We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regal Riverside Hotel
Ranked #163 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I am a frequent traveler but haven't experienced any hotel with such a terrible service. My flight landed Hong Kong at 5 AM and I reached the hotel at 7 AM. I requested the hotel for an early checkin a lot in advance (1 month). But when we reached the hotel, the receptionist said that the checkin is possible only after 12. We requested that and even told that we have already informed the staff regarding this but they were so stiff about the checkin time that they didn't even considered 1 hr prior checkin. Because of the late night flight, we couldt sleep properly and because of the hotel staff, we had to wait 5 hours in the lobby. There are much better options in Hong kong. I won't recommend this to anyone traveling to hong kong.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sonali24: Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Regal Riverside Hotel, sorry to hear that you were disappointed about room not being made available to you at 7:00 in the morning. Please accept our sincere apologies. Other than that, we trusted your stay was comfortable and you both have enjoyed Hong Kong.

Please do allow me to take a minute to explain to the readers that we always give our best efforts to fulfill guest's request, such as early check-in at no charge, however, finding vacant room so early in the morning sometime becomes a very challenging task, especially when we are running full house most of the time. I am sure you would agree with me that if you were one of the guests in house from the night before, you will not want to be disturbed early in the morning and be hurried to leave the hotel long before the official check-out time of 12:00 noon, just to give your room to the next arriving guest! Our standard check-out time is 12:00 noon and check-in is at 2:00pm, although whenever possible, we will always try to readied any vacant and clean rooms with priority for guests who came earlier than 2:00pm.

Unless a certain hotel always has plenty of vacant rooms each and every night, they can easily assign room for early morning, but then again that might not be the hotel you want to stay at. Otherwise if the hotel is running full house, it would be unreasonable to expect the hotel to hold out one or more of its guest rooms unsold from the night before just for the early arrival of the next day's guests. It is also a common practice that in some cases, guests would reserve the room for the night before in order to accommodate their own early arrival in the morning.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor, we look forward to having you back in the not too distance future.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 679 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

It was my first stay at the Regal Riverside Hotel for a month long. I got a very spacious and neat room with a nice sofa. It was very comfortable, especially for a long stay. I was very impressed by the good services and friendly staff. Smooth check-in and check-out. They also did an excellent job on housekeeping and the housekeepers always greeted me with nice smile. The bus stop just right in front of the hotel makes it easy to go places. Free WiFi in room is a big plus. I will definitely use this hotel again and will highly recommend it to others.

Excellent overall experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Melissa F: Thank you very much for staying at Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We are most delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us, and our services and facilities were to your utmost satisfaction. Rest assured that all of us at Regal Riverside will continue in our endeavor to maintain the finest standard at all times.

We very much look forward to serving you again in the not distant future when we will make your stay a most comfortable and enjoyable one.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights with my family. Room service was not good. I was staying with my 2 kids and they just provided 2 small bottles of water. All the 3 days i had to remind them to provide 2 extra bottles as we were 4 people. The breakfast for all 3 days had the same menu with long lines on the egg station.the other food items were also depleted fast and we had to request again and again for replacement. When they know the no of guests in advance arrangements should be made accordingly. Good thing was 30 min of free wifi in lobby and helpful reception employees.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear sanjay b: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and your constructive comments are well noted. Our housekeepers are reminded to pay more attention on replenishing the room amenities while our outlet manager will review the restaurant operation especially during peak hours. We do apologize for any inconvenience may have caused.

Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you for your future stay at Regal Riverside Hotel.

Best regards
Peter Chiu 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Regal Riverside Hotel is located at the Shatin, whic is away from the busy and noisy downtown. I enjoyed jogging along the river bank. Also I enjoyed the variety of international cousine in Sahtin town mall just 5 minutes away from the hotel. Also you can enjoy sauna at the hotel after the long busy day. I recommend you this hotel strongly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikechoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Ikechoi: Thank you very much for your kind remarks. Your comment on recommending our hotel is greatly appreciated and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon. All of us at Regal Riverside will strive even harder to keep up the good work.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was my first trip to Asia and it was with some trepidation about the quality of the hotel. I was pleasantly suprised when i arrived. The welcome of the staff on arrival was warm and friendly and i was given a large room which overlooked the river. It was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Although the hotel is in sha tin it very easy to TST or central.
I walked across the river to the shopping mall which is very good and a visit to the racecourse is a must.
The hotel is good value for money and i would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the river is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear EJM1955: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your pleasant experience on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed the convenient location as well as the nice surrounding of our hotel. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We got in a newly renovated room, clean, spacious, modern. The whole hotel is undergo renovation it seems. Although it is located in shatin, bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Many bus will take you into MTR so you can get to everywhere quick. We stayed for 3 nights at the last part of our asia trip. It is a hotel you can base to explore Kowloon sides and NT. Price is very reasonable as compared to other hotels in Mongkok or TST. Bed is comfortable and spacious. Staff are friendly and accommodating. They even let us to store our luggages there 3-day before checking in! Book through the hotel website to get free internet service in room and airport transfer for free!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ada N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Ada N: Thank you for sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your expectations. Your comments make us aware that we are headed for the right direction and we will certainly maintain our standards to cater to our guests.

Thank you again for your sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I only stayed in this place one night while moving out from my apartment across the river. So, I know the neighbourhood quite well. The hotel is located nicely at the riverfront, but quite far from TST and/or Central HK. There is a nice mall across from the river. A 20 minute walk. Thats also where the KCR station is located to China border or Hung Hom as well as the 10,000 buddha temple, behind that IKEA Furniture Mall. I was allocated a room on the 15th floor to the back of the hotel. Rooms are nice and offer good space. Nothing to complain for the money they ask. I did not use any hotel services. Check-in was rather lengthy process. The only thing I can remark is that rooms are rather noisy. Mainly through the door of the room going into the hallway. It was easy to hear other guests going in&out, and the cleaning lady in the hallway.

Room Tip: I was in 15093. I nice, spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikHK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear ErikHK28: Thank you very much for choosing at Regal Riverside Hotel and posted your sharing on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that in general you had a pleasant stay with us. We will certainly remind our housekeeping associates to be more careful when carrying out daily duties to minimize disturbance.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#109 of 730 in Hong Kong
995 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#47 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kowloon City
Regal Oriental Hotel
Regal Oriental Hotel
#157 of 730 in Hong Kong
987 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#61 of 730 in Hong Kong
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Riverside Hotel

Address: 34-36 Tai Chung Kiu Road, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#121 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £58 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Shing Mun River in Shatin, Regal Riverside Hotel is only 30-minute drive away from Hong Kong International Airport and is located conveniently near 2 MTR stations and a mega shopping complex featuring over 900 brand boutiques, individually operated shops, dining and entertainment places. The 1,138-room hotel operates routine shuttle services to Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong Disney Land, Ngong Ping 360 and Tsimshatsui East together with other public transports right on the hotel's doorstep, guests can easily connect to all shopping, entertainment and business districts in Hong Kong. Shatin features places of interest such as the 10,000 Buddha Temple, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Jockey Club, a famous world class horse racing arena, Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Science Park. The hotel also features 10 restaurants and bars as well as a wide range of recreational facilities such as the beautiful outdoor swimming pool (closes during winter period), spacious fitness center with sauna, steam, Jacuzzi and beauty services. The hotel's OM Spa, designed in contemporary Thai style and infused with a soothing sense of harmony and serenity, provides professional spa and massage services to discerning guests for nourishing their body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Regal Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Riverside Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Riverside
Regal Riverside Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing