We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but no free wi-fi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #49 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good, but no free wi-fi”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is good. Clean, good room, confortable bed and nice breakfast. But, but no free wi-fi. It is a sin that I dont forgive anymore. Call it "hotel policy" that I will call my "non-reservation policy". The place has no subway but it provides free transport to downtown kowloon where there is subway

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. It might be a bit late now but we do offer room packages with and without wifi as well as other optional services – it might be worth browsing through the next time you have plans for Hong Kong. Alternatively, please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    988
    247
    60
    31
See reviews for
683
1,255
108
322
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (940)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 10 days on the executive floor - well worth the extra rate as it included access to the lounge. We had breakfast there everyday, drinks and afternoon tea and then canapés and drinks before dinner. The ladies in the lounge were a great help and we got lots of great sightseeing advice. The rooms very lovely. The shuttle bus was good, sometimes it was full but cabs are so cheap in HK we really didn't mind. We were really happy with our hotel choice and had a great time.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “great” review and I’m glad to hear that you found our harbour club floors “well worth the extra rate” as we do aim to ensure that it’s worth every dollar. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we hope for an opportunity to serve you again should the opportunity arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

It's been a couple of years since I stayed here. I enjoyed it then and still do. The staff are friendly and well trained with any small problems sorted immediately. There's really no need to pay for the more costly harbour view rooms-- the courtyard rooms are good value--step outside and you have one of the best harbour views in HKG, albeit looking across to North Point. If you dine outside at the Waterfont bar you can enjoy the view and see the almost incessant harbour boats pass by.

Since the ferry ceased from Hung Hom to Central, the hotel has provided a free shuttle bus every 30 minutes to Tsim Tsat Tui, very convenient for the shops of Nathan Road or the Star Ferry. Local minibuses also stop outside the hotel.
I found the rooms large in size for HKG and well equipped. The housekeeping is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your 5-star review and for choosing to stay with us again. Hearing the praises from a returning guest is music to our ears. The Waterfront Bar & Terrace is also one of my favourites due to its stunning views and option for alfresco dining. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The lobby area looks nice because of the expansive windows and harbor view but otherwise appears a bit dated. It seems to be the place for weddings.

The harbor views are great. The hotel is in a location where the views are very unobstructed no matter what floor you are on.

I really didn't like the pool area being at the top - it was way too windy. The roof top patio is a great place to take photos though.

The breakfast buffet was included with my room. I didn't think the breakfast buffet was bad but it also wasn't great. Nothing special.

The room itself is well appointed but again appears a little dated. Considering the prices I don't think you get good value for the $ spent.

This hotel is NOT within walking distance of an MTR station (Mass Transit Railway) but construction is underway to build a new MTR station which will be very close. Until then you will need to take a bus or taxi to connect with the MTR. The 6X can be caught right outside the hotel and will get you very close to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalderaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. I’m sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet the value that you expected. Nevertheless, we hope you enjoyed exploring the many wonders of the city and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel was excellent all round,modern facilities,large rooms and a pool with a view to die for. If you book a harbor view room don't assume it automatically faces the main part of Hong Kong Island,ours faced the New Kowloon area, which wasn't a problem, as the views were still outstanding. A question...if you upgrade to a harbor view lounge room, why wouldn't the lounge room where you eat your food and relax for a drink, face any sort of a view, but an opposing building?? The staff here were excellent especially Icy who was fun, polite and efficient. The main draw back to the hotel was the distance from a train station, it will benefit from the MTR extension. It was a good 30 minute walk to the main promenade, which actually helped us walk off the intake of calories. An enjoyable stay :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSB440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. I have relayed your comments to Icy and she is utterly flattered and thankful. Our Harbour Club Lounge located on the 19th floor are for travellers requiring more exclusivity and comes with a host of benefits such as express check-in/out; complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and evening refreshments; free internet service in lounge; free daily pressing of suit/dress; late 3pm check-out; and more. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
245 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

well, went to stay for couple of nights during the trip to HongKong. Its a great location, nice views (if you chose the rooms facing the harbor).
The staff need to learn to smile a bit. The staff are helpful. But they just do their job!! The guys in the airport counter were more eager to sell me a private taxi service than to tell me the hotel transfer schedule!!
The Hotel room is great, spacious and well appointed. Its value for money for the room. The lobby is next to a open buffet restaurant. Well, food must smell good, but not every one should like the smell!! I found the lobby to be smelly.

Location - 7/10
Room Quality - 8/10
View from room - 9/10
service of front office staff - 7/10
friendliness of front office staff - 5/10
return - NO

Room Tip: for Euro 10 ~ 15 you will get a harbor facing room...It is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anand R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and compliments. I have relayed your feedback to our relevant departments – thank you for letting us know as comments play a large role in helping us further improve. Should we have the blessing to welcome you back to the hotel, please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR4 1PB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just spent 10 nights at Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel. We stayed on the Harbour Club Floor with sea view. Well recommended.
Met some great staff members, Icy and Millie at Club reception, Vicky, Gemma and Andy in the executive lounge, these staff members make the hotel great. Breakfast very good, afternoon tea and evening snacks are a great way to chill following an exciting day out and about. Keep the tummy empty and visit the Water Front Bar, meet Patrick and Toby and enjoy the food, we had Salmon and Pizza we enjoyed it. they have an happy hour, great time to try a Harbour Grand Kowloon Cocktail, worth the experience. Is the Hotel Good? it is, are staff members good? They are, is the hotel experience good? It is.
Enjoy your holiday
I ticked the couples, with the heart and arrow, but being an old couple, the experience is well worth the holiday.

Room Tip: Take a taxi to Nathan Road, around 35 HKD Get an MTR ticket to cover your stay, get your money back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryPr41pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic 5-star review. We are pleased to learn that you experienced our Harbour Club floors with sea views and enjoyed it. Your kind words have been relayed back to Icy, Millie, Vicky, Gemma, Andy, Patrick, and Toby. They are all very thankful and have enjoyed meeting you both. Please feel free to contact us directly so that we can personally handle your future bookings: mktg.hphk@harbourgrand.com / sales.hphk@harbourgrand.com. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you both back to Harbour Grand Kowloon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,230 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,303 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,782 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,569 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing