We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #49 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 7 nights as part of a two centre vacation. The hotel is a little out of the centre of the action but it's walkable in 45 minutes and the bus shuttle operates every 30 minutes. The room was a little musty on first entering but this seemed a common problem in HK. It was, however, of a good size with good bedding and a sizeable bathroom.

The rooftop pool has great views and is a good place of relax. The gym is well kitted out. Neither were too busy. We didn't really sample the food, other than Coffee Corner/ The Bar.

It's unusual for me to have to pay for WiFi nowadays so that was a pity. Overall a good choice but we'd probably stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    988
    247
    60
    31
See reviews for
683
1,255
108
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very nice hotel, and a great rooftop pool with amazing view. We had harbourview and its worth it watching the boats go by. We upgraded to club level, so higher floor and quiet good breakfast in their club lounge. Coffee/tea and juice all day long. Also after 3 in the afternoon, snacks and sandwiches and after 6 alcoholic drinks. You can have strong drinks like vodka but you have to ask for it. Also the snacks provided are very good and def. worth the upgrade.
Hotel has taxistand in front, and cheap taxi if you ask for going out ot bars, they will take you there for only few dollars. We went here to relax after busy working in China and this was the perfect place for it. Good airco, comfy beds, great housekeeping. If we go back to Hong Kong this is the place we will stay again.

Room Tip: Go for Harbour view, its so good. Club level is worth the upgrade, breakfast, snacks and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed en route to Australia and New Zealand, and ended up here by booking the wrong hotel! We had stayed in the sister hotel the Harbour Plaza Metropolis a few years ago and thought we would save time familiarising ourself with another hotel by booking the same one - unfortunately it wasn't (I have to say the other Plaza would also be recommended).

We booked a room on the club floor because we recalled the breakfasts being a bit busy, so we had access to a club lounge for light breakfast (do not book if you want a big fry-up every morning). It also meant we had wi-fi access there, and they also have afternoon tea and snacks for evening served complimentary - in fact, as we are light eaters, we ended up having one meal out a day and having the complimentary sandwiches and cakes in the lounge for the other meal. As our flight was late in the evening, we could also use the lounge once checked out.

Our room had a harbour view, which was lovely - we could see across to the Peak.

Best was the fact the hotel was right on the promenade - so one day instead of catching the complimentary shuttle into Kowloon centrev (about 5 mins) we took a slow stroll along the promenade directly to the Victoria Harbour Star Ferry Terminal. The hotel was next to the Hung Hom Ferry Terminal, but it was closed for refurbishment.

The staff were also so helpful and friendly: we decided to have a day out to Lantau Island and asked for advice on the best way to get there. Refreshingly we were advised on all options - hotel car, metro, bus, organised trip - rather than the 'hotel' option that you are usually only advised on. When we opted for the metro, we were then advised on the benefits of hotel shuttle or taxi, and given maps and guides. We could not have asked for more. The staff also made a point of remembering your name and greeting you by it when you next entered the lounge. They were a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are recommended; and club floor is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent new year (not Chinese but 31st of Dec). Kowloon but very easy to travel to Hong Kong Island, feary next door. Fantasticc pool. It was very cold this new year bur great place. Close to shopping which is one of the great things here.

Room Tip: Get a room with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We go their with my family and had a awesome time. We stayed for 5 nights. The awiming pool on terrace ia awesome. You can feel u swiming in harbour and see the lesser show in evening from hotel itself. Rooms harbour view are excellent . In morning the sun rays falling on sea with lots of ship is amazing view.
I would advise to take the corner harnour view room at top floor.
food is good. Hhough it is situated out side the city area as a tourist u feel little isolated but than the hotel have suttle services. But for relaxing eith family it is ideal place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anubhav73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The staff in all areas are very helpful, little things were why I gave a rating of very good & not excellent.
Example in fine dining I would have liked a toasted cheese sandwich, or toasted ham & cheese sandwich, such was not available, I had to choose a Harbour Grand sandwich (which was a club sandwich) & waste half of it, although maybe I should have made a request for such & they may have been able to oblige me with my preference.
Another area was the bathroom, always fogs up after shower, needs a fan.
The room was cleaned beautifully, the Hotel foyer is meticulously spotless.
Buffet lunch was exceptional for choices of food, beautifully presented & authentic in flavour. But much to noisy for comfort.
Breakfast in The Promenade is again exceptional for choices.
However my favourite is the Corner Cafe, beautiful tasty snacks, peaceful, with great ambience.
Staff are reserved but most obliging & helpful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stayed in the Harbour Grand Kowloon last April, while on a business trip to Hong Kong, for four nights. Straight walking in, I got grabbed by the front entrance, lobby and main stairways, simply splendid. The exterior of the building, which appears to be rather recent, gives contrast to the very traditional, yet luxurious and discreet interior. Staff was very professional, polite and service-oriented at the entire hierarchy chain. Rooms are spacious, furniture and amenities there are top-level, as the bed, the marble bathroom (having both a bathtube and Italian-style shower) and you have even a rest area with a sofa. View from the room was breathtaking. Breakfast was nice, as you could expect, but nit more - it just had the usual variety of pastries, fruits and cereals. The only con would be the lack of skyline view towards HK island, but otherwise, I would be unalble to identify any other issues. I didn't visit the roof pool, which I deeply regret now. In one word, I had a very, very enjoyable stay, and I believe one could equally well use it for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Higher floor possible, with Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duhku4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,230 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,302 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,782 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,568 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing