We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #50 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Currently staying at Harbour Grand before departing for London tomorrow. I read the reviews prior to stay and disagree with all negative comments. There is perfectly adequate wifi availability in the Club Lounge (one of the fastest connections I have had in a hotel). The service from all staff has been exceptional. Will definitely return for a longer stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogakoolkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your 5-star review. I’m delighted to hear that you took advantage of our Club Lounge facilities and gave us an “exceptional” rating on service. If you are in returning to Hong Kong again, please contact us directly so that we can personally handle your booking: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,512
    979
    245
    59
    31
See reviews for
677
1,243
108
321
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel has some great views with spacious rooms and a decent if expensive restaurant.

Location for major attractions is not good however. At least a 20 minute taxi ride to Central / Causeway Bay or a lengthy walk to the metro
Taxi drivers are not keen to bring you back to the hotel in the evening unless you get a cab from one of the specific taxi stands in Hong Kong Island.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wilkinsonjohn555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
John, thank you for review. When I first arrived, I had a difficult time distinguishing which taxis crossed harbour and which didn’t. I then learnt that there are separate cross harbour taxi stands. But on most accounts, I tend to ask the taxi driver if they cross harbour when I hail one down away from the queue – for me it’s third time lucky and at times sooner. We hope that we’ll have the blessing to welcome you back in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had already stayed at the Marco Polo, Hong Kong on the way through to Vietnam and decided to stay somewhere different on the way back through Hong Kong.

We also decided to stay in the Club style accomodation with harbour view as a treat.

In terms of Wifi issue we used this facility to keep in touch with family and friends, researching attractions and places to eat (on TripAdvisor). banking and just generally keeping up to date with things. All hotels we stayed at such as the Sofitel, Hanoi and Marco Polo, Kowloon provided hotel wide WiFi services as part of the room rate and it worked well. The club room option at this hotel only allows this service within the Club Room and NOT in your room.

The Harbour Grand Kowloon hotel will charge you HKD $120 per day for a hotel wide service i.e into your room ? I did ask to talk to a manager about this but was given the 'this is hotel policy" and the manager was obviously too busy to see paying customers. 8(

Anyway if this is the worse that happens to me in life, then its been a good life. I can choose to stay somewhere else anyway.

Pros
1) House keeping was timely
2) Hotel was built of quality materials and lived up to a 5 star reputation
3) Later 2pm checkout was handy and being able to use the club room facilites was also a bonus
4) Awesome rooftop pool and gymn facilites - nicer pool than Marco Polo

Cons
1) Not having Wifi - asked to see the manager to discuss and provide feedback but the opportunity for this did not materialise
2) Ordering nachos with Chilli Con Carne, not receiving any Chilli Con Carne and having to explain to the 'in-room dining people' what Chilli Con Carne actually was. We told them to 'google it' and ended up obtaining a credit as they could not supply the meal ?
3) Distance from town. We found Marco Polo much closer to MRT and ferry transport There is a free shuttle between the hotel and the Kowloon CBD but it was still a 20 minute round trip
4) Shark Fin everything in the chinese restaurant - Not eco friendly and opposed to the practice of ripping fins off magnificant creatures and throwing the carcase back in the sea. Know its Asia but still want to think we are caring for our environment

Overall this was a nice hotel abet a bit far from town and would expect wifi to be included as part of the overall package. They also need to be able to cook the meals described within the menu.

Room Tip: Go for a harbourview room if within budget etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karaka311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us and I’m glad you enjoyed the pool. It might be a bit late now but we do have a variety of room packages with wifi on our website. In regards to the second issue – we have investigated the matter and have since then worked with the relevant parties to ensure that similar cases do not re-occur again. On the third issue, our hotel is positioned as “space in the city” so we tend to attract those who prefer to come back to a quieter retreat after a busy day out in the city. On the Shark Fin issue, the Chinese restaurant is not managed by our hotel so therefore we do not have control over their menu offering. Hope you have settled back into New Zealand and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back should the opportunity arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here. The location is good, although it is not Hong Kong Island the money that you'll save versus a similar hotel there is significant. Public transport (including plentiful taxis) in Kowloon is cheap and easy to use with all instructions in English and all but a very few taxi drivers speaking good English as well. Book a Harbour Club room for the lounge access and inclusive breakfast, afternoon tea and evening glass of wine. The staff are excellent and a font of knowledge for day trips and restaurant advice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It’s wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed our Harbour Club room and its facilities enough to recommend to others. We hope for an opportunity to serve you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NZ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We really loved our recent 3 day stay at Harbour Grand. The service was outstanding, the hotel's position on the harbour was beautiful for the views and walking outside along the waterfront. We got a club room and would highly recommend. This allowed us a late check out and the club room was great although it seemed a shame that the club lounge did not have a view - this would have really been an improvement. Agnes and Millie in the club lounge were so helpful in helping us make the best choices of where to go and how to get there.This hotel is slightly out of the way of the main area but we loved this. It is great to be amongst the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong and then come back to quiet graciousness of this hotel. Our personal favouriite was the roof top pool . Whilst we swam everyday we didn't have lunch and cocktails by the pool until the last day and this was a lovely thing to do and great value. Highly recommend, book ahead and achieve good prices. Also found getting a taxi from the airport the cheapest option rather than the hotel shuttle - cheaper and quicker. We hope we can return one day and stay again.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the club room. We hardly had to open our wallets for drink or food as the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you would highly recommend our Harbour Club facilities after experiencing it and glad you made full use of the benefits. From Agnes and Millie: “one sentence might not seem much but it means the world to us – thank you for your kind compliments”. If you or your friends have any plans to visit Hong Kong in future – do contact us directly so that we can personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you both again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Fantastic hotel. Had a lovely upgrade to a skyline view after a very traumatic and stressful journey. Great room, reception and concierge services. We were helped to access all of the activities that we wanted to, with information cards and bus timetables, taxi information, how to get to the Star Ferries terminal etc. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your 5-star review and your generous compliments. I’m not sure if you share the same view but the Star Ferry from Tsim Sha Tsui (TST for short) is a fantastic way to cross over to Wanchai and Central (Hong Kong Island). In good weather conditions – basking in the modern city skyline from a ferry filled with history and a gentle harbour breeze is definitely an experience everyone should try! Regardless of which, we look forward to serving you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed 6 nights in this hotel in three trips. The club class rooms have access to a private lounge, where you have breakfast and snacks at lunch and dinner time. All complementary and the wines are not bad. There are a couple of gilrs there to give any help from organising tours to checking in for flights. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. The unique selling point for us, though, was the view out over the sea towards Hong Kong island. Stunning day and night. The rooms were large as were the bathrooms. Though this hotel is a little outside the centre of Kowloon, there is a free shuttle bus every half hour and a taxi would not be expensive either. There are also plenty of local restaurants within a very short walk. hHghly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on the 19th or 20th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rleg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your 5-star review and for choosing to stay with us on 3 of your trips. Great to hear you both found the “club class worth the extra”…as we do aim to ensure the experience is worth every cent. If Hong Kong calls you over again – do contact us directly so that we can personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we hope that you have settled back into the UK and look forward to serving you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,195 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,195 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#24 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,522 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing