We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Kowloon Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #100 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall the hotel is clean and the rooms are pretty nice (small but nice)
The location is good too, the train station is a few minutes away, and the promenade is really close by too. The breakfast is expensive but very good and huge!

I went on a business trip there so I was sharing a room with a colleague, and we only had internet on one device only per person, which is not enough when you're on business trip and you need your phone and laptop (at least), to be connected to wifi.
Staff was nice but not only on top of everything. I hear some people having lots if trouble with their reservations, we didn't though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us. We are glad that overall your stay was a good one. May I suggest that a future stay with us is made via our website directly to avail yourself to extra privileges like more wifi devices, breakfast inclusion etc whilst also guaranteeing the best available rate.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Regal Kowloon when you next visit beautiful Hong Kong.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    803
    332
    99
    70
See reviews for
407
340
99
681
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is my third time staying at this hotel, with expectations that it's going to better each time as a returning guest. However, it's getting worse and may consider to try out new hotel in future.

Firstly we were given a room that was not ready, when we open the door (Room 1409), there was a staff in suit inside still doing checking. Then we informed concierge and the female staff at concierge given us another room unwillingly. Next moment after moving to the new room, the same hotel staff just opened our door with his key card in the changed room (Room 1340) without knocking the door. What security are we talking about if any hotel staff can just open the door when the guests are inside the room.

Next we drank some tea in the hotel and the cup with the teabag was not cleared on the next day, even the room was made up, the cup with the soaked teabag was just lying on the table, not cleaned up or cleared.

Last but not least, the room was beside some generator room, we heard pounding sounds even at 4am in the morning, definitely affecting our sleep. When we were boarding the shuttle bus, the porters just stood there chatting with each other, pretending that they did not see us, not helping us with the heavy luggage.

I hope that the hotel can have improvements in near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. What you have pointed out is not we expect from our team here at the hotel.
Your concerns are very valid and Housekeeping, Front Office and Concierge have seen and reviewed your critique with the aim of improving their service.
We thank you for pointing these experiences to us and hopefully will welcome you with better service standards on your return.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not sure what I was expecting but certainly wasn't this. This was the first hotel after 18 days in China where wifi was not included in the room and was extremely expensive. If you accessed it in the lobby, you had 30 minutes every 12 hours only. I made the mistake of sitting down in a chair in the lobby area, which I did not realize was the bar, had to buy a drink since I had sat down! Cost was $$$. Mouthwash had a price tag on it in the room. Room was only average. Paid a lot extra to upgrade and receive free snacks and larger updated room, which meant no plugs visible to charge your phones, etc. Had to pay for adaptor to use the one plug at the desk. Shower was odd in that there was only one sliding door so water went everywhere. Ants on seating area. If this was the updated upgrade, I would have hated to see the other. The upgrade costs an extra $100 for 2 nights, extremely expensive and if we had not been so exhausted, probably would have requested to move to the downgrade to save the money. It certainly was not worth $100. The snacks were a one time thing with 3 bottles of beverages, 2 sodas and a bottle of water, and a small can of pringles, and some nuts. Nowhere near the price tag. Also had been told we would have a view of the harbor, yes, but only if you craned your neck sideways could you get a very slim view. After traveling throughout China I was looking forward to not needing translators and guides. While the front desk staff knew English, I felt like there was a language barrier with the concierge staff. When we asked for a restaurant suggestion, we were only given a vague description of where it was, sent out to retrieve a taxi, taxi driver spoke no English, no one at the front door knew how to tell him where we wanted to go, etc. The restaurant he sent us to was a bust too, poor service, high prices, etc. Exchange rates were high also. Just not what I expected for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerri l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your review with us during your recent stay. Our free internet is available with most OTA's and our website. We noted your agent did not have this as part of their offer to you. We are sorry to learn your upgrade did not meet with your expectations and you paid for an adaptor. Use of the adaptor is free and we only charge people who wish to take it with them, sorry this was not pointed out to you during your stay.
Our staff didn't record any ant issues which we could have immediately addressed on the day. We are sorry you had this experience. I have also spoken to concierge to make sure better accommodation and service are given to all our guests.
Again, we are sad to hear your stay did not meet with your expectation. May I suggest to achieve a better priced stay which includes benefits like internet, breakfast, room type etc next time you take advantage of our Regal Web page which will also offer you the best available price. Thank you.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Ok..first impression upon reaching Airport's shuttle counter for the hotel, was bad. Staffs are more concentrated viewing their mobile phones than attending to queries. Had to wait for more than 1.5hrs for next shuttle to arrive. End up, took a cab myself to hotel.
Check in was smooth, spent approx 10mins max on the procedure.. Room is clean and neat, with efficient clean up on daily basis.
Lounge at ground level was nice with friendly staffs serving.
Overall, nothing Wow about this hotel, but, yes..it can provide yr basic need during business trip... although to nearest MTR station can be of some walking distance.
Breakfast spread was acceptable, with prompt reception at the front desk. However, suggestion is they coukd do away with the daily pc of small card notice, representing over the entitlement of breakfast. All should be in system or daily namelist..
Check out was smooth, approx 10mins as well.
I will come back again, if business trip in hkg is required, as it is one of the choice in the corporate choice.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank denverhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your review with us.
Our airport shuttle usually has a better reputation than indicated and I assure you we will share your comments with them so as to improve their service standard. All in all we are glad your stay with us will lead you to come again and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had heard horror stories about request for early check in. Our experience was good in that respect as the hotel provided 2 rooms out of four requested promptly on arrival. The other two rooms were given after an hour. It's a nice hotel centrally located and we never had any problems at all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank arihantjain99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guests
We are so glad you enjoyed your experiences at the Regal Kowloon and we look forward to welcoming again when next you visit Hong Kong. Our front Office team will be very pleased to hear about your hotel stay.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Our tour operator booked this hotel for us. I was very pleased whe we got upgraded to a suite from the regular room. All in all we liked the location and amenities. We ate in Mezzo our first night as we were tired and just wanted to eat. The service there was excellent, very friendly & warm. That staff should be put on the front desk. While efficient, a little brusque. When one of our room keys did not work, I got an arguement from one of the clerks that it did. I had to insist on getting a new one.

The breakfast was included and was very good. The room was very clean and quiet. With a short walk from the MTR, Harbourfront and lots of shops & restaurants, the location could not be beat. Check out was a bit slow, lots of shuffling of paper. One of the slowest I have experienced in a hotel. But I would recommend staying her.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bunnyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its facilities. We are glad that in general your stay was value added and enjoyable. We also take notice of the delay in check out procedures and we continually strive to look at ways to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Thank you for staying at Regal Kowloon Hotel.

Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our stay was during Chinese new year 2014. Regal Kowloon is in bang centre of all commercial Hong Kong and the staff are outright straight and objective considering their dealings with business traveller clientele day in day out. They upgraded our rooms again an indication of the business inclined people wanting standard rooms more. The upgrade was an advantage with the size a little bigger (Keep in mind, Hong Kong hotels should not be expected to provide big rooms as per Indian traveller standards). The travel desk people were an exception as they provide sound and unselfish advise with a SMILE. Buffet are again inclined for foreign business travellers and we were surprised to find Chhole Puri one fine morning. Otherwise rooms are clean, well maintained and not so bad to spend the nights after day long excursions.
Overall given the location and nice sharp ambience of the hotel, I would prefer staying again for shopping or business trips. They also provide better deals on stay than other nearby peers.

Room Tip: Choose club rooms if you want standard comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoneyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the city and all that Hong Kong has to offer from this exciting city.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon to both our hotel and Hong Kong.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#45 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#81 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#80 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#141 of 712 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Kowloon Hotel

Property: Regal Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.71 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in centre Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong's most famous commercial and entertainment district. Regal Kowloon Hotel is the finest in business, leisure and family travel. All guestrooms are newly furnished and offer spacious accommodations, ample meeting space for any type of event, and a variety of excellent food, including Cantonese cuisine, American & Italian restaurant, international buffets, stylish healthy specialties and refreshing cocktails at V Bar. Please visit us at Regal Kowloon Hotel in Hong Kong and we are happy to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Regal Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Kowloon
Regal Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing