We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, very far from Hongkong City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
Ranked #138 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Jakarta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average hotel, very far from Hongkong City”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed two nights for biz trip. Overall this hotel is average and tends to be boring. Surrounded by shopping center. It takes 40minutes by bus if you wanted to go to Kowloon area. Lobby area is hideous and the staff couldn't speak English. Very average breakfast . I had a bad experience with taxi driver he took me circling around the town so he could charge me a lot of fortune.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikaylaSativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    312
    100
    22
    10
See reviews for
128
118
53
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed in the Harbour Plaza at North Point for a long weekend mid-February 2012. From the get-go I was really impressed with the service and the overall look and feel of the hotel. I was made to feel very comfortable by the staff and, after check-in, went to the bar and enjoyed a few drinks and food.

My room was my like an apartment: I had a double twin room with separate kitchen and open dining/lounge area. The kitchen had a large fridge with items to purchase from the not-so-mini-bar. It literally felt like a home from home and was exactly what I needed after travelling on such a long journey. The bathroom was really modern too, with a lovely power shower and a double sink. I also had a lovely view of the harbour from my room.

The location- yes it is a little bit away from the central areas, but it's only a 10 minute walk to the nearest tube station and taxis are reasonable too. I fell back into the hotel after a memorable (despite being very drunk) night at From Dusk Til Dawn. I didn't experience breakfast at the hotel so I'm unable to comment on that, but overall the hotel was clean with very friendly staff and a truly incredible room. Don't let the location put you off because it's really not too far out of the way!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTropicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location of this hotel is at the heart of Tin Shui Wai housing development in the New Territorries. When we arrived, we got upgraded to a room with a nice view of the wetland park. The room was big, clean and comfortable. We stayed 2 nights. There is a shopping mall - Ginza where you can find everything you need; supermarket, restaurants, fast-food, banks, retails shops etc. However, the location is very far from downtown HK about 45mins away.
As this was a leisure trip for us, we took the Airport Bus to Tung Chung (hkd3.40), change to MTR on the Tung Chung line to Tin Shui Wai, interchange at Nam Cheong station (hkd27). So, all in hkd30.40 pp. When you reached TSW station, go to Exit E to take the light rail to Ginza stop. The hotel is just right there. This trip takes about 45mins from the airport. There is a 24-hour visitor pass (hkd55) you can purchase for your travel on the MTR. Buy one from the ticket booth at any MTR atation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the wetlands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desertglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Hotel is far away from bustling downtown, however shopping malls, cinemas, convenient stores, KFC, McDonalds, Seven Eleven are close. MTR and tram station in front of hotel 20 resp. 100 m from Lobby.
I booked through an internet travelling site called AGODA and payed 70,- Euro for only room rate. Stay overall was not worth one penny more.
Hotel offers a very nice bus shuttle service from HKG airport on every full hour at a rate of 100,- HKG Dollars just see booth B5a at arrival hall at airport.
Room was small, with just 40 cm space between bed and sideboard, room was equiped with large fridge and even a separate chiller. All interior looked old but was clean. TV old shape and small screen, Bars and restaurants I did not test.
Maybe when reviewing other travellers experience I got a substandart room because of my booking via an internet agent.
To be honest I can not recommend this hotel and place. There should be better opportunities at this are like Hyatt ShaTin, but because of HKG Seven Rugby Games most hotels offered unpayable high rates!

Room Tip: Do not choose room 2608
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eckardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed for two nights on the way from UK and Bangkok. Shuttle service from airport efficient, cost 100HKD each, ran on time.
Friendly greeting from reception staff and even got upgraded for some reason.
Hotel room very good except for the rock hard beds. Great view
Breakfast ok.
Hotel right next door to small shopping mall with several food places.
The outstanding thing about this hotel was the gym (varied and well maintained equipment and very large for an hotel)
Great sauna and steam room.
Be warned this hotel takes very large groups, we encountered lots of Chinese who were very rude, pushing and shoving everyone out of the way. That's why they upgraded us to a high floor!!
Overall yes I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cabbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

When we booked this hotel, we hadn't realized that it was located in New Territories and not Kowloon. Therefore, the location is not the greatest and to get to Kowloon or even Hong Kong island, you must take a taxi as there's no subway station that connects New Territories to Kowloon or Hong Kong. The hotel is so big that it has 2 towers and you have to be careful when explaining to the cab driver in which tower your room is (even if it's a short walk). As for the room, it was very cozy and the view was breathtaking (skyscrapers all around). As for the airport, the hotel is located approximately 30-45 minutes away, which is the same thing if we had a booked a hotel in Kowloon. If you plan on visiting the main touristic attractions, then I don't recommend this hotel, but if you have business to attend in the New Territories, then go for it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nani12_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is located in the New Territories - it is therefore about an hour from TST and the Island but there is an excellent light rail, train or bus service. The only problem with this is if you plan trips to the outer islands, which necessitates an early start. It is, however, considerably less expensive than staying in the main areas. The hotel is quite characterless but is clean and well furnished and comfortable. Our room had a lounge area and basic kitchen, but no plates. There are plenty of food outlets in the adjacent malls. We were perfectly comfortable here and stayed for a week before moving on. Staying in the New Territories gave us a glimpse of life in Hong Kong away from the glitzy areas - go down to the Plaza in the morning and watch the Tai Chi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mandeville-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#111 of 718 in Hong Kong
861 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#114 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,430 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#173 of 718 in Hong Kong
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,580 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#60 of 718 in Hong Kong
410 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel & Shopping Complex situated near Tin Shui Wai Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing