We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Wow..... as good as it gets. Exceptional .

Great location .. some good bars with live music just a short stroll away open till the early hours.
Tip: do the 'big bus trip' includes full Kowloon and the HK side of the bay .. entry to the peak, tickets for river crossings , fishermans village , discovery bay etc. See all you need to see.. explained in detail and hop on , hop off at your leisure. Incredible value. and a must do.

Oh ...and the views of the harbour are stunning from the hotel room. Cant wait to go back to Hong Kong.. loved it !!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,589
    695
    137
    38
    31
See reviews for
694
1,241
160
854
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

A very nice hotel and deserving of its ranking. Service was perfect, the room and bathroom were great, the view from the harbor rooms is excellent and the breakfast buffet was up to the Shangri-La standard. Only a couple of minor complaints/comments that may help future travelers:

First, I didn’t love the location. I’m used to taking the subway everywhere in HK, but the MTR line that the hotel is on isn’t one of the convenient ones. So it’s a good 8-10 minute walk underground to the red line to get to Central or further into Kowloon. We therefore took a lot more taxis than normal this time, including to and from the airport.

Second, the room service wasn’t great. We ordered a pizza one night – for US$25 – and it was small and didn’t taste very good. The service aspect was great, but the food definitely wasn’t, and it was really overpriced even compared to other hotels’ room service. Pizza at Italian restaurants in HK is far superior, and much cheaper. Just not as convenient.

Third, although the concierge was overall excellent, he referred us to an incorrect bus stop for Stanley that had actually just moved that same morning (Feb 27th). We went up Chatham Road only to find a sign directing us to go back past the hotel to one on Mody Road very close to the hotel. Because of the detour we missed the bus that we wanted. Not a huge deal, but I would have thought that the concierge desk would know about things like bus stop changes.

Forth, the hotel isn’t kid-unfriendly, but they never really went above and beyond like some of the reviews of the Peninsula and Four Seasons talk about. My 5-year-old got some nice oil pastels and a couple of coloring pages when we checked in, and there was milk and cookies waiting for us the first night (not sure if that is a standard thing for all guests?), but that was it. I like when hotels throw in some extras for kids – little stuffed animals at check-in, kid-size robes/slippers, etc… It’s definitely a business hotel, but some kid touches would have been nice – especially for what we were paying.

I may stay here again on a future trip, but I will also check out the Peninsula and other places closer to Nathan Road since that would have been a better location to base out of.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

STUNNING!!! we had a great time being pampered in the Horizon club its worth paying the extra for the benefits. I always rate a hotel by the staff as they make or break a place and this is no exception, the cleanliness of the room and quality of the service is outstanding even from the discreet and ultra fast Horizon check in/check out The hotels location is excellent as its less than 1 minute walk to the nearest MTR and there are numerous quality eating places very close and some nice shops, we ate in and out of the hotel and cannot complain at all about the quality of the food its outstanding, its a nice walk along the " avenue of stars " round to the star ferry terminal this takes about 10-l5 mins walk which is a few minutes walk from the Harbour shopping mall.From there it takes about 25 mins to walk back casually to the hotel just browsing the many shops along the way. We took the MTR to the shopping mall which is a designer outlet called City Gate I personally dont think its worth the 30 minute MTR ride but it does pass the exit for Disneyland if you are going that way.It was nice to sit in the Horizon lounge looking over the harbour during breakfast or early afternoon snacks watching the black Kites circling over the water and occasionally dropping down to pick fish up out of the Harbour. If this hotel is on your wish list then put it at the top and pay the extra for the Horizon lounge. I really finally would like to say a big THANKS to all the staff and management for pampering us especially the Horizon staff.Enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene&Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

A true luxury hotel. Everything went smooth and was perfect in detail: check in, luggage service, breakfast, amenities, check out. The room was big and well kept, with all necessary items, such as bathrobes, slippers.

The breakfast was vast and rich and while the hotel is big, I did not feel "lost" or overwhelmed with the number of people. On a negative side, wi-fi kept being cut, but that might have been due to bad weather.

Overall, a great place for business meeting or romantic gateways.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank made_in_ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My wife and I ended our holiday at this hotel after staying in other Shangri La's in Singapore and Sydney. First class service from the moment we arrived and was taken to the 20th floor Horizon reception to check in. We had a city view room which was was partly obscured by an office building in front, but as the weather was cloudy and fog, it was not an issue. The bathroom was not as spacious as others in this chain, but still very nice. Usual Horizon Club benefits are well worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaze14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I love the Shangri-La in Kowloon.

The customer service is unbelievable- after my first stay, when I returned a month later the staff had remembered my name.

All the staff are the friendliest you could ever wish to meet, and the food (room service or restaurant) is to die for. The spa treatments are also excellent.

I would recommend Shangri-La to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Have stayed here four times in as many months on business, and just had my first stay as a tourist. Despite occasional minor annoyances (had trouble booking an airport pick-up for my partner, who was arriving the day after me), I am continually impressed by the high level of professionalism of the staff. Everyone seems 'empowered' to make decisions based on their own judgment, not simply the official training manual. The concierge staff is a particularly impressive and very helpful store of knowledge. (One note of caution: I was not impressed with the quality of the food at 'Tapas', their trendy ground-floor bar. My experiences with the room service menu have always been good, though.)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,637 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing