We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vantage Point to Cover HK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #95 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Vantage Point to Cover HK”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Regal Kowloon stands amongst a clutch of good hotels around the famous Kowloon Promenade. Rubbing shoulders with the Shangrila and the Peninsula, Regal Kowloon offers the best value for money. For a tourist it offers the perfect package. Rooms are large (surprised?) and maintenance standard very high. Breakfast at The Allegro coffee shop is amazing. A couple of minor irritants are the long queue for Check In, and no seating in the ground level to wait in. With many tours leaving, and a continuous flow of passengers waiting to be picked up for the airport The Regal Kowloon should really create some seating in the lobby.

Room Tip: Look for a higher floor - although the highest you can go is only the 14th level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your review with us, we are pleased that overall you found our hotel great value for money with good facilities. As mentioned our lobby is busy that is why we provide seating on the 1st and basement floor.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    838
    341
    102
    70
See reviews for
427
353
100
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
329 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Very hard beds. There is unsupervised, unorganized and inefficient chaos for checking in and out. Long lines to check in – long lines to check out. It is always like this at the Regal Kowloon. I also stayed at the Gloucester Luk Kwok hotel on this visit which had a much more civilized system - check-in was 1 minute and check-out was 2 minutes. At the Regal Kowloon you should plan on standing in line for a half hour whether checking in or out.

Upon my leaving, the entry to the hotel was completely clogged. Incoming guests had parked their cars at the entrance and left them. The car boy was doing other things, so no one could get in and no one could get out. The incoming taxis were lined up and the Airport Express bus was locked in. All the while people waiting for a taxi or Airport Express had a longer and longer line to endure. Once the valet moved the unattended cars, the Airport Express bus was running so late that he refused to pick anyone up. It was a total mess.

I am sure the manager will respond that "it shouldn't have happened" or that he will look into it, but all he needs to do is spend some time in the lobby and at the entrance to see what a mess he has on his hands.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing our hotel during your recent visit. Our beds do come with comforters and may I suggest you take advantage of having one placed in your room on your next visit. Bed firmness can be subjective for our guest. Yes you are correct in that we do not expect long queues for check in or out. We have placed many procedures to avoid it occuring including lobby ambassadors, express incentives and pre and post procedures to avoid such incidents and of course will continue to monitor it daily. Myself and our managers do spend a lot of time actioning and reviewing our lobby which in all due respect is not a mess but rather a very busy and respected hotel in Hong Kong.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Hong Kong Trip. The Hotel is located in TST close to the Avenue of the Stars and about 5 minute walk from the East TST MTR Station. The Rooms are well equipped and the Beds comfy, the Bathrooms clean. The Complimentary Buffet has a good spread for Vegetarians.. The Staff are very courteous and helpful. The Check In can take some time and there are long lines, but the checkout is quick. The only thing lacking was an electrical outlet to plug in Electrical Shavers in the Bathroom.

Room Tip: The Rooms overlooking the Park on the East side have nice Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tekumallakarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed both our facilities and location, and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Hong Kong.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife, my little kid and myself stayed for 2 nights in this hotel to celebrate my daugther's one year old birthday. The executive floor room that we stayed was nicely decorated and really thank the hotel for the nice upgrade. We stayed another 2 nights in the nearby Grand Stanford Intercontinental and we consider both hotels are very comfortable. Considering the reasonable rates that we paid for Regal Kowloon, the room standard was beyond my expectation. The only thing I would like to comment is the speed of services in this hotel. I requested for breakfast coupons that were included in my room rates and took me a few calls and 15 minutes to receive them in the room. Seems the reception staff are very busy in responding requests.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBuffet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased your birthday celebrations were enhanced by your stay at our hotel. We take note of the delay from our front office team and I will make sure to share this review with them accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Hong Kong.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emtweeh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is not only expensive, paid for 3 nights and wasn't told there was non smoking room. Got charged for smoking penalty tried explaining to receptionist Elvis Kwan that it wasn't told to us, he said doesn't matter CUs I signed the papers. Any 4 or 5 star hotel would always advise us personally it was available. Not only that Elvis purposely canceled our keys after we've walked away. Horrible staff no manners. Never again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emtweeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest
Our hotel has very clear marked signs about non-smoking in our rooms, elevators and public areas. On top of this we have a notice on our registration card informing guest about this issue, as well as non-smoking sign in the room. We do have 3 floors for our smoking guests should they request a room with smoking access.
May I suggest on your next visit to Hong Kong that you observe these conditions in your next hotel so as your stay will be hassle free. Thank you for sharing your review.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
430 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A most enjoyable experience. Everything was excellent,from the quick check in 'till the checkout. The room was ideal. With a fantastic bath. The staff always make you feel "special and welcome"
We booked a club room and enjoyed the breakfast and evening snacks. The location is the best in Kowloon close to the Avenue of Stars. We stayed as we had booked a late Saturday night concert at the Cultural Centre, a close stroll along the promenade. The staff also make this hotel very special and we will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I don't know I what all these people on here are complaining about.. This hotel is very good for the price compared with others in the area. Beds are really comfy, location is excellent and if you book exec level you will make your money back on the free drinks til 8:30pm. Cannot fault anything so far!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mattyboy2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and all the facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#54 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#75 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#138 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Kowloon Hotel

Property: Regal Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.71 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in centre Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong's most famous commercial and entertainment district. Regal Kowloon Hotel is the finest in business, leisure and family travel. All guestrooms are newly furnished and offer spacious accommodations, ample meeting space for any type of event, and a variety of excellent food, including Cantonese cuisine, American & Italian restaurant, international buffets, stylish healthy specialties and refreshing cocktails at V Bar. Please visit us at Regal Kowloon Hotel in Hong Kong and we are happy to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regal Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Kowloon
Regal Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing