We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way, but gorgeous views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
Ranked #143 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but gorgeous views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Given this hotel "free" by a Cathay promotion. Very very out of the way in the New Territories, almost up to Shenzhen. In fact during the 1 hr MTR ride to town, you could see the Shenzhen skyline in the distance. It's not really very inconvenient to travel downtown as there's a light rail just outside the hotel. It's a 3 station ride to the nearest MTR station, Tin Shui Wai and costs HKD4 per person, HKD2 for kids below 11.

However, the views sure made up for it. I always have this concept that Hong Kong residential buildings are old and dirty. That may be true for downtown HKG, but this far north, they have tall, clean buildings... parks... malls and schools nearby. Nicely laid out.

There's a mall (actually two) at the hotel so shopping is pretty convenient. McD's and KFC available there.

Room Tip: The entire Tower 1 and most of Tower 2 are smoking floors. Non smoking floors only 21st-25th floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philliptanyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    298
    96
    20
    9
See reviews for
118
113
48
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We reserved 3 rooms from 5/19 till 5/29. This is the first time we are staying at this hotel. Tin Shui Wai sounds far away from the city. Room is huge, clean, good view and well maintained. Staffs are all nice accept there is big noise in the morning from the tour peoples. There is a trick taking the close by light rail to/from the Tin Shui Wai Station. Make sure take the #706 to and #705 back. Otherwise there will be many stops and takes additional 20 minutes.
Overall we all had a pleasant stay at this hotel and will stay longer maybe a month on our next visit is there is a good deal.

Room Tip: Get a parkview room and it has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The hotel is located pretty far away from the bustle of the city life and thats one of the reasons I chose this one for the eve of Valentine's day. This is in a laid back place but connected to a fairly large mall and you have everything that you need nearby including a multiplex. Getting to the city takes about an hour and there is also a free shuttle bus for hotel customers.
Overall, the rooms are fairly big by HK standards and you get decent scenic views from your room. The television was a pretty old model. Atleast a decade old and the remote was not functionig always. Anyways, we didnt watch much tv, but I thought I would put it down here as a downside.
Rates are super cheap and the rooms are decently big enough and always opt for a high floor to enjoy the view. Hope you enjoy your stay!!!

Room Tip: Opt for a high floor and book at least 2 - 3 weeks in advance to get probably the cheapest rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Rooms were good,Staff were good only problem was food & far from the airport it takes 1 hr to travel from Hong Kong Airport .The main problem in food was i appreciate that they arranged food for Indian because we are mostly vegetarians but the problem was at morning breakfast there was no changes in the menu.I mean there must be a cyclic menu in which changes in menu should be there.I gave 3 star because of far from airport & food was ok but not changed.I will recommend to come this hotel and also for tourist it is a good hotel just the staff needs to improve the hotel.

Room Tip: Please have a stay in this hotel & please look on my feedback before going to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhinav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here last year, and I'd say this hotel is well worth considering if you don't mind not being in the heart of the tourist action. True, it's a quite a hike from HK Island, but in return you get bigger and better accommodation than you'd find for the same price downtown. We had two very spacious rooms, with interconnecting door (ideal for family). Beds were proper size and comfy. There was a sofa and table, and a little kitchenette-type area with a big fridge that you can stock up with drinks and snacks from 7-11 or the Park n Shop supermarket nearby. The Ginza shopping mall has lots of options for breakfast and other meals.

There are a lot of tour groups stay here (lobby is very busy and noisy in the mornings, but the elevators still work well), and they have their buses to take them to the tourist and shopping places in HK. For the independent traveller, there are plentiful public transport options, with buses going to Kowloon, HK Island and other parts of New Territories, or the LRT (light-rail) connecting you to Tin Shui Wai MTR station from which you can take the mass transit railway. (There's a hotel shuttle bus service too, though we didn't try it, as the regular bus is more flexible and cheaper.) The hotel concierge was able to advise on this, or better still you can check out bus routes on the internet before you arrive. Admittedly, we spent quite a lot of time on public transport, but that wasn't really a problem because we there for a week and didn't have a tight schedule.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel, offer good quality food, rooms are well appointed and spacious,
but the location is not so great, it is too far from Hongkong city, hotel staff is ready to help you,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We took a group of 50 people to this property.

The check in was very fast and was completed within 15 mins. The rooms were very spacious. I had a room with a Bed, a sofa , a dinning table.

The hotel lobby was spacious and the breakfast was on the ground floor. The options available for Veg breakfast was limited. The meeting room facilities were excellent. The INDIAN food was specially arranged by the hotel and we were given a very nice space to have it as a group and the taste of the food was excellent. I mean getting such tasty food in Hong Kong should be considered a luxury. The hotel location is very very far away from the city. The hotel is far away from the airport too. But the hotel location did not matter to us as we always travelled as a group in a bus.

The hotel was very well connected to the public transport. There is a big mall near the hotel just 100 mts away. The locality was good and unlike the hongkong city where everything is cramped up, here the location was very open and like a new modern locality.

Room Tip: Take a room on the 18th floor facing the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piyushsavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,413 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#60 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#64 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#111 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
Dorsett Tsuen Wan, Hong Kong
#169 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong
Address: No.18 Tin Yan Road, Tin Shui Wai, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel & Shopping Complex situated near Tin Shui Wai Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia and Southall Travel so you can book your Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza Resort City Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing