We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Regal Airport Hotel
Ranked #103 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ripped off”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had the misfortune of booking this hotel through my travel agent both time on a recent trip to the USA and both times even though i had the documents the Staff at the front desk claimed no booking had been made. When arriving home had the travel agent look into it and the hotel claimed no booking had been made. I would advise anyone traveling through this area to be very careful about paying anything up front as i had no assistance whatsoever from the staff at this hotel and ended up paying twice for there incompetence. I would never stay at this hotel again and would caution others about staying there also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAH_HK, General Manager at Regal Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Regal Airport Hotel and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve you better. We sincerely apologise for not having lived up to your service delivery expectations when you stayed with us.

Please rest assured that we have brought your comments to the Head of department responsible and also shared them with the associates involved.

We would be most honoured if we could once again be of service to you on your next visit to Hong Kong and welcome another opportunity to give you a firsthand experience of the service culture that sets us apart and for which we continue to be known.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the Regal Airport Hotel.

With warm regards from the World's Best Airport Hotel in Asia's Most Exciting City!

Yours sincerely,
John Girard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,568
    1,659
    836
    332
    189
See reviews for
842
1,037
751
1,478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel. The location is about as convenient as you can get if you are staying for the night before going to airport for early morning flight like we are. It's attached to the airport. The room is bigger than most of the hotels I had stayed in hong kong. One complaint I had is there are charge for the drinks in the fridge and water bottle near the bed. The charge is not well labelled. The water bottle in the bathroom though was complimentary (I think depends on room type, you get a bottle of free water). Also check in process can be improved. There were huge line waiting for check in (though that is b/c when airline cancel flight, people got sent here I think). Overall though, you just can't beat the location if you need a stay over for an early flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitehawk_tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAH_HK, General Manager at Regal Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Regal Airport Hotel and for taking time to share your experience with us during your recent stay.

Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to serve you better.

We sincerely apologise for not having lived up to your service delivery expectations when you stayed with us.

Please rest assured that we have brought your comments to the Head of department responsible and also shared them with the associates involved.

We would be most honoured if we could once again be of service to you on your next visit to Hong Kong and welcome another opportunity to give you a firsthand experience of the service culture that sets us apart and for which we continue to be known.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of any further assistance to you.

Thank you very much and we look forward to having you back at the Regal Airport Hotel.

With warm regards from the World's Best Airport Hotel in Asia's Most Exciting City!

Yours sincerely,
John Girard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Regal Airport Hotel is the closest that one could stay near to the HK airport. Its perfectly placed and hence helps you to connect to mainland HK quite quickly.
The staff are courteous and helpful. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
Nice place overall

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preethij72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAH_HK, General Manager at Regal Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Regal Airport Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay. Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to exceed guest expectations and create value at every encounter.

We are delighted to receive your kind words about your service experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Regal Airport Hotel.

With warm regards from the World's Best Airport Hotel in Asia's Most Exciting City!

Yours sincerely,
John Girard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hotel is very very nice, it is attached to the airport. So we after hours of flying, you get your luggage and come into the main body of the airport. Turn to the left, see the signage above for the hotel. No walking outside, or shuttles needed. Great if you have a long layover and want a hotel room. Room was very nice. Lobby very nice. Gift shop not over priced for being in a hotel & air port location. FREE WIFI in the lobby for 20 minutes. Free up in the rooms.
HK AIRPORT HAS FREE WIFI
Stay clear of the McDonalds (it's not like in the US, not sure what was in that fried chicken sandwich).

Room Tip: I am a light sleeper and anticipated plane noise... I heard none. Beds firm, but comfortable. No f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzicheescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAH_HK, General Manager at Regal Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Regal Airport Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay. Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to exceed guest expectations and create value at every encounter.

We are delighted to receive your kind words about your service experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at Regal Airport Hotel.

With warm regards from the World's Best Airport Hotel in Asia's Most Exciting City!

Yours sincerely,
John Girard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, before flying on to London from Sydney.
The convenience of getting from airport to hotel in about 5 mins walking is fabulous.
Rooms are a little dated but clean and had everything we needed, the pool area is a great place to relax.
The staff were friendly and helpful and our overall stay was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAH_HK, General Manager at Regal Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Regal Airport Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay. Your comments are indeed valuable to us, as they help us in our committed effort to exceed guest expectations and create value at every encounter.

We are delighted to receive your kind words about your service experience with our associates. We strongly believe that our associates are our greatest asset, and we are indeed proud of them. We will be more than happy to share your comments with them, as we are sure they will be most appreciative of your compliments.

We are delighted that we had the opportunity to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back at Regal Airport Hotel.

With warm regards from the World's Best Airport Hotel in Asia's Most Exciting City!

Yours sincerely,
John Girard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

They had to activate our room keys for FOUR time during our 10 hour stay. When they gave us the key they gave us during check in did not work, so we went back to the front desk they gave us new one, went back to room they did not work either. we called from the phone in the hallway, it took like ten minutes for someone to answer, and they said someone will be right up to help us, that was another 10 minutes until a maid finally showed up and tried to open the room for us, Surprise even here key did not work. Another trip down stairs (mind you that every time we have to wait in line for 5-10 minutes to talk to the receptionist) they finally send someone from the front desk to open the room for us. A few hours later we went to have dinner, the GF order some waffle for dessert, after waiting for 30 minutes, we found they could not make the waffles, they even brought a chef from one of their other restaurants who did not want to make them but wanted to teach the staff the very complicated process of cooking waffles from the pre-mixed batter. When we got back to the room, what a surprise the door would not open again. I felt like we were trapped in a comedy show. The room is very basic but clean and the shower is kind of small but this is Hong Kong after all. It is convenient to be able to just walk to the airport when the flight time comes but there is a couple of hotels nearby that are literally 5 minutes away using their free shuttle. Never the less being situated in the airport building itself offer some peace of mind.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the elevator or have your walking shoes on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PharoMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here on our way to the UK from Australia as we had an overnight in Hong Kong and didn't want to stay too far from the hotel, the hotel was in the perfect location to easily head downtown and get our flight the next day. The staff were lovely, very friendly, accommodating and more than happy to advise us on places to go and how to get there. We ordered room service very late and the food was delicious and very reasonable however a little cold. There was a huge selection of restaurants to choose from, and if we had had more time we would definitely have tried as many as possible. The room was clean and comfortable and we made use of the fairly decent Wi-Fi which was free with the room we booked. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to HK.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Airport
Hong Kong SkyCity Marriott Hotel
Airport
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
Novotel Citygate Hong Kong
#54 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,965 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#125 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#73 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,604 reviews
Lantau Island
Silverview Resort Holiday Hotel Lantau
Disneyland
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
Disney's Hollywood Hotel
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Airport Hotel

Property: Regal Airport Hotel
Address: No.9 Cheong Tat Road, Hong Kong International Airport | Chek Lap Kok, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#95 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#99 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regal Airport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Airport Hotel Hong Kong has been recognized as the World's Best Airport Hotel by Business Traveller UK Magazine. Directly connected to the passenger terminal of Hong Kong International Airport and only a two-minute walk away, the Hotel is also in close proximity to the AsiaWorld-Expo convention centre. All 1,171 smoke-free guest rooms and suites have contemporary design and comfort is ensured by the double-glazed soundproof windows and comprehensive in-room amenities. Regal Airport Hotel Hong Kong also features world-class meeting facilities with 30 function rooms and one of the largest pillar-free grand ballrooms in a hotel equipped with a 9-meter width and 4-meter height HD LED wall. Additionally, the Hotel features a variety of authentic cuisine at its six restaurants and bars, and it has a complete range of recreational facilities including the award-winning OM Spa, state-of-the-art gym, an outdoor pool and an indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Regal Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Airport Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Airport
Regal Airport Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing