We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My most favourite hotel in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #57 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at Harbour Grand Kowloon from 27-29 Nov. Our room is a superior harbour view on the 5th floor (room 533). The view from our room is wonderful ! We can see the boats nearer than those in deluxe rooms on higher floor !
We come to Hong Kong nearly every year and have stayed at various hotels as there are lots of choices. This might be the first time that we think we will return to this hotel again and again.
This hotel is most suitable for those who want to relax and enjoy the beauty of the harbour. The hotel itself is very elegant and beautiful. The room is comfortable, clean, and more spacious than most hotels in HK. For those who love shopping, it's about 10-15 mins to TST. Free shuttle bus provided by hotel every 30 mins is very convenient.
We did not eat in the hotel so cannot say about the food. But we noticed that dinner buffet at The Promenade restaurant was very popular and crowded. Around the hotel there are many places to eat including the restaurants at Whampoa Gourmet Place which is only 5 mins walk from the hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had no problem in getting information from them about local shops and restaurants that we wanted to go. The hotel also gave us a bottle of white wine and a bowl of fruit as it was our wedding anniversary which we appreciated a lot.
I highly recommend this hotel. It would surely be our first choice when coming to HK next time. But if you come to HK for the first time and shopping is your main purpose, a hotel in TST might be more suitable for you.

Room Tip: Go for a harbour view room, either superior or deluxe, and ask for the one with full view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasmine53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,999 - 2,005 of 3,106 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

A great find . We arrived early so were able to leave our luggage at the hotel & get the free shuttle into HK.This shuttle runs regularly & as the hotel is a wee way out of the main shopping area is a great service for guests. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a Club Room ( without the club facilities which we could have paid extra for but as we were quite busy decided not to ) with a fantastic view of Victoria Harbour. We actually went to Macau for a night & then came back here & they had noted how much we liked the room so put us back there & noted my preference for future visits - great service .We did not use any of the restaurants to dine nor the hotel pool but did get an excellent coffee from the wee kiosk in the foyer.Plenty of taxi's outside hotel for trips further afield & to airport if you have an early flight as shuttle to airport doesn't start til after 6 am. Taxi's here are good value.We found the staff excellent,courteous, helpful & friendly. The concierge phoned to book dinner for us at a restaurant we wished to try - they could not have been better.The hotel is elegant , has spacious rooms with a good bathroom & is quiet.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor to get a great view of harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I travelled to the Harbour Grand in late October as he was attending the Lighting Fair so we decided to attach a few extra days and explore Hong Kong.
We book a Harbour Club room which meant we where taken straight upstairs to the Club Lounge for express check in on arrival which was great after the long flight there, while we where having breakfast our room was made ready and we where in by 10.00am - fantastic service.
The hotel is absolutely beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful and the views over Victoria Harbour are spectacular everytime you looked out the the window there was something new to see.
It is definately worth booking a Club Room as it includes free wifi in your room on a laptop and free wifi on your mobile phones in the Club Lounge, this saves quite a bit of money as the wifi here is expensive if you have to pay. The other advantage is that you have a private dining area for breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drink way from the hurly burly of the main restuarant which can get very loud at times.
We also used the roof top pool which again has amazing views and the spa for foot and back massages which where wonderful.
We found the location of the hotel excellent for exploring Kowloon and Hong Kong, the taxis are really cheap but the hotel also runs a shuttle bus service to the main areas in Kowloon such as the Star Ferry and a drop off near Nathan Road.
We used the Big Bus Tour to explore Kowloon and Hong Kong over a two day period which was exceptional value for money and got us everywhere we wanted to go, we would highly recommend you do this at the beginning of your visit so you can get the lay of the land. We did all the tourists attractions and had an absolutely amazing time, Hong Kong is a very vibrant and exciting city and we are so glad to have visited.
If you are looking for a hotel on the Kowloon side I would highly recommend the Harbour Grand.

Room Tip: Book a room on the harbour side to get the most spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayhoney65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I booked this hotel because, while it was expensive, it was on the low-end of the price spectrum of the quality hotels in Hong Kong. However, this lower price is an illusion. First, my husband, daughter and I stayed there for 4 nights. We were charged and "extra guest fee" of $285. We knew this ahead of time but it was not included in the advertised price.

Once we got there we were charged for every small thing. They charge $20 per day AND per device for wifi service in your room. So, we had a total of 4 internet devices between the three of us we would have connected but had we done so, our bill would have been $240 JUST for internet service for our 3 day stay.

They are not near a metro station but do offer a free shuttle to a metro station. It was inconvenient for us personally and we chose to take a taxi most of the time rather than waiting for the shuttle. The one time we attempted to take the free shuttle it was full and couldn't accept more passengers. However, their airport shuttle is NOT free and is 130 HK dollars PER PERSON. A taxi at 250 HK dollars was cheaper for my family of 3 than the airport shuttle service the hotel provided.

The breakfast was ok but overpriced at nearly $30 per person. It was simply a buffet. I would suggest leaving to a bakery or café that is on the street.

Long story short, the hotel was clean and had an impressive lobby. (there was actually a wedding there every day we stayed there and it looked lovely). There is a catwalk to the harbor just behind the hotel. The staff was very courteous, quick and efficient in assisting us with our requests. If I was rating simply on cleanliness and friendliness I'd rate the hotel very high. However, on top of all these extra charges you have to pay for a taxi to get to the metro if the shuttle is full or coming at an inconvenient time.

Next time I go to Hong Kong, I'd stay at this hotel if I couldn't find somewhere else. But I'd look very hard to find a hotel in a better location (walking distance to metro) and included in their advertised room rate all the extras, even if it was a little more expensive than the Harbour Grand because the price difference would make up for having to pay all the extras.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brokebutseenitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I have just checked out of the Harbour Grand, it's 15:00. Now that's late for a checkout. It's just an example of the exceptional service the hotel has delivered. If we take politeness and curtesy as normal for a hotel, the staff go out of their way to ensure I, as an individual, have exactly what I want. They questioned and suggested until they were sure I had what I requested. I felt very comfortable here and I am sure they will make you feel the same. The food and service are first class, as are the rooms and facilities. I recommend this hotel, even though you are a little off the main track, because they have thought of everything you will need to get around. Just ask at reception. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Try get a harbour facing room on the 17th or 18th floor. Wow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed for about 6 nights in Kowloon and enjoyed our stay in harbour Grand, thanks to some lovely staff at the club room level floor. Our room was located on the club floor offering excellent harbour(probably the best I have seen). The concierge was helpful and practical in assisting us in moving us around whether to Macao or to local street places. The hotel lobby is usually very busy and having a club room reservation helped as service their is better. We did enjoy the breakfast at both club and ground level as we were offered the choice to accommodate our local Indian tastes.

Room Tip: Club Room at Executive Lounge Level - Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Overall a beautiful hotel
We had a Harbour view room which I fully recommend. Hong Kong can be chaos so it was nice to be able to sit down with a wine and watch the stunning ever-changing view in peace and quiet.

Location: Yes its away from the action however the shuttle bus leaves every 30 minutes and stops in 3 convenient locations including Hung Hom metro (5-10 mins away), we used this service 3-4 times daily and it worked like clockwork. Personally we liked the fact we weren't staying in crazy downtown TST as we could take nice casual walks & timeout around the hotel area.

The room itself was large, clean & well appointed and the bed was big and comfortable. Fabulous bathroom facilities and and room service was so good we used it 3 times!!

We didn't get Breakfast as part of our package and I am pleased that we didn't. Just down from the hotel there a a couple of cafes and/or bakeries. At the cafe on the corner you could get 2x eggs, sausage, toast & filter coffee for $20 HK - that's around $3.50 NZ - versus the hotel breakfast charge of $250 HK - around $40 NZ. Also if your like me and want a real coffee Pacific Coffee is fabulous and there is a location 500m from the hotel - free internet there as well :-)

Service: Our only disappointment . To clarify this we had great service from the shuttle driver, room service and valet but the Concierge Bob whose job it is to provide service was not only extremely rude he wasn't remotely interested in helping us. He was not even prepared to show us where we were on the map that he practically threw at me and he went out of his way to ignore us and other guests when queuing at the desk. (this is only 1 example of his lack of service skills) This man should not be at the forefront of any hotels customer service solution.

All and all and despite Bobs attitude we would definitely stay at the Harbour Grand again if we find ourselves back in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KiwiGirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and am somewhat surprised and disappointed to hear about Bob. I have already passed it on to his manager and you can rest assured that it is our aim to provide the best service to our guests. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Hong Kong and I hope we will have the opportunity to be able to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#52 of 730 in Hong Kong
3,553 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,247 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#38 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,223 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,048 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £110 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing