We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely Loved this Stunning Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #49 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We absolutely Loved this Stunning Hotel.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were lucky enough to enjoy four nights at this wonderful hotel in a Harbourview Room.
The view was absolutely amazing and I could have spent hours gazing out of the massive curtained glass windows. The views across to Hong Kong island are sensational.
The hotel has thoughtfully placed a large comfortable chair with additional footrest next to the window and once you sit down it is hard to tear yourself away from the glorious view across the water.
The room we had was massive by Hong Kong standards and we loved the large desk carefully placed looking out towards Hong Kong Island. I could have spent a long time sitting at that desk but Hong Kong is very time consuming and we weren't able to spend as much time in the room as we would have liked.
The bed was massive and very comfortable.
The bathroom was well equipped with goodies, shampoos etc and had a bath and huge freestanding separate shower cubicle. It was very easy to dry clothes in this bathroom. This is always a very important consideration when I am staying in Hotels. I do wish hotels would consider putting two hooks on the back of the bathroom door. These hotels are used primarily by single businessmen I imagine but it is very frustrating when there are two people fighting over one hook for the large bath towel.
This hotel is very well placed. There are walkways in front, with lots of people running and generally keeping fit. Lots of benches for you to rest a while too.
We found lots of restaurants in the vicinity. There is a Mc Donalds within walking distance, a lovely German Bread and pastries shop called 'Das Gute' and a cheaper restaurant doing 'rice type' typical chinese meals opposite the cruise ship in the middle of the town. Yes there is a cruise ship right in the centre ! At the back of the ship there is an entrance into the shopping centre inside it. We missed this for the first two days !!! There is a very good supermarket in the basement for anything you have forgotten or for snacks etc.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel which offers the most stunning views.
TIPS.
If you want a great 360 panorama view of Hong Kong go up to the roof top where they have the infinity swimming pool. You can also see the Laser Fireworks in the distance at night time.
You access the roof via the Sports Spa in the Hotel. The laser show started at 8pm while we were there. Best viewed from the Kowloon waterfront near the Star Ferry.
We had a few hours wait for transport while we were leaving the hotel and sat upstairs in the very quiet lounge. There is a great big sweeping marble staircase with a massive crystal chandelier and we were lucky enough to see a young couple having their wedding photographs taken on these stairs.
The hotel is slightly further away than some of the Kowloon hotels but getting a taxi was always easy and very cheap.

Room Tip: It is well worth upgrading to a harbour view room. Ask to be on as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TizzyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review and useful tips - I couldn't have written better myself. I think guests always appreciate hearing from someone who has actually experienced it. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to being able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    988
    247
    60
    31
See reviews for
683
1,255
108
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Three of us had a six night stay in a harbour view room at the Harbour Grand at the beginning of February. The hotel did not disappoint! The room was spacious despite the addition of a rollaway bed. The bathroom was well appointed and had everything you could need. Of course, the view of Victoria Harbour to North Point really made the room - if you are thinking about staying here, book a room with a view!
The half hourly shuttle from the hotel to Kowloon and central TST was great. It meant you had a great hotel in a quiet location but with easy access to all of Hong Kong.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet more than adequate on all counts.
The only small downside was a pretty small selection of TV channels.
A great place to stay in HK - book it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjm1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review! It's true, the harbour view is the best part about our hotel although, I don't suppose we can really take credit for the harbour being beautiful. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - looking forward to being able to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
303 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a seven night stay at the Harbour Grand Kowloon. I am delighted to stay that the same five star service that we experienced twelve months ago is still very evident today!

This visit we opted not to stay in the Harbour Club and instead booked a Deluxe Harbour View Room. Identical to the room we had on our last visit (except four floors lower), the view was stunning, the room large well equipped and comfortable, room service exceptional and the most comfortable bed and pillows I have ever encountered in a hotel. The bathroom was spacious and complimentary toiletries were replenished every day. Generous in size, soft bath towels were a nice change to those we have experienced in other hotels.

As part of our package we had daily buffet breakfast at the Promenade restaurant included. The variety of breakfast options at the Promenade is amazing and includes both Asian and Western choices. Made to order omelettes, cereals, pastries, noodles, soups, eggs, bacon, sausages, juices and more were available each morning with the bonus of an amazing view of Hong Kong Harbour (looking towards North Point).

Wi-Fi was available for a charge and the staff were very helpful in setting it up on my iPad. Whilst not a cheap daily rate for the internet I was to find during our stay in Singapore that the Harbour Grand rate was a steal by comparison.

The Harbour Grand has a half hourly shuttle service that services Hung Hom MTR station, Hankow Rd (next to the Peninsula Hotel) and Mody Rd at East Tsim Sha Shui. All these locations provide easy access to all Kowloon has to offer.

I would like to compliment all the staff at the Harbour Grand on the extremely helpful and pleasant manner in which they conduct themselves. From the wonderful gentlemen at the front door to the front desk and wait staff in the restaurant, nothing ever seemed too much trouble.

The hotel has a beautiful roof top pool that affords the most spectacular views day and night. It also has a well equipped modern gym that my husband loved.

Location of the Harbour Grand is fantastic as you are away from the frantic pace and noise of Tsim Sha Shui but close enough to avail yourself of all that Kowloon and Hong Kong have to offer. It is worthwhile spending some time to walk around Whampoa and mixing with the locals. The local Pizza Hut restaurant was great as was the Outback Steakhouse. The Jusco department store located in the Whampoa Ship is a quaint local store which is a mini department / supermarket. A great place to pick up some beer or wine so you can sit in your room with a quiet drink and enjoy watching the harbour.

I cannot speak highly enough of the Harbour Grand and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and have a Deluxe Harbour View room, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank missskybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest, We might just be blushing from the rave review you gave us ;-) To be honest, we truly love having guests come back to us, not only because we are happy to see you again but because it lets us know that we are doing things right. Will pass your kind comments onto our staff - it will make their day! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights en route to New Zealand - and what a great start to the holiday. The entrance is like stepping into a film set with the great marble staircase rising from the lobby. The room was large and very comfortable with great views between neighbouring buildings to Hong Kong Island. The staff were friendly and attentive. The choice of meals, should you decide to eat in are excellent - from the large buffet restaurant, the grill to the cafe with substantial snacks. The breakfast offers an incredible range to suit all nationalities. The rooftop infinity swimming pool is amazing with great views in most directions. Whilst the hotel is a little out of the main action the half hourly courtesy bus offers and alternative to the pleasant promenade walk to the Star ferry. What surprised us was the still strong British influence inthe former colony - be it children in school uniforms or Marks & Spencer.
Atrip to the island is a must - go by the Star Ferry and visit the business district, the Peak and the Man Mo Temple. We were there as the preparations for Chinese New Year were well underway. Kowloon Walled Park is a oasis of tranquility and beauty in this bustling area.The view from the Kowloon harbour front to the island is stunning at night

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest, "Wow" what a review! Thank you for the great complements and for choosing to stay with us. Always happy to hear that we have done our job well!. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 11 nights in January 2012 over Chinese New Year. The room was large with plenty of room for all of us. The full size bathtub was good for the kids - and also the adults after long days exploring the city. Complimentary bottles of water and fruit bowl were much appreciated as well. The Harbour view from the room was fantastic and from the rooftop pool just awesome. We swam once, even though it was winter.
The location was not a problem for us. We used the free shuttle bus a lot and when we did catch taxis they were cheap and easy to find. It was actually really nice to be able to wander around along the Harbour right outside the hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the busier areas of TST or HK Island.
During our stay we ate at the Japanese restaurant and the seafood buffet at the Promenade Restaurant. The food was great at both, with the buffet a hit with the kids. We also had one of the best yum cha meals of our trip at the Chinese restaurant in the hotel.
We didn't have much interaction with hotel staff but organized an airport transfer with a minimum of fuss when we were leaving.

Room Tip: Go the harbourview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keryn_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time write a review. So pleased to hear that you had a good time in Hong Kong and with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The swimming pool on the top of this hotel is fantastic. People sitting beside the pool can see you as you swim by or underwater but the view towards North Point is brilliant. Very relaxing sipping a cocktail at dusk on a nice evening during summer while cooling down in the pool

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms worth the extra money with very large windows.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Treve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review - the pool is definitely one of our best spots and we are glad you enjoyed it. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Hong Kong and we are looking forward to being able to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked 3 nights at the Grand Harbour Kowloon pre cruise in January. I can only say we were delighted by our choice.

As 3 women in a family group we booked a harbour view room for 3 people and despite the extra bed, a fold together portable bed, a wheelchair and 3 large suitcases there was still plenty of room. Beds are comfortable (including portable bed) Bedding and the general presentation of the room was clean and inviting.

There was a large bathroom with both a large shower cubicle and a bath. Perhaps the only criticism would be the position of the toilet. We are 3 Beryl Cookesque ladies and we had to use it on the slant due to a pillar being about 12 inches in front of the loo.This was in no way detrimental to our overall opinion of this hotel. Complimentary toileteries were good quality and plentiful.

The view out of the window was stunning and it was a treat to lie in bed and watch the boats in the harbour.

The staff are friendly and helpful and it was with some shock that we were greeted by name on the second day of our visit by reception staff we had not previously met.
The concierge went above and beyond the call and managed to book us a specialised wheelchair access taxi to transport us on Chinese New Years Eve! Both reception and concierge staff were most helpful and informative in relation to information for the independent tourist.

Housekeeping staff are attentive to your needs and are more than helpful in the provision of tea and coffee for your specific needs.

The breakfast had a vast choice of good quality foods. We had great fun counting the nanoseconds before dirty dishes were removed, An overall observation of hot food in the Far East is that is does seem to be on the cooler side.

Sadly the weather was not condusive to using the pool or jacuzzi, but there is a lovely infinity style pool on the roof.

There is a shuttle bus to the central areas of Hong Kong, however as we have visited Hong Kong previously, we took some time to look arond the local area. The architecture immediately surrounding the hotel is impressive and just staring upwards is an event in itself. Wake early and you can watch locals completing their Tai Chi on the waterfront area.

We thoroughly enjoyed spending a while in JustCo the local supermarket, watching locals buying their decorations and foods for the New Year, luckily for us too, there was a sale on and we managed to buy a few presents ourselves. Wandering around the local area, with a wheelchair, drew some strange looks, but we found everyone so friendly if a little surprised at tourists looking around the area, those who could speak English were concerned we were lost but tolerant of our mooching whilst they were preparing for their celebrations. It is a lovely time of year and we enjoyed watching the florists plying their trade.

We also had a lovely meal in a local restaurant, we were the only European, non Hong Kong locals there, We obviously made some faux pas from the laughter on the waitresses face and after attentively observing our deficiencies in the use of chop sticks bought us knives and forks. We had a lovely meal for 3 for approx £30. Unfortunately I cannot name the specific restaurant but I would recommend people be adventurous and take a look around the local area, just to get a feel of Hong Kong, if perhaps a more affluent part.

I would also recommend a visit to Ocean Park. I initially wanted to go to see the Pandas but it offered so much more. Tickets can be bought at hotel reception for face value, and saves you queuing when you get there. A taxi cost us approx $110HK each way. It was hard work pushing a wheelchair but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvmyholS50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear lovely guests, What a wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to also enjoy the festivities of the Lunar New Year! There is nothing more satisfying for us than knowing our guest enjoyed themselves. Looking forward to serving you again. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#55 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,229 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,292 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,778 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing