We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Regal Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #96 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is one of our most enduring memories of China. This hotel has an excellent location, a fairly good staff and an excellent breakfast. We would return to this hotel because we have good memories of it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckeyesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences of our hotel and we look forward to your return visit when next in Hong Kong.
With best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    840
    343
    102
    70
See reviews for
427
353
101
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is clean, the rooms are pretty good and have nice view.
The location is good too, the train station is a few minutes away, and the promenade is really close by too.

I went on a business trip but wifi was not included my package and was charged. i assume you get free wifi in most of the hotels there.

Staff was nice but not only on top of everything. i was 2 hours early and didn't get early check in,it was the only disappointment..

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank amitcparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
First of all thank you for staying and enjoying your visit to Hong Kong. When next travelling and visiting our hotel, may I recommend booking via our website do not only receiving best available rate but also inclusions like Free Wifi.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located to enable easy travel to Hong Kong, Kowloon or even up to Shenzen. Can walk underground via the MTR network to avoid touters etc or when hot or raining. We chose to stay in the executive suites which we consider to be excellent value for money. Very good breakfast and afternoon happy hours (5 - 8 pm) with free Wifi which is fast. Staff are very friendly and more than happy to engage in conversation with you which makes you feel welcome and feels more homely. The rooms themselves are OK nothing extraordinary, enough room without being too spacious but then again we were site seeing most of the day and at night spent most time at happy hour or in local bar in Mody Square. Good restaurants in close proximity ie "Good Satay" in Houston Centre. We would recommend and will return if lucky enough to afford return trip to Hong Kong

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest
We hope you are lucky enough to return to Hong Kong and in particular to the Regal Kowloon Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and my team look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
395 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Bad. Real bad. They put me in a room when the air conditioning is down. On first night, it was so hot that i could hardly sleep. Only when i start to speak cantonese with them, and i had a local friend who spoke even fluent cantonese then they changed me to a room with working A/C

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReccaHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your valued feedback. Sorry that you were not given a room that had air conditioning but rather later. This is not an expectation that should have occured. I appreciate your feedback and will pass it onto our team accordingly.
I hope we have the opportunity of serving you again, and that you offer us this humbly.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall the hotel is clean and the rooms are pretty nice (small but nice)
The location is good too, the train station is a few minutes away, and the promenade is really close by too. The breakfast is expensive but very good and huge!

I went on a business trip there so I was sharing a room with a colleague, and we only had internet on one device only per person, which is not enough when you're on business trip and you need your phone and laptop (at least), to be connected to wifi.
Staff was nice but not only on top of everything. I hear some people having lots if trouble with their reservations, we didn't though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jun0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us. We are glad that overall your stay was a good one. May I suggest that a future stay with us is made via our website directly to avail yourself to extra privileges like more wifi devices, breakfast inclusion etc whilst also guaranteeing the best available rate.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Regal Kowloon when you next visit beautiful Hong Kong.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is my third time staying at this hotel, with expectations that it's going to better each time as a returning guest. However, it's getting worse and may consider to try out new hotel in future.

Firstly we were given a room that was not ready, when we open the door (Room 1409), there was a staff in suit inside still doing checking. Then we informed concierge and the female staff at concierge given us another room unwillingly. Next moment after moving to the new room, the same hotel staff just opened our door with his key card in the changed room (Room 1340) without knocking the door. What security are we talking about if any hotel staff can just open the door when the guests are inside the room.

Next we drank some tea in the hotel and the cup with the teabag was not cleared on the next day, even the room was made up, the cup with the soaked teabag was just lying on the table, not cleaned up or cleared.

Last but not least, the room was beside some generator room, we heard pounding sounds even at 4am in the morning, definitely affecting our sleep. When we were boarding the shuttle bus, the porters just stood there chatting with each other, pretending that they did not see us, not helping us with the heavy luggage.

I hope that the hotel can have improvements in near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. What you have pointed out is not we expect from our team here at the hotel.
Your concerns are very valid and Housekeeping, Front Office and Concierge have seen and reviewed your critique with the aim of improving their service.
We thank you for pointing these experiences to us and hopefully will welcome you with better service standards on your return.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not sure what I was expecting but certainly wasn't this. This was the first hotel after 18 days in China where wifi was not included in the room and was extremely expensive. If you accessed it in the lobby, you had 30 minutes every 12 hours only. I made the mistake of sitting down in a chair in the lobby area, which I did not realize was the bar, had to buy a drink since I had sat down! Cost was $$$. Mouthwash had a price tag on it in the room. Room was only average. Paid a lot extra to upgrade and receive free snacks and larger updated room, which meant no plugs visible to charge your phones, etc. Had to pay for adaptor to use the one plug at the desk. Shower was odd in that there was only one sliding door so water went everywhere. Ants on seating area. If this was the updated upgrade, I would have hated to see the other. The upgrade costs an extra $100 for 2 nights, extremely expensive and if we had not been so exhausted, probably would have requested to move to the downgrade to save the money. It certainly was not worth $100. The snacks were a one time thing with 3 bottles of beverages, 2 sodas and a bottle of water, and a small can of pringles, and some nuts. Nowhere near the price tag. Also had been told we would have a view of the harbor, yes, but only if you craned your neck sideways could you get a very slim view. After traveling throughout China I was looking forward to not needing translators and guides. While the front desk staff knew English, I felt like there was a language barrier with the concierge staff. When we asked for a restaurant suggestion, we were only given a vague description of where it was, sent out to retrieve a taxi, taxi driver spoke no English, no one at the front door knew how to tell him where we wanted to go, etc. The restaurant he sent us to was a bust too, poor service, high prices, etc. Exchange rates were high also. Just not what I expected for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerri l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMREGAL, General Manager at Regal Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your review with us during your recent stay. Our free internet is available with most OTA's and our website. We noted your agent did not have this as part of their offer to you. We are sorry to learn your upgrade did not meet with your expectations and you paid for an adaptor. Use of the adaptor is free and we only charge people who wish to take it with them, sorry this was not pointed out to you during your stay.
Our staff didn't record any ant issues which we could have immediately addressed on the day. We are sorry you had this experience. I have also spoken to concierge to make sure better accommodation and service are given to all our guests.
Again, we are sad to hear your stay did not meet with your expectation. May I suggest to achieve a better priced stay which includes benefits like internet, breakfast, room type etc next time you take advantage of our Regal Web page which will also offer you the best available price. Thank you.
Best regards
Christo Diamandopoulos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#52 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#76 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
New World Millennium Hong Kong Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Kowloon Hotel
The Kowloon Hotel
#139 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Kowloon Hotel

Property: Regal Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.71 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#76 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in centre Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong's most famous commercial and entertainment district. Regal Kowloon Hotel is the finest in business, leisure and family travel. All guestrooms are newly furnished and offer spacious accommodations, ample meeting space for any type of event, and a variety of excellent food, including Cantonese cuisine, American & Italian restaurant, international buffets, stylish healthy specialties and refreshing cocktails at V Bar. Please visit us at Regal Kowloon Hotel in Hong Kong and we are happy to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regal Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Kowloon Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Kowloon
Regal Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing