We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Grand Kowloon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #48 of 715 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I travelled with my 75 year old mother to HK for the first time (not hers). While the Grand Harbour Kowloon is a few minutes from Tsim Sha Tsui (the main drag in Kowloon), its free shuttle or inexpensive and plentiful taxis make it easy and quick (7 minutes) to get there, and to the Star Ferry (and thus across to Hong Kong Island). Frankly, it was a pleasure to get back to our hotel at the end of a long day of exploring. It's a wee bit less frenetic than the rest of Kowloon.
The service at the hotel was impeccable. Having worked at a luxury hotel previously, I was very impressed by both the professionalism and warmth of staff. My mother celebrated her birthday whilst we were there and the staff figured out the date of her birthday and surprised her with a full bottle of wine, cake, and a rose. She was thrilled.
The room was spacious and spotless. The gym facilities fantastic and the rooftop pool spectacular. Our chief pleasure was breakfast in the bright dining area overlooking HK Harbour, and sipping a glass of wine at the end of the day outside at the lounge. The views from the hotel are simply fantastic. I would absolutely stay here again. Kudos to the Management and Staff of the Grand Harbour Kowloon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your raving review! I have passed your wonderful comments onto our staff - it is sure to make their day! Sounds like you had a lovely time in Hong Kong - please pass our regards onto your mum! Hoping to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,466
    940
    239
    58
    30
See reviews for
653
1,202
104
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We loved the location of the hotel. It was a nice walk to the Avenue of Stars (20-30 minutes) or one could take the free shuttle. Both options were great. The shuttle service was very punctual. Excellent service.
The hotel is nice. We booked a room with harbour view, but make sure you get a room on the correct wing of the hotel. Our first "harbour view" room had not much of a view. Our view was toward the wall of the other wing of the hotel. Not worth paying the extra amount of money for, so we wanted to change our room.
The other room was on the right wing of the hotel with a better of the harbour (unobstructed). However, I don't know if I would pay for the view again, while it was only a partial view of the skyline.
The bathroom could use some TLC.
We were keen on using the "infinite" swimming pool on the roof. This was a bit of a disappointment. The chairs next to the pool were old and not very comfy and the whole are did make an unappealing/unattractive impression (not clean, not very well taken care of) - could have been a much better place if better maintained.
We used the breakfast buffet 2 times and it is excellent. It is quite expensive, but you can't fault it.
There are a lot of breakfast places in the area though and some great restaurants as well. You don't have to eat in the hotel if you don't want to. The area is actually quite nice with some local restaurants with great affordable food.
We don't think we will return to Hong Kong - we enjoyed it, and like the sights, but it is not a place I recommend for return visits. If we would return we might stay at a different hotel, not because this hotel is not okay, but because we know in Hong Kong you only sleep in your hotel and you are going to be "out and about " all the time, so we will spent our money differently.
All in all good hotel - watch out if you get what you pay for, breakfast is great, but expensive (only get it when it comes as a package deal), swimming pool needs more attention and a bit of a clean.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the room before you accept the room, especially if you paid extra for Harbour Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Although majority of our rooms have a full harbour view, we do recommend that guest let us know what they would like and we will try our best to accommodate. Thank you for letting us know how we could be of assistance to you. I have passed your comments regarding the pool to the appropriate department. Sorry to hear that you will not be returning to Hong Kong but please know that you are ever welcome. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Love this hotel and have stayed a few times - the closure of the Star Ferry Hung Hom terminal is a shame because now the easiest link to public transport which was just 5 mins walk away has gone

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john_hartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

this hotel is perfectly positioned on the harbour, with stunning views. The entrance lobby is impressive with floor to ceiling windows and a sweeping stair case. Our rooms overlooked the courtyard, but we asked for an upgrade and changed rooms to overlook the harbour, which was definatley worth the extra.
The roof top pool is smallish, but lovely - one side overlooking the harbour) is glass - so when you swim underwater it feels like you could just swim on into the harbour - awesome! The breakfast was OK - not as extensive a buffet as we have had else where in similar standard hotles, and they were a bit slow refreshing things at times. There is a choice of restaurantts- we ate in the smarter one - with views over the harbour and the food and servce were excellent.
The only real downside is that the hotel is a bit off the beated track - it is quite a distnce to the nearest MTR station and although some reviews say it easily walkable, with 2 small boys, we couldnt see and easliy walkable safe route. Having said this, the hotel provide a free shuttle to Kowloon and the star ferry and taxis are cheap and plenitful.

Room Tip: go for a harbour view - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

First trip to HK and very impressed with how easy it is to get around / in from airport / on to hotel - great first impressions. Not such a good impression when at check-in we were strongly encouraged to "deposit" 4,000 HK $ to cover 4 days "spend" in the hotel...!! Needless to say, we didn't hand it over (and didn't spend anything in the hotel - just too expensive!). This "deposit" was in lieu of swiping a credit card, because we don't use credit cards and apparently they prefer not to accept debit cards as their system will take some cash and it can take a while to get it back if you don't spend it during your stay...
The hotel itself was lovely and in a great location slightly away from the full on buzz of most of HK - but with more than enough places to eat / shop etc in the local vicinity if you couldn't be bothered to take the very good (free) hotel shuttle bus downtown.
As other reviewers have said, do go for a harbour view room - after all - it's probably what you came all that way for! Try and get on a breakfast inclusive deal because it really was great - absolutely everything to choose from.
Brits beware! it wasn't just the hotel that was expensive, small beer 5 or 6 quid, std Starbucks about a third more than at home.. You take plenty dollar!

Room Tip: You can have asked for a non-smoking room - but you might not get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bishbashio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Upon arriving in Hong Kong we had a terrible misfortune of our luggage being lost, and no promise from the airline as to when or how it would arrive. After a tiresome travel, this was the last thing we wanted to deal with on our vacation. Luckily for us, upon checking into this hotel, and explaining our situation to the clerk, they immediately took care of everything. They hunted down our luggage, sent up slippers and toiletries to try and make us more comftorable, and schedule some activities for us the next day. Even when it was raining, the concierge provided us with an umbrella, revised our intneriary for the day, and sent us on our way happily.

The hotel itself is beautiful, the rooms are especially clean and the bathrooms are big. I would definately recommend getting the room with the view, as it was incredible way to see the harbor.

In our opinion the location was perfect for us, especially with the hotel offering a free shuttle to downtown every thirty minutes. It was very easy to get around, and the staff was very helpful!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest, It is such a headache losing luggage - glad that it was sorted out in the end. We are firm believers that travel mishaps should not ruin your stay or holiday! Happy to hear that we were able to help and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. staff very efficient & friendly. Large, clean bedrooms with amazing view over the harbour, big bathrooms with both bath & separate walk in shower. Big breakfast buffet. It is out of down town Kowloon, but free shuttle bus runs frequently to various stops in Kowreview stayed for 3 nights & would definitely stay again. Lovely pool on roof with great views, & good leisure facilities.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to leave your review. Looking forward to your next visit. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#57 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 715 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,346 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing