We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sensational”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #53 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
guwahati, Assam
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“sensational”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

A wonderful and amazing place to stay in Hongkong. We're upgraded to the Harbour view higher floor corner rooms with a great , fantastic and magical view of the Harbour.(browse thru our pics). The property is ideally situated near the Whompoa Garden area, with lots of eating and shopping area nearby. The hotel runs a regular and frequent shuttle service to the Nathan Road, which is very convinient and helpful. The lobby and the hotel area is grand and stupendous.They are well maintained too. We stayed there for 4 nights and had a wonderful time throughout our stay. Cabs are easily available. The Big Sardar Doorkeepers are well informed about the city and will guide you with lovely and delightful suggestions for your trip to make it more enchanting. Our Rooms were big and spacious, keeping in mind of our 2 daughters(10 & 7) alongwith us,, still the room was quite spacious. Corner room comes with large bathing area (separate shower and tub area), but very small Toilet area. The rooms are very modern, the freeze is well stocked and the service is quite satisfactory.
The real marvel and beauty is the Pool. Its smashing!!!!! the views from it is beyond comparison. The Pool is very neat and clean and well maintained. Attendants are readily available for any help required.
Both checkin and checkout was very prompt less than 5 minutes.
It is very difficult to get any bell boys to get your luggage to your room. No one will be available to welcome you and help you in getting the luggage out from the cab. Some problems were there with basic ground level staff, not helpful(bell boys and concierge staff). So always be prepared to help yourselves with ur luggages and belongings.

Room Tip: higher floor room 8 and above, harbour view(its a must), subject to availability request for corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishweshsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    998
    250
    60
    32
See reviews for
691
1,267
108
326
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (946)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This was my 2nd time staying here for business. My rating is 3.5.
One distinct thing I remember about staying here 4 years ago was that it smelled musky and mildewy in the rooms and hallway---this has not change. Overall the hotel is clean, quiet, and the staff is nice. It just seems old and outdated.
Room- large size, faced the water/city, quiet. The bathroom was not that great- no wow factor.
Breakfast- big assortment of breakfast/light lunch choices.
Pool- good view. Wish wifi could be accessed from the pool area.
Location- on the sea walk, but not near the action (if this is what you want stay in Tsim Sha Tsui).
My preference is to stay somewhere in Tsim Sha Tsui which is closer to shopping and things to do. The only other hotel I've stayed at in HK is the Langham...if you have the budget stay there, so much nicer and closer to everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristyb562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel really is very grand - huge marble entrance foyer with gigantic chandeliers. We had a room on the 19th floor with views over the Harbour... The room was very plush, with massive bed and huge bathroom.

There was a bottle of red wine waiting for us upon arrival, and the staff could not have been more helpful! Breakfast was served between 6am and 10.30, and was first class! Great selection, all freshly cooked.

The location of the hotel is really good too - very close to Fortress Hill train station (a tourist day pass is about £6, and lets you have unlimited travel for 24hours). We certainly made use of the MTR (train) in our 3 days in Hong Kong. We visited each of the islands, did the cable car ride from Ngong Ping to the giant Buddah, as well as Disneyland Hong Kong.

Staff in the hotel were able to tell us the best trips to do, as well as how to get about the city.

The hotel comes highly recommended by me!

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view & high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The stay exceeded my expectations I've got to say!

The Hotel is a short free shuttle-bus ride away from all the hustle and bustle. We upgraded to the Harbour Club floor for an extra 660 HK (taxes inclusive). This meant we could relax in the Harbour Club lounge whenever we liked: breakfast was included, as was afternoon tea, evening refreshments and free internet. Also included in the extra fee was the free pressing of a couple of articles of clothing each day.

The foyer had the wow factor with its impressive sweeping staircase and huge chandelier. We were given a large bright room with a wall-to-wall stunning harbour view. The hotel is at the edge of the water and you can look down and see the swimmers silly enough to be swimming in the harbour or just watch the endless nautical traffic. The room would appeal to the claustrophobics amongst you (and I am one). The bed was a tad too firm for my liking but the pillows were really comfortable.

I found the staff pleasant and courteous, but particularly so in the Harbour Club lounge.

You can walk along a promenade which, for the energetic, takes you right into Tsim Sha Shui. The walk takes about 35 minutes.

On the roof of the hotel is a fabulous pool with the most wonderful views of Hong Kong.

The restaurants are pretty pricey, so my tip is take the Harbour Club option,or wander outside to Whampoa for some cheap food alternatives.

Would I stay here again....you betcha!

Room Tip: pay the extra for the Harbour Club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Three night stay as part of a mini-tour of Asia, booked a harbour view room. Greeted on arrival by very friendly and professional staff at both the door and reception, and the reception area certainly has a 'wow' factor, plenty of marble and a lovely fountain, with great views over the harbour. The room (1332 I think) was fabulous, having looked at the room pics on various websites I was prepared for a window overlooking some water, what we got was an entire wall of glass giving amazing views along the harbour and out towards the sea. Incredible. The room itself was very well equipped and comfortable, with a lovely bathroom and walk-in shower, and all the nice bits you'd expect, fluffy robes, slippers etc. Decent and not overly-expensive minibar, we dined in our room on the first night and the food was very good. The swimming pool area is amazing, panoramic views from a glass-sided pool 20 floors up, and a hot tub with a bar. The high point of the stay came when we returned from a day's shopping on my girlfriend's borthday, in our room we were met by a cake, bottle of wine, flowers and fruit and card from the hotel manager, and we hadn't even told anyone that it was her birthday. We're assuming that the cleaning staff had noticed the cards and wrapping paper in the morning and passed on the message, but however they did it it was a beautiful gesture that really made the stay extra-special.
Neither of us could find a single fault with the hotel and our stay, would definitely return.

We took the hotel shuttle bus from the airport, this wasn't that great as it's shared by a lot of hotels, so makes a lot of stops, and there was quite a walk in the airport (and a wait) at the bus. On the way back we took the other shuttle to Kowloon station, this was much better, and has the great advantage of allowing you to check in at the station, so no queues, and your cases are gone before you reach the airport. Express train gets you to the airport quickly. Really good system.

Room Tip: Harbour view room is a must, and I think charming the reception staff iis probably a good ploy for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kenandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

A fantastic end to a month in China. We were away from the hustle and bustle but could get to the centre easily via the shuttle. Our view was fantastic and the staff went out of their way to answer my many queries re sightseeing.We ate in 3 of the restaurants and the super swimming pool. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Have a high room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne(AUS)/Aachen(GER)
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Harbour Grand Kowloon in a harbour view room on the 18th floor. The service at the hotel was excellent, we were always greeted with a smile and by name in the club lounge. Upon arrival we were sent to the club to check in. Everything went smoothly and our bags were waiting for us in our room. The room itself was ok, but some small things bothered us, like the non-functioning light in the bathroom (was replaced during our stay), I didn't find the hair dryer until our last day ( in a "hidden" cupboard under the suitcase rack), the tv volume couldn't be adjusted at all, the tv picture was a bit fuzzy and there was a stain on the duvet cover. The bathroom was dated and the bath not sparkling clean. I am not usually bothered much by these things, but ther was definitely room for improvement there. The club breakfast was good, a bit more variety would have been good, and the Asian options should be more numerous. The coffee was very good from the machine. I thought the view from the club lounge could be nicer (facing the courtyard). We went to the pool once, was ok but nothing special ( the view was good, but the facility itself was a bit run down).
The location of the hotel was reasonable, and the bus service to Tsim Sha Tsui good, but as a first time guest in Hong Kong I would chose the island because it's so much more practical for shopping and eating out (our primary reasons for the stop over!).
The harbour Grand was a nice hotel, but because of the small flaws I would rate it 3,5/5. I will stay on the island next time.
Oh almost forgot: no free WLAN in the rooms!!!!!!! It is more important than a tv these days!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkeler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,274 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,398 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,847 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing