We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but small ”
Review of The Kowloon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Kowloon Hotel
Ranked #141 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location but small ”
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

I think like most of the other reviews, the Kowloon hotel is strategically located in a hub of shopping centres and eateries. It is also situated right next to a train station making it convenient to access the rest of the suburbs as well. Staff are generally friendly and efficient. The room is a tad small with little space to put our single cargo bag but otherwise relatively comfortable with near floor to ceiling windows. I would come back here in a punch for a holiday but not for business trips.

Helpful?
Thank greenorangedino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    795
    411
    95
    54
See reviews for
267
493
174
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

very very very small room but good location. Was cleaned everyday to a high standard and the breakfast was good but i defo think there are better 4 star hotels in Hong Kong. This would be an excellent choice for 1 night as a stop over but i think you would get fed up with the no bedroom space after that.

Room Tip: i think they are all pretty small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNAIRISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel.
It is our pleasure to serve you and we wish you have a delightful stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

most people have 2 or 3 wireless devices such as laptop, iPad and iphone, it doens't make sense that charge 2x internet fee for two devices. you can provide 2 wireless devices per user account.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank CHANG MING W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and sharing your experience with us.
Your comments are valuable and we have reviewed it genuinely with concerned departments for improvements.
We hope your stay here was a delightful one and we look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed at the Kowloon Hotel for 4 night, 5 days (on the 12th floor in a Harbour View room) at the end of my trip down from the North to the South of China. The Kowloon Hotel was supposed to be the ultimate, how bitterly disappointed I was. Although the location was very good you are at the rear of the very grand and beautiful Peninsula hotel, they have a lot of deliveries.
The room…. you get 2 complimentary bottles of water then you are on your own. The bedroom is tiny for 2 people. (Their photos are misleading), there is no room for luggage, a harbour view room is a couple of inches of water, you can’t tell its a harbour. The wardrobe is only 15" wide and yes, I did measure it. Although it stated a double room, you would presume that it means there is room for 2 when it actually means its a double bed. There are only 2 drawers and these are in the bedside table, you have to leave your luggage up on end and use them. The cleaning of the room - they missed a dirty glass which was left for 3 days and I found the bath to be grimy. Be careful when coming out of the shower as the water is slow to go down and you could easily slip....The rooms also has an adjoining door , the couple next door had coughs, lets just say I felt their pain!!!
Check in was rushed and impersonal, I asked to upgrade to a room with more room and was told flatly no (I wasnt after a freebie) - no reason was given. As I had already paid for the room, I had no choice but to stay there. I asked if I could have internet in my room and yes I could for 130 HKD for 24 hours straight, however, I was also told that if I came off the internet then I would have to start a fresh 130HKD, the internet is free in the harbour anyway, this meant that you could not put your ipad/laptop in the safe..
The cafe, which is not a restaurant, was rushed, from the paper serviettes to the paper place mats everything is disposable, even the customers, its not a relaxing environment.
We were told we had to checkout at 12 noon even though our flight was not until Midnight, we asked if there was a room where we could shower (its 34 degrees and humid at night and your clothes just stick to you, a shower is vital before a 12 hour 30 minute flight), I was told that this was not an option and that I could use the YMCA for 15HKD...this just about sums it up.
I opted to use the toilets for a quick wash and spoke to an Australian lady who told me that friends of hers had had a late check out - this was not available to us!!! Perhaps they should all sing from the same hymn sheet.
Its a shame really, I spent a fortune on this trip and will not remember how wonderful Hong Kong was but will remember how bad the Kowloon Hotel is. This was supposed to be a four star hotel, I have no idea how they got this rating.

Room Tip: To be honest I couldnt give a tip as I didnt get to see a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel and taking the time to share your experience with us.
We sincerely apologize for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are valuable to us and we have reviewed it wholeheartedly with concerned departments for improvement and enhancement.
We sincerely hope that you will not judge us by this single experience and looking forward to having another opportunity to restore your faith with us.
With Warmest Regards,
The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed at the Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong for 10 days, with my cousin, we had a twin room which we found really good, as you only spend sleep time at hotels the quality of the bed is important, we found them very comfortable, room service was good, and the cafe had enough if you just needed a light snack, the hotel is situated in a great location on the car of Middle and Nathon Rd, with a short walk to the star ferry area and good eating areas, eg Starbucks on the corner, an Indian restaurant is close by and not expensive, had no problem with staff at all, would I stay there again without a doubt, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I think any room should be fine, I was in a twin room and all was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sas2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thanks so much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel.
It is our pleasure to serve you and hope your time with us was an enjoyable experience.
Looking forward to your next visit and we would be delighted to serve you soon.
With Warmest Regards, The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The room size is just too smal for 2 adults to manipulate around the room. No even enough room to open up 2 luggages.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FQTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for staying at The Kowloon Hotel.
We value your feedback and would review it wholeheartedly.
Sincerely looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
With Warmest Regards, The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Buffet breakfast fantastic. Worth getting up in the morning for. Hot and cold buffet I personally loved the egg bar and had an omelette made for me every day with a variety of fillings. The pancake machine is also worth leaving room for with this you make your own (press a button) and then add your own fillings.service very efficient. the coffee bar in the foyer is worth having a coffee and cake in too

Room Tip: We had a Harbour View room not a huge view of the harbour but it is quiet and also fun to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Timmy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KowloonHotelMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Kowloon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you very much for staying at The Kowloon Hotel.
It is our pleasure to serve you and we hope your time with us was a pleasant experience.
We would be honored if we could be of service to you on your next visit
With Warmest Regards, The Kowloon Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
Hotel Pravo Hong Kong
#133 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#87 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,572 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#274 of 719 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kowloon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kowloon Hotel

Property: The Kowloon Hotel
Address: No.19-21 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#108 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kowloon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 736
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kowloon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Hong Kong
The Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing