We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regal Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Upper House(Hong Kong)
US$701
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$936
US$684
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$592
US$547
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$902
US$785
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$293
US$231
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$675
US$413
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$643
US$571
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$216
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,692)
Filter reviews
1,692 results
Traveller rating
336
704
419
132
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
704
419
132
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssha tinmoon rivershatin mtrriver viewmun rivernew town plazanew territoriespublic busbus stopbig roomoctopus cardlate checkshopping mallairport shuttlefree shuttleroom ratebuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
685 - 690 of 1,692 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Recently renovated this popular hotel as a lot on offer. We expected Sha Tin to be in the middle of nowhere but there is so much going on here we will now make it our main base for HK. Outside the hotel there are buses to the airport, centre of town, MRT train station (5 mins) ferries etc and there is also a few temples and museums nearby. Would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank DollyBirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear DollyBirdScotland: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and your comment on staying with us again is greatly appreciated.

We are pleased to learn that you found our hotel is easily accessible to the airport as well as some local attractions by public transportations. We sincerely hope that your stay with us was enjoyable and we very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We went for an early check in and there were a few hiccups which were handled so well by the staff. We have been in HK for years but this is a first time at the out of town Regal Riverside in Shatin and we were looking for a relaxing stay. However the hotel from the 1 May holiday was so busy but everything in the hotel went smoothly, super fast check in, attentive staff, wonderful room beautifully and newly furnished, really fast internet throughout the hotel, so many restaurants it think 7 and easy access to Shatin Town Center. The spa with sauna, jacuzzi is great way to relax, we where hoping for a swim but the weather was against that - next time though. I have no hesitation giving this hotel 10/10 and thanks to the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are magnificent. Refurbishment is in progress and those completed are wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbuckell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear rbuckell: Thank you very much for staying at Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and our services and facilities were to your utmost satisfaction. Rest assured that all of us at Regal Riverside will continue in our endeavor to maintain our finest standard at all times, and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

First stay and excellant all round.
Ideal for business in Kowloon or further out to the New Territories.
Floors 10 to 15 are the exec floors and excellant value in a proffessional and safe environment.
Its busy as all HK hotels are with mainland Chinese but its large and well organised.
The big plus, is that all the resources are under one business banner,
Lots of choice with two excellant inhouse entertainment venues and loads of food resturant choices.
Well connected to the main bus routes and Shatin KCRC/MTR rail system.
Direct and quick from Central to LoWo

Room Tip: Floors 10 to 15, around HK$750 including free exec lounge buffet breakfast and supper. Book direct it's cheaper .....
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHILIP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear PHILIP B: We are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and our services and facilities were to your expectations. Naturally, it is our aim to make our guests as happy and comfortable as possible and it is always a pleasure to hear that we have achieved this.

Your praises are highly appreciated and we very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The basics are fine: good sized room, comfy bed, really great housekeeping service. (I got some laundry done on a same day service - it was great. My cleaner was, too.)

Air con was pretty noisy.

Room service was a problem - a couple of times I called and no one even answered; once I called and they said they'd call back but left it so long I couldn't order; twice I did actually get food but had to wait over 40 minutes for it.

There are several restaurants on site - the Japanese one on the ground floor is brilliant; the award-winning Chinese one called Dragon Inn has nice food but dreadful service - I was seated behind a pillar and basically ignored - had to walk across the restaurant several times to find service staff.

Breakfast buffet on the third floor is busy and has a comprehensive range of food, but is really expensive.

The problems getting food were frustrating as I was working, tethered to the hotel, and wanted a quick, efficient service. However, if you're a leisure traveller you could do a lot worse as a base to explore the New Territories: there are plenty of places to eat nearby if you don't need to be chained to your desk. I particularly enjoyed A1 Bakery at New Town Plaza nearby!

It's a busy hotel and not exactly private, but it is nice to be by the river and get a bit of air compared to the claustophobia of Central.

Room Tip: Use this hotel for sleeping and find food elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Wilma1977: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and taking time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that our room furbishing as well as the services from our Housekeeping were to your expectations. Your comments on the services of Room Service and Dragon Inn had been shared among the concerned personnel, rest assured that immediate action will be taken for possible improvement. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we treasure your goodwill.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I chose this hotel for its reviews, value, and proximity to my daughter's university, where she is studying abroad. She and I stayed 8 nights, and had a good experience. We enjoyed easy check-in, efficient currency exchange, and help with finding our way to sites via bus and train. Mr. Ricky was a particularly helpful concierge. While a bit long, we found the walk to the MTR a lovely part of our day. Our room did not have a view of the river, but it was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. We ate at two of the restaurants. Avanti offered an excellent salad and pizza (my daughter was craving Western food). We enjoyed our meal at Moon River so much, we ate there three times. They offer excellent, fresh, Cantonese home-style cooking and great service. We had only a few minor disappointments: wi-fi was a bit unreliable and room materials stated that certain resources were available -- yoga mats, for example. I was looking forward to practicing yoga after my long flight, but mats were not available. It would be good to remove these offers from the hotel room guidebook. On the other hand, when we needed ice one evening, it was delivered promptly. All hotel staff were courteous and efficient. My daughter and I had a very good stay at this hotel. I would return if I were to stay in this part of Hong Kong again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Kate G: Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor and we are in great pleasure to learn that you and your daughter had a pleasant stay with us. Your compliments have been passed onto our staff and I am sure they will carry on the fine tradition of Regal with pride. With regards to the yoga mat incident, we will certainly review our in-room collaterals and update all related information. We do apologize for your disappointment on this aspect.

Thank you again for your constructive comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews