this city and cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

They could not get us a baby stroller. They said that all were in use. I dint expect such response. They should have got us a stroller no matter what. After all a stroller costs only 400 HK $ (basic model), and that should not be much for shangri la in comparison to losing a customer and many more customers who we would recommend against it. That too we were staying at their horizon club.(exclusive). We had to carry our baby for the two days we were there and that made the trip very tiring. A year back, we had stayed at the Mariott in Singapore and their services were just too amazing.
Though we were ushered in to shangri la with due respect, the lady at the reception counter was trying to pronounce our names with great difficulty from our passports. She could have just asked us how to pronounce it instead of killing our names.
Rooms are good. Service -- a definite no
I guess it's no more shangri la for us

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reservation_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,533 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,511 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,171 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing