We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent for Hong Kong stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #51 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, texas
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Execellent for Hong Kong stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Liked this hotel overlooking the harbor so well ten years ago we tried it again and it was even better. Striking interior, well-trained staff, great location.....few minutes walk to ferry. And, for Hong Kong, good value. Be sure to get view room of harbor; a big plus for this place?

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctoryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,535
    993
    249
    60
    32
See reviews for
689
1,263
108
325
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (943)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

The harbour grand kowloon is an a very good hotel where u n ur family can enjoy urslf in Hong kong. The rooms wer vry large n all the facilu=ities wer available!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rd1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before travelling on to Thailand. Hong Kong is an amazing city. The hotel was a great hotel, the only downside being it's location. We generally had to get a taxi to the Nathan Road area each night and, whilst this was not expensive, it would have been nice to have stayed more centrally. There is a ferry terminal next to the hotel where you can get therry to Hong Kong Island which was handy. The hotel has great views of Hong Kong Island and the Rooftop swimming pool was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The Harbor Grand Kowloon was well beyond our expections. We were concerned about the location in Whampo, it actually worked better for us then being on Natan or Canton Road, It just was just "a little over the top" in those very tourist areas. Great to be by day but loved the refuge the Harbor Grand Kowloon offered. The shuttle brings you in just 10 minutes. Ferry to Hong Kong Island is really just 5-7 minutes away.

We had a great neighborhood stay, 3-4 walking blocks bring you to fruit, vegetable and poultry markets, local small shops , eating outlets, noodle shops, Thai and even an Outback and yet another Hong Kong mall!

Just down the street is a small beauty salon and local massage outlet. Had a full body massage for about $30 USD and wash and blowdry hair for $10.00. Also there was a large underground super super market Jambo(?) where all your provisions can be found. In the middle of store are daily fresh made to go meals, some english is spoken, we just pointed to the great noodles and rice with veggie's, gave us chopsticks and paperplates and cost about $5.00USD. It was the best lunch of trip.. Spend time on Hong Kong Island,you will love it but from what we experienced on Hollwood Blvd and close to the escaluators all the restruants are "themed" Tapas, Mexican, Pizza, British Pub,Indian, you get the picture. Got to walk in to get local.

The hotel club floor was offered by email by Ms. Wong for $100 HK$ per nignt additional We had a harbor view, full breakfast, daily tea with pastry, cocktail hour complete with hot and cold appitizers and a choice of wine or beer and free internet in our room.

The Promanade is always filled with local folks walking (like us) or Tai Chai. The nightly laser show can be seen there or upstairs on the pool deck. There is an outdoor bar and restuarant with light fare offered every night. One evening it rained, your under canopies and dry, the staff walked thur the rain with umbrella and short wading boots to service you with a laugh and smile.

Room and bath size large, nightly service for ice, turndown and fresh linens, Roof top pool, work out gym, great staff, wonderful view, dinner buffet to die for ($40USD),

Book directly with hotel, all this for about $230.00 per night. There is a sister hotel on Hong Kong Island, we know because we were brought there from the Macau ferry by a apologic cab driver who did not read the card correctly. It was fine, all in a days international travel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The Harbour Grand Kowloon was formerly and somewhat confusingly known at the Harbour Plaza Hong Kong, and it's one of the premier five-star options available to the Hong Kong traveller wishing to stay on the Kowloon side. It’s a modern glass tower high-rise, with quite attractive architecture and set among a residential development of luxury apartments on the waterside.
Its location is slightly remote from the hustle and bustle of Nathan Road, being set in the area of Whampoa Gardens. Whampoa is centred around a strangely land-locked boat-hull, transformed into a shopping centre. The area also boasts a few modest restaurants and other general shopping opportunities. However, most conveniently, the Star Ferry Hung Hom terminal is a short walk from the hotel, and for just HK$6.30 you can be quickly transported to North Point or Central on the island, or to Tsim Tsa Tsui. Once at Central, walkways and pedestrian overpasses speed you to your destination probably quicker than a taxi could.
If you are visiting Nathan Road, you can take the hotels half-hourly free shuttle bus to this area. We used it several times and it was always on time and a very useful facility.
The Harbour Grand lobby is airy, spacious and cool, an impressive and luxurious haven from the often oppressive humidity of the June rainy season when we visited. Staff were all attentive and helpful, and as we had a Harbour Club room we were referred to the 19th Floor Harbour Club check-in. This dedicated facility, located in the Club, was operated by a series of concierges who took care of all Harbour Club guests’ needs.
Our Harbour View Room was spacious, clean and well furnished with fairly standard modern hotel furniture, more aimed at the business traveller than the tourist. The bathroom offered both a shower and a bathtub, and was finished in marble. The view didn’t disappoint: we had a wonderful vista of the entire harbour, with all its activity and twinkling skyline by night. The only negative was that they couldn’t guarantee a non-smoking room, and ours did suffer from lingering smoke effects.
We ate breakfast, numerous snacks, beverages and afternoon teas at the Harbour Club, which was just along the corridor from our room. These were all free of charge, and represented excellent value for the small price of the upgrade to this level of room when booking. When you take into account that free internet wi-fi access was also available, then it’s an unbeatable package.
There is a selection of restaurants at the hotel. Probably the best option is the buffet situated in the lobby, and all the fare in this seemed fresh and tasty. However, a-la-carte was very limited in this restaurant. We ate outside in the waterfront on one occasion, and this meal was rather unspectacular. Their burger wasn’t char-grilled, and service wasn’t very effective.
We splashed out on the Harbour Grill one night, only to be disappointed by several factors. The atmosphere was old-fashioned, stuffy and promoted a generally uncomfortable experience. We wanted wine by the glass, and found there was almost no choice. What we received, both in red and white, was old, unpleasant and almost undrinkable, yet still very pricey. Steaks and truffles seemed to be an obsession with this restaurant, and they were very costly as well. We had Rack of Lamb and Chicken, both grilled. The lamb was the most fatty, greasy version of this dish I have encountered anywhere in the world. The chicken was also greasy and mediocre. We had hoped for better. The cost was basically over 110 UK pounds for two main courses, 3 glasses of wine and two teas. Excessive if it had been fabulous, extortionate considering the quality we received. The restaurant was half empty and no surprise if this is the fare it delivers. By comparison we did have an excellent meal at the Shangri-La restaurant Angellinis a few nights later, where international haute cuisine was served at its best.
There was a gym, which looked good, but we didn’t visit, and a rather strange fish-tank style pool set open air on the roof, which was a very windy location with few people braving the June climate to use it.
In summary, we can highly recommend the hotel as a whole, and would re-visit. But we would either eat out or at the buffet. The Harbour Grill we would avoid.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Was very pleasantly surprised that such a large hotel offers a wonderful level of service. The concierges could not do enough for us, and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful, on the water front and five minutes walk from the Hung Hom Star Ferry - a lovely way to start the day. The rooftop pool had great views and the rooms were well appointed. Altogether great value and a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mab103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed here for four nights in early June for business. I liked my room - nice view over the harbour with a comfy chair just by the window, so you could sit there and watch the ships go by in the evenings before turning in.
The bathroom was very nice & spacious, too. Very extensive breakfast buffet and the food was good.
It's only a short walk to the ferry terminal from where you can catch the ferry to Central.
The pool on the roof is absolutely stunning; my only complaint would be that the Jacuzzi was far too cold to be enjoyed thoroughly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulfWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,263 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,385 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,831 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Property: Harbour Grand Kowloon
Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing