We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary & the hotel was beyond our expectations! Friendly ,efficent staff in a beautiful hotel, what more can you ask for? We paid the extra to upgrade to the Horizon Club; this gives you rooms on the 20 & 21st floors. We had one with a harbour view ,which was stunning. The upgrade is well worth it as you get breakfast included in the price. We went to the Kool! restaurant every morning, but you can also eat it in the horizon club. Throughout the day the club served free drinks, not sure if alcohol was included, & there was a complimentary cocktail hour in the evening. Sandwiches were also available in the afternoon & canapes in the evening.
The bedroom was huge & had a spacious bathroom. The bed & pillows were so comfortable you went to sleep the minute your head hit the pillow.
There's no need to take plug adaptors as the sockets are the same as the UK
We also ate in the tapas bar one evening, which was excellent.
The hotel is well placed for the MTR network & there are a variety of restaurants nearby.
The conciarge desk was always very helpful about how to get to places & ideas for eating out.
We'd wholeheartedly recommend the Kowloon Shangri-la

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clements28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,617 - 2,623 of 3,692 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2010

The hotel is perfect for business traveler and also for tourists. The rooms are very nice decorated and exceptionally large (for HK standard). The harbor view rooms offer with their glass wall an unique perspective over HK Island and the skyline also. Not to miss the excellent SHANG restaurant in the basement offering one of the best cantonese food in town. It has 1 Micheline star rating.

I was also impressed by the attention and ready-to-help-at-any-moment attitude of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george4yah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

After deliberating on whether to stay in Kowloon or HK Island, we decided on Kowloon Shang based on price and size of rooms.
We selected to stay at the newly renovated suite which had a stay 4 night and get 1 free promo. After collecting our baggage, we were greeted by the Shang staff at the airport who has prepared a car with a baby seat for us, enroute to the hotel, they booked us a late lunch at the Shang Palace and check-in was done there as well. Wonderful!

We had complimentary breakfasts as well as complimentary snacks/drinks everyday at the Club floor, you can not get this value at any HK side hotel i think. Service was great at the club floor (kudos to the lovely japanese lady who's on internship there - we left our baby's jacket on one of the nights and she remembered that it was for us and had it sent up from "lost and found")
As the rooms are newly renovated, there is still a drift of glue smell around but this did not bother us.

Near to the hotel is a convenience store at the Wing On Building, from there, you can access the subway which is a 3-5 min walk to the main TST shopping belt. Alternately you can cross over the bridge to have a nice walk along the avenue of stars and see the laser show which happens at 8 every night.

we stayed here with our nanny and baby - and frankly, I cannot think of a better hotel if you are thinking of Kowloon side that has a huge room, and such great service. We will definitely be back staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Very nice place. Great rooms, great service from helpful staff. A fine and typical breakfast selection. What you would expect from this brand hotel. About 40 mins from HK airport by taxi. Close enough to be able to see the laser shows and get the ferry across to the island and thus up to the peak.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernardTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My colleagues and I had lunch at the Angelini Restaurant. The restaurant manager was at the door (he said he is an Australian Italian). Although he was the only guy at the door, it took him 7 minutes to take us to our table (We're not too sure whether he was day dreaming at the time). He brought us the menu, but he made a lot of nonsense comments. I recalled that the restaurant used to have a good Italian manager, but he left. This Australian Italian manager is really a nightmare. He really spoiled our lunch. No doubt Angelini is getting less and less customers these days. My colleagues and I will never go back to this restauant again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ma_kamsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Everything superb. If you stay here definately pay the upgrade to the Club room approx. £70 night well worth it as the canapes and free drinks in the club lounge will match any top restaurant. FANTASTIC. Great views over the Bund. We Stayed in 7 x 5* hotels on our far east trip and this was easily the best.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank BigJohnDeere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We arrived very late so arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport. Someone greeted us at the arrivals gate and escorted us to the waiting Mercedes (turns out they have a fleet). The driver welcomed us with a cold moist towel and cold bottled water. I'm glad we chose this route as I saw very few taxis at that time of night.

The staff was waiting for us at the hotel with everything in order. All we had to do was give them our credit card for incidentals, go to the room and hit the hay on the very comfortable bed. But first we had to get over the sight that greeted us-full picture windows with a view of Victoria Harbour!

The room was very clean, they delivered our in-room breakfast on time (we went with this option as we didn't want to have to get dressed so early in the morning to go down to breakfast). Room service was impeccable and the food was hot and delicious! Not that we could pay much attention to it as the view was mesmerizing!

As my husband needed to do some shopping he wanted to find a tailor to get a couple of suits custom made. The concierge was very helpful and directed us to an excellent tailor across the street (who made them in 3 days!). They also recommended restaurants and called ahead to fix reservations when needed.

The location was Kowloon, across from Hong Kong central. But the hotel was extremely close to the ferry landing as well as next to a huge shopping complex (Harbour City), the National Museum of Art, the Space Museum and the Cultural Center. And as it turns out we found enough shopping, culture, etc. on the Kowloon side that we only went across once to Hong Kong central.

All in all we have no complaints about this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neeters5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 725 in Hong Kong
6,081 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,600 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#6 of 725 in Hong Kong
764 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £179 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing