We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boy's Weekend Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #502 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The location of this hotel is very good with easy access to the MTR, buses and trams. It is in Wanchai which is considered to be the "Red Light" district of Hong Kong and you do see that some of the many bars aren't only selling beer. Consequently it may not suite families with children. The hotel room was rather small but did was comfortable and quiet with a clean bathroom and a refrigerator. Our flight didn't leave until 23:15 and the only thing that we thought was lacking was a hospitality room to shower before we left the hotel. We had to check out of the hotel at 12:00 so we had about ten hours to see the rest of Hong Kong. The hotel did keep our cases until we left at around 21:30 but we had to use the hotels gymn showers to get ourselves cleaned up before the long flight home. Unfortunately the shower rooms were not air conditioned and were very uncomfortable and it was very difficult to get dry after the shower. We had a great weekend staying at the Wharney Guang Dong hotel and saw many of the marvelous sites of Hong Kong. I would stay there again, but if the flight home was as late again I would book the room for an extra day so at least we could have a cool shower before we left.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a good position in Wan Chai, I stayed there twice 2/3 weeks ago its only a few mins walk from the MTR.
The breakfast is average, the Canny man bar downstairs is quite good, its a Scottish themed pub which being Scottish I had to have a look in.
The room size was ok in the first room we had was ok, the second room was dated, and its toilet was a little dirty. Its beds were typical Chinese "a little to hard"

Room Tip: The area where the Hotel is is near the MTR, surrounded by dodgy bars decent restaurants and straig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you are coming to Hong Kong for a couple of days for business or just a stop through, then this is an OK hotel to base yourself. They have recently renovated so the rooms are much fresher than before, but in many ways this is a discount hotel without the discount hotel price.

Its located in the hear of Wanchai, where (if you like drinking and the odd approach by the ladies or ladyboys of the night :-), then this is a good location to be... I would not say this is the family hotel, purely because of its location not because its a bad hotel.

Rooms are small but functional.. a lot of tour groups come through, especially from Mainland China, thus the TV channels on offer tend to be mostly in Mandarin, although you can get CNN and Sky News.

Easy to get a taxi from outside of the hotel, and the restaurants are fine.. there is actually a hidden gem in the basement called the Canny Man's, named after a similar bar in Morningside in Edinburgh.. its a Scottish Bar with good Pub food... black pudding and Scotch Pies.. WONDERFUL..

Room Tip: Even the executive rooms there is no difference from the normal rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel is situated near the Wanchai MTR, so its very accessible and convenient. Lots of eateries and restaurants around the hotel too.

However, there are many pubs/bars near to this hotel, so families with children may not find this hotel so suitable. These pubs/bars are considered to be the red-light district of Wanchai.

Staff are adequate but not friendly.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for Non-smoking room if you are not a smoker, and do indicate if you need a double b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stilldelving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Due to an ongoing conference in the nearby convention centre, I chose this hotel following a high rating on booking.com. We booked a superior double room, 18th floor. The location is extremely good for whoever needs to have access to the convention centre. It is five minutes walk, 95% over the aerial walkways that cross most of the city's avenues. Taking into account the humid and wet weather of HGK, this is great. It is located in Lockhart Road, and you should keep in mind that it is not exactly an elegant road, the hotel is close to many night clubs open 24/7, and you will have to deal with the gaze of the many ladies sitting outside and asking you to come in and get a drink. The hotel lobby is basic. Staff is extremely quick and responsive. Rooms are also acceptable, nothing you would remind of, but acceptable. I haven't had any in-room dining - and I don't know if this option is available. I had breakfast at the executive floor lounge. The breakfast is really basic. A few tables, self service. Selection is limited. I would rate three stars if it were not for the price, extremely competitive, which, notwithstanding the ongoing convention, was 19.000HK$ for 3 rooms, 6 nights, i.e. a bit more than 1000HK$ per night. And for the location, that for whoever needs to work at the convention centre, is extremely convenient - if you cannot afford the Hyatt within the convention centre itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stekl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Better than average hotel in a great location if you are in Hong Kong to party or work at the Exhibition Centre, then it is just a short walk. Otherwise be prepared to walk past the Lady Bars with your family.
Rooms feel a little dated but no major issues.
Would go back at the right price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaikai88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Located right in the heart of Wanchai's night life. Hotel rooms are a bit small. Breakfast is just fair (no buffet). Ten minutes walking distance to the HK Convention Center. Tons of great eats around including Ebeneezer's, which is a must! Great area to chug down a few beers at night before the next days work. Not the nicest hotel in the area but.....Location, Location, Location!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#48 of 729 in Hong Kong
194 reviews
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#89 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#129 of 729 in Hong Kong
403 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#137 of 729 in Hong Kong
917 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Harbourview Hong Kong
The Harbourview Hong Kong
#158 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai Bay, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £59 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of accommodation are required whenever you go to some place for any purpose. The purpose can either be tourism or it may be the profession. Hong Kong is also one of the best places of attraction without any second thought. It is the place with tourist attractions, which are enjoyed by a large number of people throughout the world. Hong Kong has done every best effort to give the tough c ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wharney Guang Dong Hong Kong
Wharney Hotel Hong Kong
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing